We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farthings B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farthings B&B
Save
You added Farthings B&B to your Saves list
102 Ringmore Road, Shaldon TQ14 0ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Shaldon B&B and Inns
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had great time at Farthings. The place was wonderful, clean, in a beautiful setting and the owners were very friendly (really lovely people). I recommend it and I would love to stay there next time I visit Shaldon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and my wife jayne stayed here for a few days we were really happy here and the owners we very helpful and friendly we recommend this B&B if you come to Shaldon.

Thank you once again to the staff of The farthings

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The house is in a pleasant walking distance of the main village, the parking can be tricky but it always is in that area, friendly people -great cooked breakfast which could see through the day and comfortable bed. Good value for money.

Room Tip: The ensuite bedroom and shower room is fairly small, as there are only two double bedrooms and one s...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a great time with superb breakfasts!! David and Diane really made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble, even to giving us a lift in the car!! You do have to realise that it is a 10 minute walk into Shaldon, but it was quite pleasant along the Estuary. Overall we were very impressed.

Room Tip: Try to get the en-suite room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We dont often stay in B&B, typically I travel a lot on business and stay in clone hotels. so its really nice to engage with some people who genuinely want to make you and your familly feel welcome.

The owners went to great lengths to help us in any way possible, from helping us to park, taking the luggage up the stairs, advising on local matters, frendly chats, entertaining the kids, setting up Wifi for us, the list goes on.

This is a character property, in keeping with the area, hence the rooms are not huge - big enough for 2 people but quite a squeeze if you have a child in a 3rd bed on the floor. This was only a minor point of note as the requirement to sleep a child in the room was upon our request.

The breakfast service was excellent, with a large choice (including Vegitarian cooked options), good portions and well prepared. You will struggle to want Lunch as a result!

Shaldon is a lovely part of Devon, ideal as a base for exploring, walks, watersports or just lazing on the beach. The Shaldon regatta is well worth planning your trip around.

Room Tip: From what we could tell there is only one ensuite, the other rooms have a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Friendly welcome, good breakfast (pre-order your choices the night before), quiet location. It is just outside Shaldon in Ringmore, next to an interesting old church, and a very pleasant 20-minute walk (views across the estuary) from the centre of Shaldon itself (i.e. the nearest places to shop and eat). Shaldon is a jewel, (but I imagine most young people would prefer the livelier Teignmouth). Farthings is homely and full of character (I wouldn't recommend it for people with disabilities). The single room looked very small, so it was worth paying a bit extra to occupy the pleasant ensuite double room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farthings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings B&B

Address: 102 Ringmore Road, Shaldon TQ14 0ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Shaldon
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Farthings B&B Shaldon, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farthings B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.