We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watersmeet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Watersmeet Hotel to your Saves list
Watersmeet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolacombe | Woolacombe, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mortehoe
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

stayed at watersmeet hotel 3rd week in october for 2night stay with wife .really great views from room 23 worth the extra money. food was good.This Hotel was excellent value for money and i would recommend it to anyone,would stay there again!I`ll give it 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    99
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
51
192
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We just returned from a weekend break for my boyfriend's birthday and I have to say, we had an amazing time.
The location is truly breathtaking, our room had a balcony, overlooking the bay and it was fantastic. Location, location, location....
The decoration of the hotel - I'd say probably is 80's - but it didnt bother us at all. In fact, we had a great laugh about it and we enjoyed the laid-back, relaxed atmosphere.
It certainly hasn't got a "chain-hotel" feel, which is kind of nice. We spent a lot of time out and about. The only thing they should change is the seating - rule for breakfast and dinner, they should scrap the table allocation rule and just let people sit wherever they want. All in all, we had a lovely time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We have recently returned from a holiday at the Watersmeet - a hotel we have visited on and off for a number of years. The hotel is situated in one of the most stunning locations you could imagine and that alone is worth a visit. The hotel itself however is looking tired, if not shabby, in places and is in need of an update and a lick of paint. The breakfasts are good with an appetising breakfast buffet. Dinners are a little over elaborate but acceptable. The restaurant service is attentive but a bit rushed at times.In general, the staff are efficient.

Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent - with the exception of the towels which were frayed and worn out. Take your own if you are going!

All in all, the experience was good but the rate is fairly expensive and I would be looking for a little more value before considering another visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We've just come back from a two night stay with my 86-year old mother-in-law and 14-year old son. We booked a family room which had its own terrace overlooking the bay and the garden and a single room on the first floor with views towards Lundy for mum-in-law. Both were well appointed and comfortable. The style is slightly dated and, as a previous reviewer said, a little neutral but that explains its success perhaps as none of our party were offended by the decor (even if none of us raved over it either!). The service was extremely friendly and mostly efficient - just a couple of little oversights at dinner that were quickly rectified. The food was good, if a little rich for the oldest member of our party, and the breakfast was great. The outdoor pool was excellent. More attention needs to be given to accessibility for less mobile guests - there is the statutory disabled toilet and lift, but steps going down to the garden are pretty hazardous and rough-edged and the lighting meant my mother-in-law had some difficulty in finding her step. We ended up accompanying her everywhere to ensure no accidents occurred. The hotel could probably do with an update but in essence it's just fine as it is and it fitted the bill for this family trip "down memory lane". It was not a bargain break, however, and I did resent paying the 2% surcharge on a credit card payment bearing in mind the amount we were paying! We found that most guests adhered to the dress code mentioned on the website (even my teenage son managed smart chinos, white shirt and tie - albeit with flip-flops, as he refused to wear school shoes!). We'd go back again for the location and mum-in-law will enjoy the memories for a long time to come.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Weekend away for my 60th birthday, just what i wanted. Room beautifully and stylishly furnished with lovely view across the bay from the seating area, Restaurant had stnning views, you could watch thesurfers as you ate. Food was delicious and varied and service was attentive but not overpowering.They have done away with the dress code which I think is a pity as such a lovely restaurant deserved a bit of special treatment but Iknow some people felt more relaxed with no jackets required. I used the outdoor heated pool twice , it was very pleasant. The 10 min walk into woolacombe along the beach or over the cliffs was oneof the highlights. The hotel was well mainatained and lovely staff. I got the lovely walk along a wide sandy beach with big waves that I asked for

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We popped into this Hotel to see what it was like while walking back to our hotel.

From the very start the place looks dated. Drab décor, poor uninspired lighting. We walked up to the small bar and I ordered a pint of John Smith and asked which white wines were available. "Vin Blanc " grunted the barman. Not a good start. So there is only one white wine available. I order a glass for my wife.

Wow £11.20 for a glass of wine and a beer. I bite my tongue and we sit by the window to enjoy the final moments of daylight, and sample the hotels atmosphere. The view is spectacular, a vast vista over Woolacombe bay.

Based on our experience we would never stay at this hotel. Its location is fantastic but everything else is a throw back to times gone by.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
1,002 helpful votes 1,002 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Great setting, spacious inside, but a litte “neutral” and dull in style.
The view and sunset during dinner are phantastic, the (heated!) outdoor pool is a dream and there even is an indoor pool with hot tub. There is direct access (steep stairs) to the beach/sea and ample parking. Food in the restaurant was o.k. - not more. All in all: recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watersmeet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersmeet Hotel

Address: Woolacombe | Woolacombe, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mortehoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Watersmeet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watersmeet hotel located on the quiet edge of Woolacombe is one of Devon's finest coastal hotels. It is perfectly perched on the cliff edge above a quiet, sandy beach known as Combegate beach. All but three of the bedrooms offer spectacular sea views to Lundy Island and Baggy Point. A number of the bedrooms have original wooden balconies where you can sit and watch magnificent sunsets. The seaward side of the hotel offers one long, uninterrupted panorama and whether you're reading the paper in the lounge or dining in the restaurant you can enjoy the most wonderful views of the sea and rolling surf. The very best pocket sprung beds; thick, luxurious duvets; crisp white linen and superior memory foam pillows ensure a comfortable night's sleep. The table d'hote and bistro restaurants offer a high standard of cuisine. 2 AA rosette awarded many of the ingredients are locally sourced. On the hotel's doorstep is one of the country's best surfing beaches; a top links golf course. For the ramblers - the hotel could not be better placed with scenic National Trust land that surround the hotel and beautiful coastal footpaths to Morte Point and Lee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Watersmeet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersmeet Hotel Mortehoe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watersmeet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.