We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience !!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Aground

The Ship Aground
The Square | Mortehoe, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DT, England
+44 1271 870856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Mortehoe
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awful experience !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been to many pubs/restaurants all over the world and shocked at the overall experience whilst visiting this pub.it is set in the stunning village of Morthoe.

Firstly we had to pay before eating, then poor service whereby the waitress called your table number like she was calling bingo numbers and never once did anyone check if we were enjoying our meals,felt that they had already had our money and couldn't care!!!! We had to get our own condiments and cutlery.

The menu was very basic and overpriced for such bland food, we ordered 5 meals and the kids that usually eat anything refused to eat theirs!!!

My wife went to complain to the manageress and she didn't apologise and couldn't care a less!!!

Regularly go to Mortehoe and would never return to this dump!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    17
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fish and chips at ship aground ugh.................”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

popped in for a bar meal decided on fish and chips,place empty no atmosphere,really wished we d gone the chippy next door and saved us a fortune,vile watery tasteless fish and soggy thin batter just about the worst ive ever had,in fact we ordered and 4 mins later food arrived always a bad sign in fact we joked perhaps theyd popped to the chippy next door god we wished they had couldnt get out quick enough,do avoid if you value your digestive system!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great pub in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a walking holiday in this area and we ended most of our walks with a drink in this pub, just so handy when you come off the coastal path in Mortehoe. Really nice location, Guinness is kept extra cold and its kept really well. Also as we had two dogs with us, this pub is very dog friendly, has lots of water bowls outside too. Nice seating area overlooking a quiet square in Moretoe, and the path to the left of the pub leads up to great walking area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

scenic location in morthoe, with a good selection of meals.couples and families are welcome. nicely laid out,attractive décor to suit the building, and area

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pub for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Situated in the village centre the pub has a few seats and tables out front - in the warm June sunshine its the place to enjoy a glass of ale and relax

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Aground also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Aground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Aground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.