We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Save
You added Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park to your Saves list
Bolberry, Malborough, Kingsbridge TQ7 3EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in August for a few nights in the upper field which has good views down to Hope Cove and Sea. It's a bit of a walk to the one toilet and shower block but not a problem as we had asked to be in that location rather than closer to the main facilities. the pitches we had are in a field, so no hedges as screens, but there is quite a bit of space so it's not like everyone is cramped together.

Hope Cove is a 20-30 min walk and has places to eat and drink as well access to a few great beaches. Milton Sands is less than an hour walk and well worth a visit too.

The shower and toilet block has been refurbished and is clean, although most nights there was quite a bit of mud and sand in all the showers, so this is something the owners may like to look at in terms of a regular mop and clean throughout the day and evening (especially after everyone gets back from the beach). There was a mop and bucket available but it was generally already dirty.

Showers are minimum 40p for 4 minutes which is enough time to wash, although on our second night all the hot water ran out in the showers, discovered after putting in the money! Again this is something that needs to be resolved.

Overall, its a good site in a fab location and the owner clearly takes care to walk around everyday to say hi and make sure everyone is fine, so with a few tweeks as mentioned above it will be a really good site and further justify the premium being charged.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. This very wet summer has certainly provided us with a challenge in the facility block and we are very sorry that you found the showers to be muddy and sandy in the evenings. The showers and toilets are deep cleaned daily at midday and then checked and spot cleaned at very regular intervals during the day/evening. Whilst every effort is made to give all of our customers a pleasant and enjoyable shower experience, the facilities are only ever as clean as the last person has left them (unless you just happen to visit immediately after one of our cleaning visits!). We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just back from 6 nights at Karrageen.

Site - We stayed in the top field which has amazing views over Hope Cove but can get quite windy because of its location overlooking the sea. From the top field, the loos/showers are a bit of a trek but this is the trade off for such a wonderful location. There are more 'traditional' pitches nearer the facilities but no amazing view. I didn't mind at all but my wife found it all a bit of a bind - a five minute walk everytime you needed the loo.

The facilities are good, modern and clean. The little shop store everything you would need and they also provide a take-away menu with lots of home cooked, proper food. The croissants that you can pre-order for breakfast were fabulous.

The owner, Phil, comes round every morning offering a cheery 'hello' and has lots of useful advice about the locality.

Would I go again? definitely... a fantastic place.

Room Tip: Consider what you want before you book: A great view everyday with lots of space OR be close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited Karrageen for my birthday this year, the pitch was plenty big enough for our large tent and my sons small tent, they are very dog friendly and it was a lovely peaceful location a mile away from hope cove. Toilet and shower blocks nice and clean and whilst it's a pain for some to pay 20p for a shower I completely understand as the water is from a natural spring and this saves wastage. Some of our group sampled the in house food which you order and then eat in your tent which is brilliant if you get back from a day out and don't want to cook, you can also order fresh bread and croissants for the next days. Brilliant site will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Top field has lovely views but is further from toilet block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the inclement weather this summer and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We made the trip to Karrageen for a short break with friends. The reception on arrival was pleasant, the young girl who served us was very nice. I asked for an electric hook up when I booked as two couples had campers and one couple had a tent, not sure why but on arrival I asked if the pitch had electric and was just told no by the farther. We were shown to our pitch which had great views of Hope cove. The camp site was ok, nothing special and the field was muddy, got stuck on our way out which was a bit of a pain. The toilets are nice but you have to pay for your shower, 40p a go. My biggest bug bear was being told off by a very up front and rude farther. We were all as a group sat in our awning and playing a game, yes we had a few drinks but were not drunk and in our opinion were not loud at all. I think he was on his rounds and just walked right in and told us to 'shut up' in a very overaggressive manner which was a shock to us all, it was 9.45pm on a Saturday night??????? Now we camp all over the country and have very good camp site etiquette and have never been spoken to like that before. We tried to explain we were just playing a game (Balderdash) but he did not want to know and as soon as anyone opened there mouth he just went 'ssshhh' which was very rude and annoying. Overall the camp site was expensive, you have to pay extra for showers, awning and dogs actually everything, but with nice views. I you are a small group and want to stay up after 9.45 in the evening then avoid this camp site. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Your comments are noted and in fairness to other campers using Trip Advisor we feel that a response and explanation are necessary.

The most important part of running a camp site is ensuring that all guests enjoy their stay and feel welcome and comfortable.An important factor in this equation is the noise levels tolerated at night. After owning Karrageen for 25 years, we feel that a site rule of 'noise to be kept to a minimum after 10.00pm' is a fair rule to all denominations and ages allowing children peace to sleep and adults enough time to enjoy their evening barbeques and soirees before (or just after, depending on the time of the season) nightfall.This site rule is published in our booking conditions and signed by everyone booking either on paper or through the internet.

We do monitor our site after 10.00pm (not before) and very occasionally must politely ask people to keep their noise levels down as they are disturbing others.Most of our guests, when asked to do so, are immediately apologetic and comply without question, they simply forgot the time and would never wish to disturb their neighbours deliberately.

Unfortunately with yourselves, you were asked to quieten down on several occasions both by myself at 10.00pm and 11.00pm and by other campers at 10.45pm and later and you chose to be very rude and aggressive. You were asked to leave the next morning when you were fit to drive much to the relief of many other campers here at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This campsite is the best situated for seeing the Kingsbridge Estuary area. A wonderful base to explore the coast path, the countryside and local towns and villages. The stand-out features of the site besides location are the shower and kitchen/laundry facilities (amazingly clean), the friendliness of the staff and the privacy of the pitches. Stayed in the bottom valley which was surrounded by trees on both sides with only one neighbour at the other end of the valley. Whilst there wasn't a sea view here, it was so private and quiet. Short walk to Hope Cove and a lovely atmosphere. Owner walks around every day to check everything is alright, in a very inobtrusive way. If you are going to South Devon and want to camp, stay here!

Room Tip: Choose the lower valley for privacy, upper field for community and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Many thanks indeed. Hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanpean
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Karageen for a week in June and had the worst weather ever (gales and torrential rain!) - but still absolutely loved this site and will be back again and again! We felt the site was layed out really well so it had a feeling of being a small site but actually had quite a lot of pitches. All the pitches were level and the facilities were great. The owners are absolutely lovely and I had many laughs with Phil who wanders around the site on a daily basis checking everyone is ok which was a really nice touch, especially considering the weather and the number of tents that broke or blew down! All in all we loved this site and cannot wait to visit again! Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Many thanks Karen. Look forward to resuming our banter on your next visit (hopefully during better weather!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Nice campsite with spacious pitches, the site does slope but we had a flat pitch whihc was fairly private along the top. Very helpful and welcoming owners. Downside for us the windy narrow lanes with our small caravan. New shower block with coin operated showers @20p. A bit of a apin especially if there was no hot water, rumours were either tank ran out or thermostat problems. The other problem is the electrics kept cutting out during the evening at least 3 or 4 times each day. I don't think we will be returning for the reasons stated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Sorry that you experienced a cold shower one morning. We did indeed have a problem with a thermostat which we were able to resolve immediately. We were at that time still getting used to our new solar heating system and are pleased to inform you that it has worked wonderfully during the summer busy period.
Sometimes we do have problems with our electric hook-ups when customers try to use domestic appliances such as 3kw kettles and heaters, and they overload the circuit. This has not happened at all during the summer whilst we have had a full camp.
We thank you for your comments nevertheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Bolberry, Malborough, Kingsbridge TQ7 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park Kingsbridge, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.