We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel to your Saves list
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kingsbridge, Goveton TQ7 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goveton B&B and Inns
Gilberdyke
1 review
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband treat me to a 4 day stay for my 60th birthday,was pleasantly surprised by the size of our room, staff were very helpfull and our breakfast was adequate for us,the drive down the very narrow lanes to get to the hotel was a bit scary on the night time, we would definately stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    75
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
239
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a two night stay at the end of September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The bedroom suite was huge and well appointed. We ate in the dining room both nights and really enjoyed our meals,they were delicious. The cooked breakfasts were excellent and the staff in the restaurant were friendly and attentive. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Although the location is remote we had the car and the nearby resorts were within easy reach. Our compliments to the chef and all the other staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Me and my fiance stayed at Buckland for 1 night in September and we had a lovely time. As well as being close to lots of great places to visit, it also feels like your in the middle of no where. You really feel like you can get away from it all and rejuvenate. The bedroom was a classic and was very well appointed. The staff were all friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. The food for the evening meal was very high standard. We had no issues with our stay whatsoever. The Hotel is down a windy road but its not that bad. There are pull ins if you meet a car coming the other way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A little bit in " the middle of nowhere" ( so take a car ) but surrounded by wonderful, quiet countryside, not far from great places in Devon is this elegant but also very casual Hotel.
The stuff is very friendly and helpful, the kitchen frantastic. Together with lovely, very clean rooms makes this B&B your stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: If possible don´t take the room "Peony", its above the kitchen so you could be disturbed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The surround is amazing and the building is beautiful and elegant inside.
The wonderful amuse bouche of wild mushroom soup with truffle oil served in a delicate little tea cup and saucer was to die for! The duck confit starter with cooked plum melted in the mouth. The seafood assiette of cod, sea bass and plaice was simply devine. Other members of the family shared the same sentiments. We then retired into the main lounge for coffee and petite fours which were scrummy and a perfect end to a fabulous evening of fine dining. The staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive. Having in the past been to some of the most amazing fine dining restaurants like Crabwell Manor, Craxton Wood Hotel and Frogg Manor this has to rate alongside these! The food is even better than Michael Caine's Abode in Manchester. Service is A1 and food worthy of a Michelin star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited this delightful hotel in September. This is a previously owned private house now operated as a hotel by an independant operator with a string of small hotels. We visited to have the afternoon tea.

The welcome was warm, friendly and very attentive. The hotel is in lovely surroundings and the public rooms and garden terrace were havens of quiet rest.

The afternoon tea however could have been improved - the madeira cake was not fresh, the sandwiches had been sitting in a very cold fridge before service, and the crisps served with the sandwiches were soft and stale. In all the afternoon tea at £14.95 was not upto scratch. If they could only get the small details right then it would have been worth four stars.

If you are in the area it is certainly worth a visit - this might have been an off day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have enjoyed a lovely short break at this hotel and got a good deal by phoning the hotel direct.Our room(Petunia) was extra large and very well equipped.Staff were all very friendly and helpful-prehaps a little more training for the young bar and restaurant staff and then everything would be excellent.Within easy reach are some beautiful places to visit if you don't mind the difficult,hair- raising approach and exit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel

Address: Kingsbridge, Goveton TQ7 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Goveton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goveton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Devon's South Hams, Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel is a beautiful 16th century manor house set in 4.5 acres of gardens. A secluded location for a relaxing getaway, guests will experience traditional yet stylish accommodation with a touch of classical elegance. Seasonal, local cuisine can be enjoyed in either the award winning Queen Anne restaurant, or al fresco on our gorgeous south facing terrace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckland Tout Saints Goveton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.