We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good country pub with friendly locals.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Rest

Smugglers Rest
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Rest
Save
You added Smugglers Rest to your Saves list
North Morte Rd, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mortehoe
Birmingjngham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good country pub with friendly locals.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

we visited here 3 times in 1 week 2 times for food which was very good. The burgers were top quality and well worth the price. My family had no complaints at all. They were very busy but accommodating the orders have the time when ordered put on them so no mix ups. We fell in love with George the boxer dog, mad as a hatter but as soft as they come. Thanks for three good visits.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you want a place to just put your head down and have a full english on the cheap then this is your place. Bedrooms are a good size but a bit shabby with the wallpaper falling off in places but very comfy and a nice atmosphere. When you go to woolacombe you go for the beach and the scenery so honestly if you just need somewhere to stay for a good sleep and some decent food and a good pint then this is your place.

Room Tip: Quite a few stairs so if you have trouble walking you need to ask for something on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We always go to have an eat here while we stay at Twichen House. As we can meet family who live in the area, and are allowed to take dogs inside ( It might not be an issue to non dog-lovers) .
We have always been more than happy with food....Duck on the specials board is a must for mu hubby.
I agree the toilets arent exactly amazing, but are clean and serve a purpose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had eaten at The Chichester Arms but thought we would give this place a go.. Wish we never!!

Overpriced

Vile food

The chef made out our plates were hot when he bought them out.. They were stone cold

Steak & Ale pie- tough and no flavour
Sausage & mash- definitely Smash
'Home-made' lasagne- hardly any meat or sauce was just bland pasta INEDIBLE!

We spent 30-40 on this meal and didn't eat half of it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wanted to eat at the Chichester Arms but hadn't booked & they were full to overflowing with an hour's wait for a table. Even on a grim soggy evening, there were people outside. So we ended up at the smugglers rest. It was empty apart from the locals in the bar & the parrot. The restaurant half was completely deserted. The food was.....food. All I can say is BOOK elsewhere. It's ok for a drink & the loo but the food is nothing to write about. So I haven't.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were a group of 10 camping in the area, and we left it a bit late to get dinner. The Smuggler's Rest was the only pub nearby that would take our orders when we arrived at 9:30, so we were very grateful that they accommodated us so late.
It was a cosy pub full of locals and lots of dogs and an awesome african grey parrot, so a great place to get out of the rain. The food was average pub fare, overpriced in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal there Friday 31/5 there was 16 of us food was poor service poor when you complain poor to zero response avoid the place the biggest complaint was he prawns and they were covered in eggs when we complained we were told its the season and they are edible it was poor attention to quality

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Rest

Address: North Morte Rd, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Smugglers Rest Mortehoe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.