We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smugglers Rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Rest

Smugglers Rest
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Rest
Save
You added Smugglers Rest to your Saves list
North Morte Rd, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mortehoe
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Smugglers Rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked at the last minute, ( Thursday, to arrive on the Saturday) and the only room left was a Family room. As there was only two of us the owner said we could have it at a reduced rate. The room was spacious, clean and with all the facilities you would expect. My only issue with the room and with other establishments of type is the issue of really basic toilet paper. I find I use 3 times as much so it is not really a saving for the hotel. The bar is lively, especially with 'Budge' the 27 year old parrot. The food we had for lunch was OK but I don't consider a beef and ale casserole with a piece of puff pastry triangle laid on top to be a 'Pie'. I think a pie should have its' crust cooked with it, not, as this obviously was, baked separately. We went into the dining room for our evening meal, and had a crab salad, which we had been looking forward to. The meal was good, but the surroundings were more like a transport Cafe and not a restaurant. Bare tables with mats out of the seventies. We were paying around £12 each for this meal and to have to use cheap pressed steel cutlery as found in really basic cafes we felt was not really on. Did they think we would steal them if they were better quality. The breakfast was very good though, nicely presented and not over facing. 10 out of 10. All in all a nice weekend stay only slightly spoilt by things which with a little time and money spent on detail would make a load of difference. Beautiful little village as well.

Room Tip: The ones on the front with a balcony are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Its my second stay at this property and it has not changed in any way,there is still all rubbish cluttering up the reception area which a few black bags would sort out'
The rooms were clean but could do with a lick of paint here and there to smarten them up,beds where comfy.
The people running the place were nice and pleasent and the food served was nice.If your expecting 5 stars you will be dissapointed,and at £60 a night i would like to expect a little more.
Breakfast was ok nothing special as we was paying the £60 you'd have thought it would be better.
In general exspensive for a B+B but a cheerful enough place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is the second year we have been to The Smugglers Rest and we go back because we love it there. Ok it might have carpet in the bathroom and appear a bit old fashioned for some compared to soulless travel lodges etc but that is part of the charm. It's a good old fashioned pub with a pool table, juke box and comfortable rooms. Having 2 teenage boys it was great that the room we had booked had 2 separate bedrooms. Even better they had no problem with us taking our dog. The rooms are clean and it's a great base to explore the beautiful surrounding areas. The food is hearty pub grub and great to fill up a hungry teenager. If you want fine dining then there are plenty of restaurants where you can pay loads more for less food which was a costly lesson for us. The staff are really helpful and work really hard from breakfast till closing time. We love the place as its got character, it's got a noisy parrot a playful boxer dog and interesting people. It's not a bland and boring could be anywhere chain place which is part of the appeal. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Lovely pub with tasty homecooked meals at reasonable prices. Sunny beer garden and a chatty pub parrot!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

seven of us stayed here at the end of sept,its a good pub with great bed & breakfast,we were made to feel very welcome and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastmidlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I ordered cheese sandwich for my wife and tuna sandwich for myself. The sandhiches were served to us at our table and on first appearance were adequately presented - until the lady managed to flick the upper piece of bread from one of the quarters and this landed on a chair; she trilled " Oh! what luck butter side up." On seeing a look of amazement spreading across my face she then added "or would you prefer it to be replaced." I did; and this occasioned an instant frosting over of the lady's attitude. The plate was taken away and returned to me 5 minutes later. Needless to say I did not eat it. Judging by the thin smear of tuna and mayo in the sandwhich I am guessing they were almost out of stock. Poor quality food service value etc. Guy behind the bar was cheery enough.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and myself and my dog Miss Bear have just returned from a weekend break at The Smugglers Rest in Mortehoe. We had a lovely time Brenda the owner and her daughter Penny made us feel very welcome. Our room was spotless and spacious and bright with lovely views. Our breakfast was really good and cooked to order so it was hot and very tasty. It was nice that in the evening we were able to bring our dog into the pub area where we were able to play pool and relax. The menu for the food looked really good and there was a good variety to choose from. As it was in the village centre there were several other places to eat within 2 min walking distance and the post office selling newspapers was across the road. Will definately go back in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 which was a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Rest

Address: North Morte Rd, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Smugglers Rest Mortehoe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.