We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre

Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre
Lifton PL16 0AT, England
+44 1566 783425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre is the home of the National Fairground Collection. It is a facility unique in the UK, designed to capture the magic of a bygone age through exhibits, vintage engineering and stunning artwork displays. Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre is a 45,000 square foot indoor attraction that provides a unique opportunity to view and interact with our Fairground Heritage in a beautiful rural location.Come and enjoy All the Fun of the Vintage Fair - our historic rides, shows and stalls operate for your enjoyment, and at a small additional cost.Vintage Penny Arcade, Cafe, Gift Shop. Free Parking.See our website for further information and details of special events.
Penzance, Cornwall
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I spent just over an hour here, 8 pounds per person entry fee seems a bit high to us especially as you have to pay at least a pound per ride on top, perhaps couple of free rides inclusive in the entry fee might make it a little more agreeable. Good to see some of the older rides and blasts from the past though.
On the plus side you do get free entry for 12 months which is great if you live nearby and have a hour to spare.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    32
    18
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out, friendly & fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a great day out, even my mum who is 80 enjoyed it. All the fun of the fair. Hold on to your hats!!!! (Will be returning in 2013 for a 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration. There is something for everyone. Dodgems, Gyrator/switchback, Ghost Train, sideshows (hook the duck, coconut shy, shooting gallery, darts, penny arcade etc etc. The staff/volunteers are fantastic, couldn't be more helpful, informative and friendly. Roll on March. All it needed was a hot dog and candy floss. This was a charity fund raising day. Hope they did well they deserve to. Wherever you looked everyone, young and old was smiling. What more could you want?!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT DAY OUT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

dingles fairground heretige center makes an exelont day out and all the family can enjoy it most of the attractions are fascnating in the first hall they have bits of old rides even a gypses caravan but the real excitnment comes when you enter the secend hall they have loads of working old fair rides like dogems.

attmididly prices are quite high but they do have to keep all the rides running
its like £25 to get in and tokens for the rides are 50p each

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fun for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This attraction is a fantastic working museum of the fairground, and you can ride on some of the exhibits. A working ghost train; dodgems; switchback and merry-go rounds and shooting galleries plus the static exhibits.

Staff knowledgeable and helpful, food and drink in tea rooms good quality.

I bought the tickets and the entrance in advance -HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! - as regards the criticisms about the extra pricing - c'mon guys, what other options are there really? And it isn't expensive. I'd rather be in the sheds, (which don't seem rickety to me at all!) than exposed to the elements.

The highlight? A ride which was on Clarence Pier in Portsmouth when I was a kid...Now able to ride it with my children.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Had a great afternoon out here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a tricky place to rate.
On the one hand, we had a really great afternoon here. The rides were surprisingly hair raising, fast, rickety and lots of fun - havent laughed so much in ages. Beautifully painted and a great reminder of rides of times gone past. Staff were really helpful, the museum part about the fairground through history was interesting if a little amateur style (added to the charm) and not as appealing to children.
On the other hand, as people have said it is basically two big sheds and is in need of some TLC and investment. Also you pay extra for all the rides in addition to the entrance fee and I wonder if there is a better financial model that would attract more visitors.

Fantastic that people are keeping this place going - it must be a labour of love and is a charming and fun place to visit. I do hope it keeps going and am sure we will be back when next in the area.

Didn't try the cafe but there are tables inside where you can have a picnic. Its not that warm inside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.