We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arundell Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arundell Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Arundell Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

You won't be dissappointed. Lovely place, friendly staff, and entertaining locals in the pub attached.
My room was spotless and very well furnished. I just wish that my stay had been longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    77
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
187
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Been staying at this hotel for 23 years and it just gets better. Wonderful rooms, food, service and fishing

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlswood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My partner and I found the Arundell Arms Hotel on the intranet whilst searching for a hotel which catered for fishing and took dogs. We booked a week in the cottage attaced to the hotel and a fishing guide to assist give a days tuition. On arrival the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and when we went for a meal and a drink in the bar the waiter went and got a clean bowl of water and a treat for our dog and made us feel at home. The food throughout the week was good. We ate in the courthouse several times which was very dog friendly and in the bar but didn't eat in the restaraunt as wanted our dog with us and found both the courthouse and hotel bar very comfortable and the fact that dogs are not allowed in the restaraunt which we agree with as not everyone is doggy minded- the staff are all very friendly and a credit to the hotel. Both David and Tim the fishing instructors were extremely patient and gave great service and when we caught fish the hotel staff froze the fish for us to bring home. The location is deceptive- as you arrive in Lifton you drive down the road and turn into a unasuming carpark where you find the hotel entrance-however once you enter thevhotel you realise you are in a very good quality hotel with an amazing lounge area with its roaring log fire and very comfortable seating areas- during the week the cold weather improved and we experienced very warm days which allowed us to sit out in the garden area and enjoy tranquility- the staff were not too intrusive but were present when drinks were required. The owner introduced himself to check on our fishing which was a nice touch and we had a fantastic week and really cannot emphasis how dog friendly this hotel and its staff are. The cottage we stayed in was comfortable and warm with an open fire with logs provided but perhaps my ony negative comment would be that it could do with a revamp such as a new cooker but that is the only constructive criticism I have- anyone looking at this hotel for a sporting week will not be disapointed-we have booked another trip and will be shooting on this occasion so will report back on that break- anyway,just about to have fresh trout for supper which we caught earlier!

Room Tip: Didn't stay in hotel itself as rented the hotel cottage for the week which was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I should say at the outset that this stay was a gift from relatives, so I can't comment on the value for money.
The hotel is very easy to find, on the main road through Lifton. The hotel has a large car park. Checking in was very easy, with a nice welcome, and an offer to help with our bags. Then we were personally shown our room.
The room itself was decorated in the country house style (not really my taste). It was light and airy, plenty of room and hanging space and a good hospitality tray. The bathroom was a good size, but the mirror was not very well lit. The bed was comfy, but we had a bit of trouble trying to stop one of the sash windows from banging in the wind at night, which kept us awake.
Those small negatives aside, this is a really lovely place, even just to sit and relax. There's a small bar and a nice lounge with enormous comfy sofas and a selection of games, books and magazines.
The real highlight, though, was our experience in the restaurant. My partner is lactose intolerant, which in hotel restaurants usually means he has to have a steak without sauce and no other option. However, to our surprise, we were told to order anything from the menu and the chef would tweak it accordingly. The chef also produced special lactose-free canapés and breads to accompany the meal. The food was excellent. We liked it so much, we booked for the next night and had a similarly excellent experience.
Likewise, at breakfast, my partner was supplied with soya milk and lactose-free bread. Another nice surprise.
The hotel is renowned for country sports and if you fancy a bit of fishing or hunting the hotel will arrange everything for you. We didn't do this, but the guests who did seemed to be having a good experience.
If you feel strongly against country sports, I would suggest that you might not be very comfortable here - most of the public areas have hunting or fishing mementos on display, the magazines are shooting/fishing/country life type publications, and there are one or two items of taxidermy on the wall in the lounge.
We very much enjoyed our stay here and would certainly look to stay here again next time we're in this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. I am pleased that we looked after you as well as we aim to for all with special diets.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for just one night on our way to Cornwall and loved everything.

The staff were helpful, efficient and friendly and our room had all we needed. The food at dinner and breakfast was delicious. The hotel is in a lovely setting and the hotel provides a map showing a walk around the village which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Traditional old style hotel with lots of character, nice and clean, comfortable and made to feel welcome. Arrived on a Travelzoo inclusive deal and was not dissapointed, great evening meal and excellent breakfast. Certainly would go again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was astounded that the meal we had just eaten was not Michelin rated - Head Chef Steven Pidgeon certainly deserves one (in my humble opinion) for the fare we had the pleasure to consume, my good lady had the Scallops for starter ("Succulent!") and I had the John Dory with Cockles ("Superb") mains were in the shape of the grilled seafood platter ("Exquisite") and for my main the Lamb was just the best I have ever tasted - desserts were another triumph - my other half only needed one word to describe the Fruit Sorbet - ("Divine"), and my cheeseboard did not dissapoint either, this is the type of eaterie that deserves all the plaudits it gets - quite simply excellent food and excellent service - long may you have success. Fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback which I have passed on to Steve Pidgeon our chef.
It is great when we get remarks like this and I look forward to serving you again soon.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundell Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.