We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views of Woolacombe Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant

Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant
The Esplanade | Woolacombe, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EB, England
+44 1271 870333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Mortehoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $64
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We do our best to ensure your visit will be both enjoyable and memorable - whether it's a formal dinner in our table d'hote restaurant or passing through for lunch in our popular bistro. You and your family will be most welcome. Afternoon teas served all day. Dramatic sea views and sunsets can be viewed from both restaurants, Locally sourced seasonal foods mainly on our doorstep. 2 AA rosette awarded.
northampton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“fantastic views of Woolacombe Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Only called in for a drink but sitting in the bar area the views over the bay were spectacular! Great facilities, lovely location.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stunning location but.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

...lacking somewhat in ambience. Pleasant enough surroundings, good service yet feels more like a retirement home. We had visited with a view to booking for our next trip so we asked the barman what the atmosphere was normally like. He advised it was always fully booked with either more mature guests or young families which livened things up with children running around. After spending an evening there, apart from location, we felt this hotel was unfortunately not for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Poor service from some”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Bistro restaurant is superb in so many ways. The views are incredible and the food and prices excellent. They struggled a little with rare steak but it tasted lovely. They are let let down by poor service . A new young female waitress was clueless. I can tolerate and excuse being new but serving a fish cake and saying it was tiger prawns was pushing tolerance. luckily her colleague jumped in to help. She returned with two steaks saying they were medium. When we queried this , as we only ordered one medium, she tutted and showed some reluctance to query this with the chef. maybe the chef was the demon?? they returned seconds lated rebranding them rare ?? they tasted excellent. The barman was very good at his job and the waiters were excellent in providing a window table with a seating arrangement to maximise the view. paying the bill was a mystery as they never return for it. If you go to the barman he then takes you to reception -unusual. The decor was fabulous and a lovely evening. Calling it a Bistro undermines the true calibre of this establishment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ate delicous curry right on the beach watching the sun set”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent evening on the beach. Had curry served on china plates and sat on the sand eating the curry watching the sun set.
It was absolutely heaven. So relaxing.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Only popped here for coffee but liked it very much,not cheap to stay or eat here but you feel you would get a bit of luxury,lovely surroundings and quality .staff very courteous and friendly

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Woolacombe, Devon
 

Been to Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.