We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great restaurant, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crabshell Inn

The Crabshell Inn
Enbankment road, Kingsbridge, England
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crabshell Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Kingsbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, great restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Read reviews on the crabshell inn prior to stopping by for lunch, with family and puppy, lunch was great, weather was fantastic, view was brilliant, and we loved the place so much we went back a few days later, prices very reasonable, definatley going back when we return the kingsbridge.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    111
    47
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great menu (pity about the smoke)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stopped off here and enjoyed delicious crab sandwiches with a lovely waterside view. We thought the menu looked very good and interesting. Nice friendly quick service too. My only gripe is that every table as far as I could see along the waterside had ash trays and a chain smoker sitting on the next table caused us to regret our decision to sit at these tables which felt unfair as we so wanted to eat by the water hence the 4 star rating and not the 5. We will return but implore the owner to consider allowing some area for smokers away from people who want to eat without clouds of cigarette smoke.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We decided to go early lunchtime, and it's just as well we did! Due to the inclement weather the place was packed with children. We had our dogs, so were quite happy to sit outside under the awning. I went into order drinks and the barman explained that it was table service and that someone would be out to take our order. Within two minutes, of sitting back down, the waitress came out. I had the spicy moroccan lamb with Puy lentils and my partner ordered the ribeye. The food was absolutey delicious! The lamb was beautifully cooked and melted in the mouth, and the accompanying stew/sauce made up of aubergines, carrots and tomatoes, finished with a hint goats cheese was sublime. My partner is extremely fussy about his steaks, but the one here was definitely in his top 5! Despite the number of people inside eating, the staff were attentive without being instrusive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Greatly improved and a great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

For some years this restaurant provided great food in a rather run down environment but that changed a year or so ago. Now it is great food in a lovely setting.
Fusion dishes are always high on my list and in the pizza range there is tartiflette pizza, really unusual and worth going back for.
If you are lucky enough to be eating at high tide the view is made all the more interesting by Paddleboarders, (in season) and there is outside seating right on the estuary edge.
Finally I think they serve the best coffee in Kingsbridge so even morning coffee is a treat there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fast and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Aware of mixed reviews on here but we dropped in on spec for a late midweek lunch (August) and were seated straightaway and our food came pretty quickly. It was all very tasty and not bad value. The home made pizza was excellent. Front of house and waiting staff seemed to be mainly sixth formers who were more interested in talking to eachother than in looking after the customers but this did not hold up our food. I would have wished that one of the members of staff (there were several on duty) would have bothered to clear up large amounts of discarded pizza which another family group had dropped on the floor next to our table - this detracted a bit from the otherwise classy atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crabshell Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Crabshell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crabshell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.