We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potters Mooring Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Potters Mooring Hotel to your Saves list
Potters Mooring Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 ODN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaldon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Really lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to stay here for two nights as part of a deal how lucky were we. A truly lovely location, friendly family. I felt guilty that we were not paying the full price they deserved it.

We arrived at the beginning of January when they still had all the Christmas decorations up, stunning so cozy looked lovely. Our room, room 2 was lovely stunning views, it could not of been any cleaner. Lovely soaps, towels fluffy just perfect.

Upon arrival we was given fresh milk for our tea what a lovely touch. Breakfast spot on couldn't of been better.

It's a lovely location good location the fish cafe just up the road is a must some if the best food Ive ever had and great value.

If I had one criticism it would be the parking however not the hotels fault they have ample parking. Because there is on road parking outside it's challenging to get in and out but not a big deal.

One of the best well done

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    27
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
126
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had the most relaxing 2 night stay here for our honeymoon, after all the wedding planning and excitement it was exactly what we needed.
Our springer spaniel, George, loved it too!
Everything we needed was available and Linda brought us old towels to dry George after his beach fun and even champagne glasses for the champagne we brought with us from the wedding.
Our room really was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was shining, with lovely soaps, body cream and fluffy white towels.
The breakfasts are truly yummily delicious.
The London Inn next door served good evening meals and we were made very welcome by the owners Tim and Katie.
Shaldon is a really clean and pretty village and I think everyone that clearly loved staying at Potters Mooring should now start saying that its rubbish so that we can keep it a secret for ourselves!!
We are already trying to plan our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was perfect for us with the dog as it has it's own entrance via a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Shaldon in South Devon - we would have to admit that we had never heard of it before. Research showed it to be a village across the mouth of the River Teign from Teignmouth and about 8 miles or so up the coast from Devon's 'tourist capital' Torquay.

A special weekend deal for three nights B&B was on offer from of the internet sites - it was too good to miss! Shaldon still retains it's 'Devon-ness', is largely undeveloped and boasts it's narrow windy streets from long ago.

Potters Mooring guest House occupies a central position on the river-ward side of Shaldon Village Green. There is ample parking for 8-10 cars at the front, however, entry and access for large vehicles can be a little difficult due to parked cars on the opposite side of the road.

Our bell push was answered almost immediately by proprietor Linda with a warm and very friendly greeting. Establishment atmosphere is important to us - we were not disappointed. We had fallen in love with Potters Mooring before we reached our room. Linda introuced us to Room 5 and its features. The room on the second floor has sloping ceilings at it's extremities. Any visitor in excess of 6 feet might find the reduced height entry doorway uncomfortable equally sitting upright in bed. For the less evelated of us it was not a major problem.

The room was spotlessly clean and modern but still retained it's very comfortable feel. Ample tea and coffee facilities were provided with fresh milk in a small flask. The main window in the dormer structure gave a very pleasant view across the river to Teignmouth. The window to the right gave a slightly restricted view of the sea horizon over the roof tops.

LInda has a long association with Potters Mooring working there from 2000 to 2006 when she and partner Robert took it over when the then owner moved to Spain. The name has a very local connection and Linda will be pleased to tell you of this and show you the 'Potters Mooring' china.

Linda and Rob's breakfasts have been mentioned in previous reviews and could well be the subject of perhaps the shortest review ever - "WOW"! A very adequate choice of cereals and fruit juices etc. and a full english breakfast or any varitiaon of it with alternatives. Quality items, very nicely presented abd very adueqate portions taken in a warm and welcoming oak panelled room over looking the green.Tje friendly and attentive service added to the enjoyment of our stay.

Even in the depths of winter there are many local places to visit such as Dartmouth amd Slapton memorial to the tragic loss of 946 American soldiers during 'Operation Tiger', a practice for the D Day Landings. A Sherman Tank modifed to 'swim' still shows some of the propellor mechanism, commemorates the site.

One very 'enjoyable' destination was Princetown. The is the location of the soon to close Dartmoor Prison. Located centrally on Dartmoor it also boasts a fascinating museum showing the prison from it's construction around 1802 and use during the Napoleonic War and onwards.

As you might expect 'eateries' in a small village are limited. The London Inn, next door offers good food in the upper middle price bracket. A friendly family-run fish and chip shop around the corner offers a good range with an excellent Plaice and Chips at £5.50 (December 2013). A little further afield is the excellent 'Grand Stand' at Newton Abbott, one of the Harvester Chain.

All in all we had a wonderful weekend and if staying in the Shaldon area again there would be no hesitation in chosing Potters Mooring - absolutely thoroughly recommended!!!.

Room Tip: Enjoy the best views from the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

What an I say, we have not left yet but this place is fab. I might even get the locks changed and stay! This is a MUST visit location. Such a lovely welcome to what I can only say is lovely accommodation! Going for breakfast now then to get new lock for the door!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent the night here and would certainly recommend it. It is very dog friendly which is a definite bonus, with a super beach a few minutes walk away. Brilliant breakfast with local produce and a good choice. It is a little dated in places but clean and everything works! Our shower room was spotless and modern.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs bedroom so we could take our dog straight out onto a lane, very convenient. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent in all respects. Beautiful room which was spotlessly clean, nice fluffy towels, toiletries, hair drier (also socket near the mirror!). Lovely tray with fresh milk to make tea/coffee. Beakfast was out of this world, all freshly sourced ingredients, lots of choice. Fresh juice kept topped up. Plenty of parking. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend at Potters Mooring hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this spotlessly clean,friendly guest house. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and there were many extra touches which we really appreciated.Breakfast was cooked to perfection by Robert and as others have said fresh milk was provided for our tea and coffee.Our room had a great view of the river and it was lovely to return in the evening and look across at the boats and Teignmouth.Taking the ferry across is highly recommended. We look forward to our next visit and being able to enjoy the Monday night jazz evening next time!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Potters Mooring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Mooring Hotel

Address: 30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 ODN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Potters Mooring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Potters Mooring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Mooring Hotel Shaldon, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potters Mooring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.