We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arundell Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arundell Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Arundell Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gourmet Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

6 of us went to celebrate my wife's birthday bought through Travelzoo.The whole exprience was a delight.The room was good and the food excellent.The service we received was second to none.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to eat well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Peter J,

I was pleased to read that you and the rest of your party enjoyed your break away here with us. Our food always gets good praise and seems to be enjoyed by those who appreciate healthy portions! We very much look forward to welcoming you and your party back to us.

Best wishes Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    69
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
169
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

An excellent short break. Good food and wine together with friendly and efficient service from staff who clearly enjoyed their work. Comfortable room and a nice warm lounge with open fire to relax in after dinner. this was just what you need but what you don`t get from maany morre modern hotels.

Room Tip: we had aroom at the back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Olga h,

thank you for your review. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated the traditional comforts and charm that The Arundell Arms has to offer.

Kind regards Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found this Gourmet Break on Travelzoo and thought it would be great idea for my husband's 'big birthday' to take eight friends away for the night. We all had a great time and the setting of the Arundell Arms was perfect - we spent the afternoon in the lounge on the big comfy sofas chatting by the log fire and had tea, and later champagne and canapes before enjoying the most delicious five course tasting menu - with some excellent recommended wines to complement each course - the whole meal was cooked and presented to perfection. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Our room was very clean and equipped and furnished to a high standard, I loved the huge extra large white fluffy bath sheets!. We were all thrilled with our stay and will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Daphne T,

I am delighted that you and your party enjoyed your time here at The Arundell. We often play host to birthday and other celebrations alike and guests seem to have a great time. Our lounge is often referred to as a 'home from home' which is obviously how your party found us to be. We always want our guests to feel as comfortable as possible (some find the sofas a little too comfortable and are often found snoring in front of the fire!). You and your party are welcome back anytime and we will be delighted to host any future events for you!

Kind regards Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked a 2 night offer with Travel Zoo for my birthday w/end of 4/5 January 2013, having read reviews on Trip Advisor. I woke up in the car park after a long journey to Devon. I was amazed when I opened my eyes. The photography is very clever, I didn't for one minute imaging the hotel was situated on the main road! However, we made our way to reception, to be greeted by a rather grumpy receptionist, who showed us to our tired, smelly bedroom (no wonder the windows were open), needless to say it was also freezing. The room was very tired, I predicted as much, as we walked the corridor, paper peeling off walls, gloomy, quite a depressing corridor. We made our way to the bar and decided we couldn't stay in this hotel for 2 nights, so proceeded to rebook the St Moritz in Cornwall (wow, so much better). In the meantime, we requested an upgrade. Another lovely receptionist was very accommodating and gave us the key to look at the alternative room at our leisure. This was so much better, obviously recently been modernised (bathroom still a little worn). I do question, why hotels don't give their better rooms in the first instance (especially when TravelZoo promote upgrade where possible). Do hotels just assume you will put up and shut up?? The hotels saving grace was the food - lovely tasting menu & nice wine and a hearty breakfast. Staff were also lovely, but needless to say there was not much atmosphere, restaurant a little large. I guess as with all hotels, 3* is what it is, so if you like the finer comforts, stick to 4 and 5*.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear LIW0396,

Thank you for your review. Firstly our apologies that the hotel didn't live up to your standard. I agree that some of our rooms are still a little tired and in need of updating as is the main corridor. The rooms are undergoing a refurbishment program as we speak. In your review you refer to Travel Zoo offering an upgrade. This isn't entirely correct as upgraded rooms attract a supplement. This is stated clearly on the Travel Zoo offer page.

You also mention the use of clever photography. The images on the front page of our website scroll through and clearly show that the front of the hotel is situated on the road in the village. As an old coaching inn it is impossible to try to disguise this fact, so we don't try to. Obviously not all bedrooms are situated road side, and many guests in fact request rooms to the rear of the hotel which we are more than happy to provide should availability allow.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our food in our 'very large' award winning restaurant where our food is cooked and prepared by one of only 80 Master Chef's in the UK.

Regards Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal for dinner, bed & breakfast & were delighted to stay at this renowned country hotel. The public rooms were warm, traditionally furnished & comfortable. We enjoyed a lovely peaceful afternoon reading our books undisturbed by the log fire. Our room was spacious light, airy & felt more like a country cottage with the wonderful view overlooking the garden & surrounding fields. Staying here, despite being located on the old A30 in the centre of Lifton, was pure escapism. The food - a signature tasting menu by master chef Steve Pidgeon complemented by champagne aperitif & recommended wines - was superbly delicious - we savoured every morsel! Breakfast in the elegant dining room was also excellent, as was the understated yet attentive & very obliging service. A real hidden gem, and on this deal, exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sue L,

thank you for your review. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay here, and very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the flight of wines. The flight of wines have been a recent introduction to our dining experience and are proving very popular!

Regards Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is a charming venue to have a short break. The food is outstanding and the dining room spacious and not overcrowded, as seems to be the case in many restaurants. The staff attentive and helpful. The rooms as expected in an old hotel and immaculately clean and well presented.
The management specialise in fly fishing expeditions in the rivers close by. There is opportunities for all levels of capabilities to take part

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear of the property will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear John H,

thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and would be delighted to welcome you back to try out some fishing with us one day?
Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our particular (fussy) requests were all taken seriously and acted upon fully. We had, by chance, in the two days prior to our stay, dined at two Michelin star restaurants. Arundell did not lose in the comparison and the wine list was remarkable. We were sorry to have to leave after two nights and plan to return. The care and attention we were given could not be faulted.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear 225Traveller8

Thank you for your review. We are particularly proud of our food here at The Arundell. Our Head Chef Steven Pidgeon has been with us for many years and is in fact a Master Chef of Great Britain. I will be sure to pass on your comments to him regarding the food. Once again our thanks for reviewing.

Regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundell Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.