We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Virtues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arundell Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arundell Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Arundell Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Traditional Virtues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Arundell Arms is a delightful traditional English country hotel. The old polished slate floors, open fires and super hospitality adds to the experience. Fishing, shooting, good food and stunning Devon countryside is enough of a draw to make return visits essential.
There is a buzzing bar and village pub, a smart dining room and old style lounge. The restaurant food is fantastic with local meat and fish cooked brilliantly. The bedrooms are bright and well furnished.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    69
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
169
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lifton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We held a Silk Scarves Painting workshop at the Arundell Arms Hotel, yesterday. It was the first time we have located a course at the hotel so I was nervous but the day was a complete success. We used their Tamar Room which was warm, bright and airy with good natural daylight - important when you're painting! The hotel were extremely accommodating and helped with the layout of the furniture etc as this needed to be flexible as the activities progressed throughout the day. I was able to get into the venue nice and early to prepare all the materials etc and could clear up in the evening without any pressure. The parking was also very good. I had a lot of materials and equipment for the class and could get the car close to the entrance and load/unload all on one level. It was an ideal location for us as we had students attending from across Devon and Cornwall and I would definitely use the venue again .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

First time visit. Great place to eat good quality food. Only met with a friend for a catch up and something to eat. We were treated very well. Staff were really pleasant and knew how to look after their guests. I might even stay here next time I am in the area. A nice find for the area!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We (myself and my nephew) were cycling from John O'Groats to Land's End on our penultimate day when we hit 50 mile an hour south-westerlies and a head wind of 22 miles an hour and torrential rain on July 16th 2010. We were forced off the dual carriageway only to arrive at the Arundel Arms, frozen, exhausted and relieved to be alive.
Soking wet, barely able to walk and frozen to the core, we caught the attention of the receptionist - Alison Shopland. Alison took our bikes down into the cellar, dried all our clothes and escourted us to the last room available. Alison requested a tray of food for us and left a breakfast tray in our room for the following morning (we were leaving at 6am)
We told Alison we were raising money for the Southern Spinal Trust to create a wheelcahir accessible garden in the grounds of Salisbury District Hospital.
Alison let us have the room for a bargain price and made us feel on top of the world. We will never forget the hospitality we received and would love to come back again when we have saved up a few pennies. We spoke to Adam Fox-Edwards to express our thanks and are delighted to say we would not possibly hesitate in recommending this hotel to everyone we talk to. YOU WILL LOVE IT.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Arundell Arms for just two nights. Unfortunately the circumstances for us wasn't great as our dog who should have been with us was hurt in an accident. However in saying that the staff were very kind and the whole atmosphere of the hotel very soothing. We were luck enough to have a morning with Roy giving my husband a fly fishing lesson. He made our stay, his humour, kindness and patience in such wonderful surroundings was just the tonic we both needed. We eat the first night in the bar area, okay but nothing special. Fairly typical pub food. For our second night we went up the road to the Lifton Arms Hotel and had a wonderful meal. We just wanted something a bit more casual than the main restaurants in the Arundell. Under different circumstances we would recommend this hotel even though our room was rather small for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We just wished we could have stayed longer.Everything was perfect.We have stayed at many hotels all over the world,but the staff at the Arundell Arms are by far the best we have know.Thank you to you all.Hope to be back soon.We will certainly recommend you to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Firstly i would like to add that i never write reviews, however i feel that it would be an injustice to this hotel/staff if i did not.

From the moment i stepped inside the doors of the Arundell Arms i instantly knew it was the perfect location and venue for our wedding, however it was the general 'feel' of the place that made us book it. Alex instantly put my mind at rest and was able to discuss any matters as and when the arose.

Our wedding went without fault, which was due to the committment, professionalism and service from the staff, paying particular mention to Alex, Mervin, Claudette, Jasmin and Sue. Nothing was too much trouble for these members. The staff went above and beyond ensuring our guests were comfortable and accomodated (even helping to assist when a guest had a wardrobe malfunction).

The food was superb, the five courses for our wedding breakfast was beyond expectation and the evening buffet was plentiful and ultimate quality.

I would urge anyone thinking of booking to stay, dine or get married at the Arundell Arms to do so, you truely will not be disappointed.

Finally, i would like to thank Alex for everything, he helped us from start to finish, ensuring everything was perfect. Our wedding wouldnt have been the magical day it was without Alex's input and the help from the staff, thank you all so much.

Kind regards,
Rachel and Cameron

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Director of Sales at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. On behalf of myself and all of the staff who worked over your wedding weekend I can honestly say we also had a really fun time. From start to finish your guests were great fun and it was an absolute pleasure to serve and work with you all. We were also delighted to see you when you both returned to the hotel for lunch last week so quickly after your big day! Once again thank you, and again congratulations from everybody here at The Arundell Arms! We very much look forward to welcoming you back here soon!

Alex & The Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street 1, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundell Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.