We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem - try it for yourself” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lifton Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Lifton Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
WEST SUSSEX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Gem - try it for yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A friend & I spent 2 nights here on a KGB voucher....an unbeatable deal! The building is lovely and the twin room that we had was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The quality of the beds & bedding was very good. The breakfasts were excellent, amongst the best I have sampled on my extensive travels, there is nothing I would do to change/improve. The homemade preserves, particularly the marmalade, were delicious, a great touch. Stupidly we did not read our voucher properly and as we had eaten a late lunch on the first day we could not take advantage of the full meal offered in the deal that evening, we just had fish & salad and nachos (they were particularly tasty). We decided to eat dinner at the hotel on the second night but I was disappointed by a poor steak. I did mention this & was told that it would be discussed with the butcher. I appreciate that you cannot always tell the true quality of meat until it is eaten but if I had been the hotelier I would perhaps have offered a jar of the homemade preserve, it would not have cost much and would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi and many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your steak. On further investigation it seems that you didn't mention anything to the waiting staff on the night of your meal, and only spoke about it when you were checking out. We always encourage people to mention something that isn't satisfactory at the time, when we have the chance to put it right - which is why we always do a 'check-back' when people have their main meals. We would have been more than happy to cook you a second steak (or even prepare something else), but unfortunately, there is very little we can do about it the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    27
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
119
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, again on a voucher scheme. The building is attractive and spotlessly clean.Check-in was swift and efficient and the rooms were well furnished with modern facilities. We particularly appreciated the quality of the towels (something often neglected by hotels!) There is plenty to do in the surrounding area. We particularly enjoyed Dingles fairground museum. The only downside was the hard rather uncomfortable bed (mentioned at the desk, but were told the mattresses are fairly new. The menu for the voucher scheme was adequate and all meals are freshly prepared. We agree the choice is limited but one expects a degree of economy for special offers. Perhaps a note on the A4 menu to the effect you can transfer to the full menu for a supplement would be helpful as we were not informed of this choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate that you took time to put finger to keyboard!

I'm sorry you found the mattress too hard. We did in fact change the mattress after you mentioned it, but the second one was probably very similar to the first as they were bought at a similar (if not the same) time.

Mattresses are very subjective, but we haven't had many people complain that they are too hard. We tend to get comments about how comfortable they are, someone even thought our mattress was better than their own! However, we appreciate that not everyone likes a firm mattress, and will look into having a mattress topper on stand-by.

Thanks again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Happened upon this hotel by chance when looking forsome where to stay late in the day. We were weary and travel worn and where made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Our suite on the top floor included a spa bath. This was much appreciated. The room service for dinner was excellent as was our meals. Breakfast was a pleasure and set one in good sted for another busy day of family tree searching. I would whole heartedly reccommend this hotel, with it's lovely bars, restraunt, and sevice. Some parts of the establishment date back many hundreds of years.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hello and many thanks for your lovely review. We're really glad that you enjpyed your stay with us. Be sure to tell all your friends about us too, so they can 'happen-upon-us' when they're in the area!

I hope you managed to find all your family history - and if you didn't, you know where to come and stay next time you're in teh area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 6 lovely days here and enjoyed every minute . The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The room and it's facilities were extremely clean and comfortable - well done!
The food was to a very high standard and always good choices. Breakfasts were superb. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Old Farmhouse
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Called in by chance for lunch. Spotlessly clean, a welcoming landlord, good beer, a great steak and nice ambience. I'm sure the locals know all about it but useful to know if out and about as we were.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi there and many thanks for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon.

Be sure to tell all your friends where we are too!!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here on a voucher scheme for two nights, dinner was included on the first night, but sadly the main menu is not available to voucher guests, it was replaced with a sheet of A4 with a very limited and un-inspiring selection. The room was very nice, clean, spacious, and the en suite was the same, again very clean. The bed was very uncomfortable, time for a new mattress we think. The staff were very friendly, and the location was great as it was central and within a shortish drive to a lot of Devon and Cornwalls attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We're glad you had a 'pleasant stay' and sorry there were aspects of your visit that you were less pleased about.

I'm not sure which room you stayed in, and as you've chosen to air your moans online rather than mention them during your stay, (when we have a chance to put them right for you) there has to be a degree of detective work to identify the offending mattress! If I'm correct, the mattress in the room you stayed in has already been replaced. Although we check our mattresses regularly, it's only by customer feedback that we know what they are like to sleep on!

I'm sorry that you found the menu 'limited and uninspiring'. As you will see from other reviews from the many people we've had stay using the same £99 deal, you are in a bit of a minority. We appreciate that it isn't our full menu, but you were given the opportunity to eat from our main menu for an extra supplement.

I will pass on your comments about our freindly staff and let the housekeeper know how clean everything was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a delightful stay , everything was there to make it enjoyable , we took advantage of the garden to greet our friends , and excellent for the youngest one to play in , it was a very safe environment. for children . I would'nt hesitate to recommend the Lifton Hall hotel, or Cottage , an excellent experience all round

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lifton Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.