We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you visit South Devon - A wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highwell House

Highwell House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highwell House
Save
You added Highwell House to your Saves list
Churchstow, Kingsbridge TQ7 3QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Guildford, Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must if you visit South Devon - A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Went to Devon with my husband and my mother-in-law and stayed at the Highwell House. Nothing is too much trouble for Anthea, she is very friendly and will always put herself out if you have any special requests - she is the perfect host. Breakfasts were superb - a choice of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal or cooked. The full english can also have extras - fried potatoes and beans plus homemade marmalade and preserves for your freshly toasted bread. Orange juice and either a pot of coffee or tea is also provided. Lovely!

A walk around the gardens are a must - chickens, sheep and a horse are in the surrounding areas around the house, together with a vegetable patch as well! Flowers are all around the garden and makes Highwell House an excellent place to stay. Puss (the house cat) particularly liked to lay on the mat in the sun outside the conservatory while we ate our breakfast.

The rooms are bright and clean and kitted out with a kettle and tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits for those early morning or late evening cuppa's and there is fresh milk in the fridge on the landing. The bed was very comfortable and the en-suites are supplied with lovely big towels and shower gel for those who forget to bring them.

We would definitely recommend Highwell House to anyone wanting a place to stay in South Devon.

Thank you for our stay.

Room Tip: Very comfortable rooms, clean and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
caldicot
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have just returned from four wonderfull days in Devon, but making the visit special was the lovely Highwell House at Churchstow. We stayed three nights at this excellent accomodation. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel we were special guests. The breakfasts were superb and so full of choice,freshly made preserves,,fresh fruits,yoghurts and a full english if required. All taken in a haven of the conservatory watching the squirrels and birds on the lawn..A must is to bring home some of the preserves , made by Mrs Pope,for your morning toast at home.--- Wonderfull

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed three nights but could have stayed forever!
We were warmly welcomed with tea and home-made ginger cake, this was a sign of good things to come as we enjoyed the best breakfasts we'd ever had at a B&B. I mentioned my reaction to all things citrus so the breakfast fresh fruit salad was designed around my needs... it was delicious. My husband enjoyed a 'full English' breakfast each day, one day I had bacon with a poached egg. I don't know where Anthea learned to poach an egg but it was superb ( Far better than my attempts to follow Delia's advice!)
Our room was pretty, the bed extremely comfortable with lovely fresh cotton sheets and duvet cover. The bathroom was 'freshened up' daily.
With amazing attention to detail, our tea tray was well supplied with a choice of hot drinks and good quality biscuits. We were able to use fresh milk kept in a fridge in the relaxing and well stocked 'Reading area'. A bottle opener was provided and, had we not been going to a wedding, we could have chilled our wine in the fridge too.
The garden was beautiful and peaceful, good for an early morning or evening stroll. With a pub nearby, evening meals with wine were a possibility for both of us.
We found Highwell House using our Satnav, although we could have trusted the directions given.
We would highly recommend Highwell House!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Had a lovely stay here. Beautiful gardens to stroll around, home made produce and eggs to buy, good breakfasts, and only a short walk to a nice pub with adequate food. I was mildly disturbed in the early evening by conversation in the kitchen under our room, but I am particularly neurotic about such things. Quiet at night. The views from our room were spectacular and the welcome, with a pot of tea and gingerbread in the conservatory, was perfect.

Room Tip: Buy the jam!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Easy to find, once you realise that what looks like a narrow bridleway bang oppostite the pub is actually a navigable lane. The huge garden was a beautifully tended oasis of calm, positively groaning with blossom when we visited in March. On arrival, we received a warm and gracious welcome and help with parking our cars. Then we were shown to our rooms and provided with tea and delicious, moist ginger cake in the conservatory. Rooms were light and spotless, with well stocked refreshment trays including a selection of quality biscuits and please pay attention to this 4 star hotels, not the usual lonely one, but two sachets of hot chocolate. There is a fridge on the landing with fresh milk and as one of our party had a birthday, we put a bottle of Champagne in there to chill. When we returned, a tray of flutes had been place next to it for our use. What a thoughtful touch.

The village pub is a cheery place a couple of minutes stroll back down the lane. And when we popped in, we were lucky enough to meet the resident parrot and stunning white parakeet - a pair of real characters.

In the morning, breakfast in the dining room was beautifully laid without any of those nasty prepackaged butter pats or condiment sachets to wrestle open. (The conserves were clearly homemade and first rate.) The cold buffet included fresh fruit salad and properly prepared fresh pink grapefruit. We had made our selection of hot items the previous evening and they arrived promptly and freshly cooked. All the ingredients were first class.

Highwell House makes a great base for exploring the South Hams and we are looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay, even in winter, and we can thoroughly recommend it to others. Breakfast is very good, and I think most of the produce is home grown.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Wife and I stayed with two Dutch friends. We all loved its location, the warm welcome, lovely garden and the excellent breakfast. Rooms very comfortable and provided with all the facilities most people would require for an overnight stay. Our host was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwell House

Address: Churchstow, Kingsbridge TQ7 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic, secluded country house set in beautiful 2 acre gardens. Luxury, well equipped double and twin bedded en-suite rooms with lovely garden and woodland views. Delicious full English breakfast of organic home and local produce, served in conservatory overlooking colourful bird filled garden. Excellent local village pub and post office a short level walk away. Ideally located to explore the South Hams area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highwell House Kingsbridge, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highwell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.