We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Combe House Devon

Save Saved
You added Combe House Devon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Combe House Devon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HONITON, Gittisham EX14 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gittisham
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have eaten consistantly well at this idyllic country house hotel for years. Recently we got married here, it was quite a perfect weekend, as we had taken over the whole hotel (sorry if you wanted to stay!) The organisation was beyond reproach and food excellent. The management even coped with an unexpected guest, produced food and a place at table without a murmer! The rooms were superb and the staff could not be friendlier and knew when to remove themselves.
This hotel has nailed it for us, thank you.

Room Tip: The linen room is a dream with a HUGE copper tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    22
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
163
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

we went there for a trip to River Cottage which is about 30 minutes away with a group of friends. We stayed in the newly converted Thatched House and had an amazing time. It was perfect for sitting around in chatting and catching up with all friends over tea and wine in the kitchen or sitting room. The décor and furnishings have been beautifully done and it felt like our own little house party. The main hotel is a stunning and the view of the hotel as you turn the corner on the drive is breathtaking. The staff can't do enough for you, helpful and attentive without being over the top and the food was delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel and hope to return soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went for our wedding anniversary and from first contact making the booking, could not have been more impressed. We arrived and bags were whisked away to our room which was huge, with lovely newly refurbished bathroom and a huge, very comfortable bed. It is an Elizabethan manor house so some things are a little uneven and not all corners are right angles! It was nice to have working shutters, but we would have liked curtains too. We went down to have tea and were slightly over faced by the quantity of cakes, while disappointed by the small number of absolutely delicious sandwiches. The staff could not have been more attentive, providing everything we needed to feed our baby (warming food, highchair etc). Dinner was spectacular - I had beef shin raviolo followed by lamb fillet on our first night and pork cheek followed by venison on our second. Wine was delicious and very good value. Service unobtrusive and on the ball. We went to bed immediately after dinner both nights and slept very well. Breakfast was served in the same dining room and again first class, ranging from kippers to full breakfast with all the usual continental muck if wanted. Set in beautiful grounds, it really does almost feel like staying with friends. My only cavil is that the price is quite steep, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are the best, but you pay a premium rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I love this hotel, having been to the Carlton in Cannes, stayed at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni on lake Como this tops them all. The personal attention, the wonderful location, the absolutely delicious food and the gorgeous rooms all mean I would like everywhere I stay to be like this hotel. The staff are particularly good, generally but not exclusively young, without exception a pleasure to see, they are so enthusiastic about the hotel and the restaurant and have a good in depth knowledge of what the hotel offers. It is a thoroughly happy place to be. The rooms are all delightful, I've stayed in 5 of them and find it hard to choose between them, all individual characters and beautifully appointed. I adore this hotel and all that it offers including the lovely walks to build up an appetite.

Room Tip: Be specific about whether you need a bath or shower or both and what size bed you would like but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Quintessentially English, this stunning hotel is everything it promises to be and more.
We went for three nights with our new baby and had a magical stay. The memories of relaxing by a warm log fire in the spectacular Great Hall will stay with us forever.
We received an upgrade to one of the best rooms in the hotel and had stunning views over the gardens.
The staff are exceptionally helpful and welcomed our baby with open arms. The food was delicious, especially the breakfasts. We gobbled up our porridge with cream and maple syrup before ordering eggs florentine.
Every detail of this hotel is enchanting, from the drive up past the horses to the hens in the gardens who provide eggs for breakfast.
The location was great too and we won't to the River Cottage Canteen for lunch one day.
However the hotel is so charming, you don't need to leave. There is no gym or spa but you really don't miss it.
It's the perfect place for an indulgent mini break or romanic getaway. I can't praise it enough and really hope to return soon, even for one if the Sunday lunches or afternoon tea.

Thank you so much - we will never forget our stay here

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a splendid lunch here last week.

The greeting was especially warm at the door, with the offer of taking our photos (we had previously told them we were all celebrating our 40th wedding anniversaries). In fact all the staff seemed to congratulate us, & there was even "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the petit fours plate with our coffee.

The staff were excellent, that special combination of friendliness, efficiency, attention to detail, being there when needed but not obtrusive. They actually talked to us with interest.

The food - well, its special ! No fault found at all, each flavour precise & distinguishable & so well presented.

The ambience is first class, with comfortable chairs & sofas, & at this time of the year open log fires.

A truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Jane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We attended a wedding this weekend at Combe. The staff were great and nothing was to much effort. The food was amazing and seemed to go down very well with the guests. The rooms I went into all had their own character which is great in an old house that they have kept the house feeling as it should. Would definitely recommend a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Combe House Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Devon

Address: HONITON, Gittisham EX14 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Gittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Combe House Devon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award For Excellence - Conde Nast Johansens 2014. In Top Best Foodie Hotels in SW England - voted by readers of Food magazine. Combe House Devon is a stunning 450-year old Elizabethan Manor, set in 3,500 acres of one of Devon's finest estates. It's informal, relaxing and hugely romantic, and wherever you wander (and there's quite a bit of it) something magnificent catches the eye. Devon foodies will undoubtedly have heard of Combe House. The acclaimed restaurant is highly praised as one of the best in the south west, and service is genuinely faultless. There is loads of local game and fresh fish and most of the vegetable and herbs come from the restored Victorian kitchen gardens. The support for local producers and seasonal dishes here is obsessive - and with good reason. The restaurants are popular and The Good Food Guide 2014 describes Combe House as a 'seductive hotel with seriously good dining'. Hadleigh Barrett and Stuart Brown, Master Chefs of Great Britain, are responsible for a changing menu packed with interesting meat and fish options, from scallops with creamy tarragon gnocchi to seared duck breast with braised red cabbage. The cellar is what you'd expect from a grand old country house - but all wines are chosen less to impress than serve the season, mood or nature of their dishes. Eat in one of two spacious dining rooms with traditional fire places. Admire the murals, relish the atmosphere, enjoy the flavours from mercifully well-spaced tables. You'll always receive a warm welcome - it's best to book ahead for lunch and dinner. Genuine hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Combe House Devon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Devon Hotel Gittisham
Combe Hotel Exeter
Combe Hotel Devon
Combe House Devon Gittisham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe House Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.