We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic Inn with charm in abundance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Tower Inn to your Saves list
The Tower Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Church Rd, Kingsbridge TQ7 2PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic Inn with charm in abundance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Tower Inn. Our room was very comfortable (and cool, thankfully, as the weather was swelteringly hot), with fresh towels and toiletries replenished each day. The Inn is set within the charming village of Slapton and being only one of two watering holes serving the village, this establishment definitely has the edge on other places within the local area. The landlords and landlady are extremely friendly and happy to help (sharing in their knowledge of off the beaten track beaches!), with an attentive yet relaxed approach. We found Tom (front of house manager) extremely professional and the food is of the highest quality, rather understated, in terms of ingredients and presentation - the lobster ravioli was outstanding! I ate at The Tower Inn 4 years ago so was pleased to learn that it's food is still excellent. We ate breakfast by candlelight, a new experience for us both. Treds (one of the landlords) is happy to accommodate any dietary requirements and his poached eggs are particularly good. There are some wonderful oil on canvas paintings in the rooms, which i think may have been painted by him... I'd thoroughly recommend The Tower Inn. It's probably worth booking a table for dinner as I imagine it's popular amongst holidaymakers and locals, alike.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for one night and didn't eat in the pub in the evening as we re going out. Excellent service, friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble. A good room with facilities you'd expect - nothing fancy but more than adequate. A hearty breakfast set us in our way. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms - all the same so makes no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were staying in Slapton and thought we'd found the perfect little pub tucked out of the way and off the beaten track.

Whilst the beer and location were great, the male staff weren't. We found them rude and unfriendly; which got progressively worse the closer it got to closing time.... maybe they're bucking all market trends and don't have to worry about attracting customers....

I was here through recommendation, but I'll never return and my recommendation is to give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Haivng been here before, i thought i would have a local event and take along some friends to enjoy the pub. Lovely setting, good beers, good food, but when we were ordering drinks before the last orders bell went the young barman said no, but continued to server locals. I felt that the person was arrogant with no disregard to customer service or courtesy.

Returning the following night, a drink was bought which was very bad tasting, and smelt off - the two bar staff arrogantly said there was nothing wrong. They later gave in, but thought the customer was always right, and again felt mistreated considering we were bringing in substantial revenue for our visits.

The conclusion:

- Pubs are struggling to stay afloat, this one must be doing very well so don't care about customer service.
- Dont expect a warm welcome if there is more than 2 of you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over the Easter weekend and had only booked a table for the first night with the intention of going out on the second night. However, the food and service was so perfect that we booked again for the second night. We were not disappointed. Very high quality and imaginative pub food above and beyond the usual. Great choice of real ales and wine list. The bed and breakfast rooms are very comfortable, clean and peaceful and well worth booking for the breakfast alone which was absolutely fabulous on both days and again, high quality produce. Being an experienced traveller, I can honestly say that The Tower has got everything you could ask for and does it all spectacularly well. A large part of this is down to the friendly staff who are constantly buzzing around the place to make sure that their customers are happy. Already planning a return visit. Well done The Tower!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tower Inn for a couple of nights in November this year. We wanted a weekend's walking in beautiful South Devon, but unfortunately chose a foul weekend of weather, with virtually wall-to-wall rain and wind. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and were shown to our room, which is one of three upstairs to the side of the inn. The rooms are reasonably comfortable, but are more of B&B standard than hotel. Our bathroom was a bit shabby and the shower was a mere dribble. That didn't really bother us though, as all other aspects of our stay were good. We ate in the inn both evenings and were given a lovely table by the fire. The Tower Inn is a proper old fashioned pub. You could imagine a huge hairy lurcher laying sprawled inside the door on the stone floor, though there wasn't one in reality! Lots of great draught real ales and ciders, and well cooked and imaginatively presented meals at reasonable prices. It is not, like so many pubs these days, more a restaurant than a drinking den, but a bit of both. Staff are friendly and helpful. It really didn't matter that our day walking left us cold and wet through......by the time we got back to the inn we were able to warm up and prepare for our next evening in comfort. A word of caution on the turning into the inn courtyard. It is conceled, very narrow and anyone with a car wider than average will have to go very slowly. I suffered a minor scrape on the first entrance, but it became a little easier thereafter. The inn is a 10 minute walk down to the beach at Slapton, and access to the glorious coastal footpath.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Cosy, clean with friendly staff. Food was amazing but worth noting dinner is not available on Sundays. Was the best place we stayed in our tour of Devon and Cornwall. Slapton Village itself is very small with only one other pub. Slapton Sands beach is very nice with no commercial business, just the sand and the sea and if your lucky an ice cream van. A bit of a walk on the beach will take you to Torcross which has a village shop, pub and fish and chips restaurant.

Tanya & Andy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Inn

Address: Church Rd, Kingsbridge TQ7 2PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel Kingsbridge
The Tower Inn Kingsbridge, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.