We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe Inn

The Globe Inn
Frogmore, Kingsbridge TQ7 2NR, England
01548531351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 55 Restaurants in Kingsbridge
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A lovely pub with great food and service. The landlady made you feel like a long lost friend. The bar staff and waitresses were attentive and friendly. Great food that was enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went 5 times for our evening meal and the food was excellent. The eating area is nice and the service good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Globe was a regular haunt when we first came to Frogmore in late 80's then it changed drastically and this is the first time we have been back for a fair while - it was a very pleasant surprise to find it looking so good, very friendly landlady and tasty food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was just fine, ruined by rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I visited the Globe on Easter Sunday with 6 other members of family for lunch. I spoke to the owner over the phone on Friday to make an initial enquiry and again to book on the Saturday afternoon whilst sitting on the beach at Blackpool Sands.

We were staying 3 doors down in a holiday cottage and 30 mins before our table reservation my brother wandered up to check that they had a highchair for his 6mo daughter. At this point the owner denied I had called to book the table. Despite this, they were willing to find us a table. Oh well, we thought.

Sadly, despite telling us she was happy to seat us for dinner, the owner / manager would not let the matter drop and continued to jibe and poke about the issue for the remainder of our stay in addition to generally being rude and obnoxious to our whole party. The other staff were all fine. Anyone with a modicum of business sense would let the matter lie, I can forgive a simple clerical error in failing to record the reservation properly. I cannot, however forgive the appalling lack of decorum and dedication to customer service that she demonstrated. At one point, when ordering drinks at the bar, she walked away half way through pouring my pint, with no explanation. The chap at the bar next to me chuckled "Was it something you said!?". When she returned, the first words she rather rudely sneered were "Have you figured out which pub you called yet?". I repeated, "This one" then pressed redial on my phone and we watched the phone ring together.

The food was nothing more than acceptable. Bog standard pub fare. Beer was at the tail end of the barrel.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good food option if in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A couple of tables had been reserved on the week night we went but had no trouble getting seated. Starters were plentiful as was the main course. Beer battered mushrooms very tasty. Fish and chips were good and steak pie hearty. No room for dessert sadly. Warm service from the staff and good value for money. Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

 
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.