We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arundell Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arundell Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lifton
Redruth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fantastic weekends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We frequently enjoy weekend breaks at the Arundel. I can't speak highly enough of the hotel. The staff are attentive but discreet at the same time. The rooms are all superb, room 17 has stunning views of Dartmoor, it's great to sit in bed and watch the sun rising over the moors. The food is to die for and prices are sensible. My husband is an avid fly fisherman and the waters offered on the Tamar are always a delight to him. Dave and Tim are always there as back up to advise on he best pools to fish. Personally I can't wait for my next break there, the garden is lovely and relaxing to sit in and there are plenty of places within easy driving distance to visit.
Check out the Coachouse Bar next door as well, the locals hang out there and often has live entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    58
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
159
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Delightful staff and superb food make this a must-go-again-at-least-annually venue. With dogs very welcome, fishing if you want to and, on both evenings this time, dinner-in-the-garden weather. Better than ever if you like comfort, style and value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We often stop off here on our way back down to Cornwall and have a bar lunch. The food is of excellent standard and always delivered with great service. Highly recommended. We haven't stayed over so cant comment on the rooms.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We decided to sit and eat in the garden which as the evening was gorgeous. The food was excellent. There were so many things on the menu that sounded delicious. The staff were brilliant and very knowledgeable about the food and the house wines. We were very impressed with the whole evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here last summer with my partner and our dog. Our room was on the ground floor of the adjoining building to the pub off of the car park (probably because of the dog). Room was a little on the cosy side, but was well appointed, and all in good order. Food was very good, both at breakfast and for evening meals. The dining room and sitting room were very well appointed. We were made very welcome by the staff who were always friendly, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our third visit and our best. The staff were welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and the food was fantastic. The wines were excellent and we discovered a stunning pudding wine. The fishing and golf were fun despite the weather!! We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited in April on a Travel Zoo offer. After a light lunch in the bar we were shown to our room which was on the ground floor ( room 4 ? ). On entering the room had a musty smell and regretably only had one chair to recline in. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had nice fluffy towels.
The dining room service was excellent, less so the 5 course taster menu.(no Choice) Servings were on the small side and whilst we are not big eaters we both left feeling hungry. Should we go again we would order from the excellent a la carte menu.
On checking our bill we had been charged for chocolates and coffee £8.50 ( included in our deal ) whilst we did not want coffee we would have had the chocolates had they been offered! So suggest you check your bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundell Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.