We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It may be cold outside but Combe House always has a warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Combe House Devon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Combe House Devon to your Saves list
Combe House Devon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HONITON, Gittisham EX14 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gittisham
Nottingham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It may be cold outside but Combe House always has a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A return visit to Combe House, and the warmest of welcomes on a cold March afternoon. For most hotels, when you return, al the staff have changed but not at Combe House – there may be some new smiling faces but many of them are familiar faces and they all provide hospitality to the highest of standards.
Our William Pitt room was a delight and charming with a huge/ long free standing roll top bath to relax in. Everything fits in with the country house feel – if you must have a kettle etc they will provide it – but why bother when staff are happy to bring you a tray of tea or better still drink it in one of the lounges by a warming log fire.
What a lovely idea to provide hot water bottles as part of the turn down service.
Dining at the hotel is a complete experience not too be missed – from the moment the canopies arrive through being guided through the range of items on the menu and the advice on which wine to accompany each course. The wine list is a wonderful resource of information but if stuck Ken or one of the team will guide you through it.
The food itself was a delight with the variety of different tastes within each course utilising local produce – and local often means from the garden outside. The presentation of the dishes maks them a picture on the plate. The dining room has its own charm and the serving staff are always friendly and charming and keen to ensure that the whole meal experience is enjoyable – they are attentive but not overbearing.
You must take a walk around the hotel’s gardens – hopefully you will meet one of the gardeners who will explain how the gardens (and the follies & chickens) have been restored and developed over the years.
Breakfast hits the spot – an ideal mix of help yourself buffet and freshly cooked dishes served to you. The glorious Devon views from your breakfast table will make you appreciate the countryside even more.
Ken & Ruth Hunt , the on-site owners, have been there nearly 15 years and their vision has become reality – but they have not rested on their laurels and continue to develop the hotel in an appropriate way. The hotel is wonderful, the staff team are amazing, the gardens are charming can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    25
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
184
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed at Combe House twice for very special occasions and have found it to be a veritable retreat - not in a monastic sense, as the location, ambience and warm service do nothing other than to spoil us magnificently. It is difficult to add to the praise already heaped upon this establishment as Combe House is a relaxed, informal hotel but with high standards.

Reflecting on both of our stays we feel that nothing is exceptional about Combe House - simply because everything is to such a high standard! Given continuing good fortune I'm sure that we will be finding many excuses for further return visits to Combe House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our 2nd visit and we were not disappointed! Our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel "ARCHIE" was made very welcome and thoroughly spoilt by the lovely staff! We ate in the lounge, with Archie sat by the wonderful log fire and enjoyed excellent steak and chips washed down with a glass of superb wine! Can't wait to return in the summer months to enjoy the beautiful gardens!

Room Tip: Classic rooms are fine and good value. We had McAnn which although small was very pretty and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramley, Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arrived at hotel to find we had been put in a room on our own as the lounge was full, although I had booked at least two months in advance. Although we had a pleasant table in the window, we did feel somewhat isolated. Another table was set for tea but on arrival those guests asked to be moved to the lounge and a table was found for them. Once it arrived the food was somewhat disappointing. We have had tea in many establishments and this was by far the worst.

Lovely building and good service, let down by the kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex. uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our fourth visit in as many years and each time we have enjoyed the beauty of the Linen Suite.

Our arrival was met by a host of staff wishing to help us carry out bags from the car into the hotel. A quick check-in and we were off to the familiar surroundings and pleasure of the large comfy bed and huge copper bath. Waiting for us was the hospitatlity tray (you have to ask for this as it is not provided as a matter of course - some prefer to take tea/coffee in the Great Hall whereas we like to enjoy the whole suite that we booked to stay in).

Whether it is your first or many subsequent visits to Combe you always feel at home; whilst there is an air of grace about the place it is never stuffy (I love the phrase: "dress code for dinner: If you're happy so are we"). It was equally nice to see so many familiar faces on the staff, this is always reassuring to know that staff are obviously happy to work here - a great tribute to the proprietors Ken & Ruth.

We had a three night stay with evening meals and enjoyed the culinary expertise of Hadleigh, Stuart and the gang in the kitchen (they never disapoint when it comes to taste and variety).

Combe House for us has become the first place we look to stay at when it comes to some self indulgence and escapism. Try it for yourself - you're bound to agree!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked for a one-night stay to celebrate my wife's birthday last December band wish we could have stayed for New Year's Eve. Sadly for us it was, of course, fully booked for that night.
The welcome, friendly service, public rooms, food and bedroom were absolutely perfect. Unknown to us, we were given an upgrade to a suite in recognition of the occasion (Don't expect this every time - it just happened that a suite was available!)
Combe House, set in beautiful grounds, is not cheap - but it's worth every penny, especially for a celebration.
We hope to return soon, and not just for a special event.

Room Tip: We had the privilege of staying in the large, luxurious Linen Room suite but we are certain other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colyton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had lunch for 40 at Combe House to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday and nothing was too much trouble. Planning the event and attention to detail was superb. All the staff were helpful, friendly and charming and made all our guests feel very welcome. The food, of course, was delicious.

Thank you to everyone involved for a great day to celebrate a grand birthday. It couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Combe House Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Devon

Address: HONITON, Gittisham EX14 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Gittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Combe House Devon 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award For Excellence - Conde Nast Johansens 2014. In Top Best Foodie Hotels in SW England - voted by readers of Food magazine. Combe House Devon is a stunning 450-year old Elizabethan Manor, set in 3,500 acres of one of Devon's finest estates. It's informal, relaxing and hugely romantic, and wherever you wander (and there's quite a bit of it) something magnificent catches the eye. Devon foodies will undoubtedly have heard of Combe House. The acclaimed restaurant is highly praised as one of the best in the south west, and service is genuinely faultless. There is loads of local game and fresh fish and most of the vegetable and herbs come from the restored Victorian kitchen gardens. The support for local producers and seasonal dishes here is obsessive - and with good reason. The restaurants are popular and The Good Food Guide 2014 describes Combe House as a 'seductive hotel with seriously good dining'. Hadleigh Barrett and Stuart Brown, Master Chefs of Great Britain, are responsible for a changing menu packed with interesting meat and fish options, from scallops with creamy tarragon gnocchi to seared duck breast with braised red cabbage. The cellar is what you'd expect from a grand old country house - but all wines are chosen less to impress than serve the season, mood or nature of their dishes. Eat in one of two spacious dining rooms with traditional fire places. Admire the murals, relish the atmosphere, enjoy the flavours from mercifully well-spaced tables. You'll always receive a warm welcome - it's best to book ahead for lunch and dinner. Genuine hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your Combe House Devon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Devon Hotel Gittisham
Combe Hotel Exeter
Combe Hotel Devon
Combe House Devon Gittisham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe House Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.