We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pottery Painting with Great Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Art Cafe

The Art Cafe
33 Fore Street, Kingsbridge, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Kingsbridge
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Exeter
1 review
“Great Pottery Painting with Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was amazed i absolutely loved this and I really didn't expect to. Very friendly and fun for all ages

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bigbury-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great coffee!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

great coffee and snacks. you can paint your own mugs plates dishes etc at a reasonable price...and have an original item as a gift..or keep yourself. lovely friendly staff

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great concept but horrible staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Since the Art Cafe first opened, the standard of service has gradually deteriorated. The ceramics have gradually become lighter and lighter (ie. lesser and lesser quality) and it now seems quite pricey. However, I could overlook this, since for us, the appeal is primarily for the children they don't notice that sort of thing, but the service, I cannot ignore. The staff are rude, unhelpful and not at all welcoming. On this most recent occasion, we arrived to find that the cafe was jam packed, and we were informed we'd need to come back in 2 hours time, although they would call us if a table came free sooner. This was fine, as we understand that on a rainy day, things get busy. I rang back about half an hour after we had left, to leave an alternative contact number, because my mobile battery had died, and the person that answered the phone firstly couldn't find our reservation, and then, when I explained that we had definitely booked said 'We're full, what do you want me to do?' To be honest, in the future, I think we'll make the journey over to China Blue in Totnes instead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good for young families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This cafe is ideal for young families who might want to keep them occupied with painting some of the china and the tables are covered in brigtly covered table clothes. Coffee was quite good but it felt quite crowded as there were a lot of tables crammed into the seating area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Art Cafe also viewed

 
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Been to The Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Art Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.