We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Coach House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Allington House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Allington House
Save
You added South Allington House to your Saves list
Chivelstone, Kingsbridge TQ7 2NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Coach House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at South Allington House in the Coach house the accomodation was spotless and very well equipped. The cooker was very clean so did not mind doing cooking. It is a place where you get a peaceful nights sleep after a long day exploring. The grounds are really lovely and you can walk wherever you want to, it is a wonderful place to relax and read or just enjoy the view especially by the lake. You can also fish the lake which pleased my husband. Cream teas or cake and tea are served in the afternoon and are very good. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. Lovely small beach a mile away called Lannacombe, also easy to get to Salcombe and Dartmouth as well. Fantastic little bakery in Frogmore, great for supplies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algarve
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our family had booked 'The Laurels' and 'the Coach House' for a surprise party for my parents 60th anniversary. Edward and Barbara were marvellous, even though at times we were fairly loud as for two days there were 22 of us!
Each of the accomodations were wonderful,exceptionally clean and kitted out with everything we needed and all to the highest standard.
The gardens and surroundings were beautiful and very well maintained.
Lannacombe beach is close by, though parking is limited and the lane down to it is very narrow. Well worth the trip though!
All in all, it couldnt have been better, and would recommended South Allington to anyone looking for a break away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Several stressed out women landed on Edward and Barbara a few of which had never camped before. The site was lovely, tranquil and well maintained. Whilst we were there one of us had a puncture, Edward could not have done more to help finding a local garage. We camped by night and had a full English in the house each morning. This managed to stabilise the less rural types in our party. The welcome was warm supportive a good natured we had such a lovely sojourn. Thank you both

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed at South Allington House for 2 nights, the accommodation has been refurbished beautifully and the proeprty was very clean. This is a great place to stay for some long walks with an amazing little beach at Lannacombe. Well worth a trip into Kingsbridge to the Famers Market, where you can look round all the lovely shops in the town also. Thoroughly enjoyed this short break and would definitely recommend South Allington House.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I've been visiting South Allington House since the early 1990s and it is one of my favourite destinations - certainly my favourite B&B. There are also some self-catering facilities that look rather good.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfast is lovely, Barbara & Edward and their staff are so nice. Sometimes if busy you may share a table at breakfast with other guests.

The house is amazingly tranquil with a pretty garden and nice grounds. Kingsbridge is the nearest town, Salcombe with its beaches isn’t far, and there are plenty of interesting places to visit in all weathers nearby. It’s great for walking and exploring south Devon.

Only four stars for the location? I tried hard to find fault. I don’t like or particularly trust five star reviews across the board. The lanes leading to South Allington are tiny – be prepared to squeeze through some gaps and do some reversing into passing bays; it’s also a few minutes’ drive to the nearest place to get evening food. Just a contrast to the built-up suburbia I’m used to. I wondered if the rooms were 4 or 5 stars but just thinking about them made me want to go back, so must be 5 stars.

Worth a visit just for the cream tea even if you’re not staying!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

A wonderful place run by friendly people. The room we had was comfortable and clean. The gardens were superb and the location was excellent.

Breakfast was very good although it got a bit crowded at times and you had to share a table with other people - not always my thing in the morning. However this is a minor niggle, more than made up for by the beautiful surroundings.

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — the narrow lanes leading to the house (but part of the charm as well)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

South Allington House is set on a lovely farm in Devon. It is quiet and resful and rather close (7 mins by car) to the ferry across to Salcombe. It is close by car (within 45 mins drive) to loads of historic sights, animal farms and quaint country pubs...

The accomodation is excellent. I've stayed in both the cottages and the bed and breakfast and they are beautifully furnished, comfortable and Barbara Baker and her team are friendly and efficient. The holiday cottages have everything you need, such as great appliances, extra blankets, games, BBC TV and a fully equipped kitchen.

South Allington house has a gorgeous garden that is great for children, or days when you would just like to laze about and not go out on excusions. There are loads of things to do around the house as well. The breakfastroom is incredible with wonderful breakfast cooked up by Barbara and the team.

It you're keen to expore the South of England, I would recommend stopping off here for a couple of weeks. It is a lovely part of the country and a this B&B is a relaxing and charming place to stay.

(---)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Allington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Allington House

Address: Chivelstone, Kingsbridge TQ7 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the tranquility and beautiful setting of South Allington House for the perfect rural getaway. Nestled in a picturesque secluded valley minutes from the beach, the magnificent Georgian house offers bed and breakfast en-suite rooms, and self-catering barn conversions, within vast grounds. There is ample parking and you are free to use the grounds, including croquet, tennis court and coarse fishing. Devon cream teas with homemade scones and jam are served on the lawn in the summer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Allington House Hotel Kingsbridge
South Allington House Kingsbridge, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Allington House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.