We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johns Delicatessen Instow

Johns Delicatessen Instow
4-5 Marine Parade | Instow, Instow, Bideford EX39 4HY, England (Formerly Johns Delicatessen)
+44 1271 860310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Instow
Cuisines: Winery, Sandwiches, Bakeries, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Somerset
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Turning up on a winters afternoon we were not sure we would find a cup of tea and strolling in to look found not only a whole range of drinks but the most wonderful food from olives, pesto and and amazing deli to fresh, hot pasties and the like.
It was one of the best pasties I have had stuffed full of real meat and veg. The coffee was excellent for take away too. A paper type tray was provided for us to carry it to the beach safely.
The service was friendly and efficient.
A wide range of general foods you might need for self catering was stocked too and everything clean and fresh. Such a treat and not what you usually find in such a small coastal village.
So glad it's not near me or I would be in there every day but looking at their website I see they have even more in their shop and cafe at Appledore so that will be my first stop next time I'm there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

if u cant find it at johns u dont need it! what a treasure trove. every one is so helpful and the meat veg and fruit are of the highest quality

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Lovely place to shop and even better now they are employing several young men and women who are always polite helpful and smiling makes a diffrence to the grumpy woman on the post office counter whos been there several years!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best little shop in N devon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything you could think of and more. It's a post office a Deli a general stores and the hub of the village.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Everything you need -good prices-nice staff- local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying next door to this Deli. We thought when we first arrived that we would be getting basics from here and then doing a big shop at Sainsburys, no need, Johns Deli has everything you need at reasonable supermarket prices. We had fresh pasties from there today served to us by a lovely guy who cares about what he is doing. Then served at the checkout with a smile as well. People that have commented on here that items are expensive I disagree. Visiting daily and will continue to do so. A truly lovely shop that locals and tourists should support!!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johns Delicatessen Instow also viewed

 
Instow, Bideford
Instow, Bideford
 

Been to Johns Delicatessen Instow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johns Delicatessen Instow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.