We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with superb service in rural Devon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arundell Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arundell Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lifton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with superb service in rural Devon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 2 night getaway and wished we were able to stay longer. The feel is of a country house you have been invited to visit with traditional Victorian decor, lovely dark wood everywhere, delicious food and superb service from all the staff.
Highlights included:
Welcoming tea and cake in the large lounge with roaring fire
Stunning 5+course tasting menu with perfectly matched wines served in the dining room complete with large chandelier and faultless service (including amazing bread cooked on site that day).
Multi course breakfast with local produce (we didn't need lunch!)
Traditional skittle alley and table tennis available for all guests- great fun to work up an appetite
Pub on site with traditional food and plenty of cheery locals
Local fishing run by the in house hotel specialist- sadly we didn't have time for this but my boyfriend plans to return!
40 mins from Eden project, Padstow, coastal walks and cycling.
A terrific stay in a friendly, homely, beautifully run and family owned hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Teambested,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Your partner must come back and try our fishing, I am sure he will love it. If you would like us to send you some more information on the fishing, please do get in touch with our friendly reception team.

Regards, Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    58
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
159
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went for a 'Gourmet Taster' BB&D stay via 'Travelzoo'.
On arrival we were shown to a delightful room on the first floor at the front of the hotel,facing the road. I asked if there were rooms available at the back but they were full. We began to unpack when we were told of a cancellation in the attached 'stable block',we were shown the room and were delighted to move into it.
This was the start of a wonderful experience. ALL staff were kind, courteous and efficient at all times. The dinner was remarkable, truly delicious and superbly cooked. The waiting staff knew how to serve the dishes and be 'on-hand' but not intrusive and the wine was served with real expertise.

Our room was warm, comfortable,spotlessly clean and with a generous complimentary tray of beverages and bottled water; the bathroom was equally well equipped with soft towels, complimentary toiletries and a superb shower over the bath.

If you are lucky enough to be in the area-book in- it's an absolute must.

There is nothing that could have been improved on throughout our stay and we will return as soon, and as often,as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Smiley2a,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate you with a more suitable room. Hopefully you'll visit us again soon!

Best wishes, Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a night at the Arundell Arms last week on a travel zoo deal and really enjoyed it from the lovely welcome to the friendly check-out. Had a quick drink in the bar in front of the roaring fire before getting ready for the 5 course tasting menu in the restaurant. There was a buzz about the place despite being midweek, although the restaurant itself had only 3 couples eating. Food was great and couldn't fault the staff; each and every one were friendly and helpful.
The room was very comfortable and cosy, and after a great nights sleep we had a really nice "full English" followed by a coffee and read of the newspapers in the lounge before departing for a bracing walk on the moor. Would eat in the bar if passing by and would stay again, but probably only if it was on a similar deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear murraysDevon

Many thanks for the taking the time to review The Arundell Arms Hotel. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you on a return visit.

Kind regards, Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked with the Travelzoo offer for 2 couples. The garden facing rooms were to a good standard, the food excellent and the staff, without exception, are friendly and professional. We were lucky to be able to add an extra day on to our booking and believe it to be one of the best value and quality breaks we have had for a very long time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Tanglewood24,

It's great to read that all four of you really enjoyed your stay with us. Should you decide to stay again, our hotel system allows us to be able to see which rooms you stayed in. Should you wish to stay in the same rooms again, please do let us know and we'll do our best to make sure you are in your preferred rooms. The four of you may wish to try out some fishing lessons next time you are here to help work up and appetite??

Best wishes, Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We used the travel zoo voucher to stay for two nights including the five course tasting dinner which was excellent value. Generally the service was very friendly with a can do attitude. However there were a few small things which could be improved
1. There was a problem with the heating on our first night which made our room unbearably hot even after we turned the heating off. What made it worse was we couldn't leave the window open without wedging it open with our complimentary shampoo.
2. The room could do with some update like the replacing the mirror and cracked basin.
3. Although one of our waitress was fantastic, the other one spent most of the night biting her fingernails which is not terribly hygienic.
4. There was a few hairs left in our bath when we checked in.
I do realise that they are only small things which if fixed would make the place perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear ReniMcP,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry about the issue with heating that you had experienced. We have recently installed a biomass boiler which means hotel is now burning less than half the fossil fuels we were this time last year. As with most things like this the installation of the boiler came with teething issues. We were unable to time, or set the boiler to a thermostat and the only options that we had were simply on, or off. We decided that cold guests would not be the path to follow, hence a slight over hot hotel for the evening. I have also addressed the other issues in your review as far as staff are concerned and can assure you, these have been rectified. The rooms are all currently undergoing a refurbishment program, so the other mentioned issues are also soon to be corrected if not already done so.

I was pleased to read that service and staff were of a 'can do' attitude and I am sure you will only see improvements should you return to us.

Regards, Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a St Valentine special dinner and accommodation on February 14th. We had previously stayed here on our 25th Wedding Anniversary in November and our return visit was every bit as good as we remembered. The welcome we received was lovely and all the staff are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble - and our dinner was faultless, with so many little extras and attention to detail . The room was spacious and this time we overlooked the hotel car park, as we were in the main building. No noise whatsoever. Last time we were in a courtyard room overlooking the garden but both rooms were equally good. The beds are extremely comfortable and the general size of the rooms are excellent.
We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast, even though we still felt replete from the previous evening! There is a good choice and lovely fruit, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice to precede the well cooked 'main' course. All in all a pleasure, in delightful surroundings, with cheerful and hard working staff. We heard similar feed back from fellow guests.
We shall very much hope to return later in the year. A home from home.

Room Tip: Our room last year in the courtyard was 25 and this year 3, in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear DevonBobby,

It was a very busy evening when you stayed here with us, and I know from our staff feedback it was quite stressful from their point of view making sure everyone was well looked after and happy. I was so so pleased to see your review and hear feedback from other guests praising them for their professionalism and efforts and remaining happy and cheerful throughout. I am incredibly proud of the team we have here without whom there simply wouldn't be an Arundell Arms.

We are all so please that you enjoyed your time with us and very much look forward to being able to welcome you back here for another special occasion.

Warm regards, Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Welcomed by a cup of fresh coffee and a warm fire - great on a cold winter's day. Did have to wait about 30 minutes for our room to be ready, but we were in no rush. Room was a good size and recently rennovated. All was very good, but it was a shame that the free wifi didn't quite stretch to our room and the TV was rather small. The breakfast was superb and well worth getting up for! The hotel owns land along the river for fishing, but the rest of the village was rather uninteresting. The hotel was in the centre of the village, not by the river nor with with views onto the river.

Room Tip: Choose room nearer to main lounge if you need wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Philip D,

Many thanks for reviewing us. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am happy to report that our free wifi system is about to be updated and will soon be much more user friendly, faster and reliable. The hotel owns 20 miles of river with the closest stretch being just a five minute walk from the hotel. We also have a beautiful lake which is located in the village. Our newly renovated rooms have much larger televisions, please be sure to request one should you visit again!

Kindest regards, Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundell Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.