We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very competent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sholton Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sholton Guest House
Save
You added Sholton Guest House to your Saves list
29 Morton Rd, Exmouth EX8 1BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Offenbach - Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and very competent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

It's not a Hilton, of cause. But if you want to stay in a Hilton go there and pay for it.
I cannot confirm to some of the bad command I read here. The rooms where clean, the breakfast okay, and it has more than 3 channels TV. Anyway, good for the price.
Very good are the hints you get here from the staff, where to go and what to do for Restaurants, leisure and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Been searching for something good to stay.... Could only come up with leaving in the morning!
Very shabby room, couldn't find a towel (we would call it a rag in my house), towel literally hidden behind an excuse for a wardrobe, to save them washing expenses. Breakfast was "served" on a side plate ! The sausage was the real cheapo variety 20 for £1 type ! Made to feel VERY unwelcome.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

With 5 days having passed since my stay at this dump, I have recovered sufficiently to make the following comments:

THE ROOMS: They have not seen a paint brush for at least 15 years. Carpet and pictures must have come out of a skip. DIY SOS will have to pay you a visit. One key between three is a joke (when asked for another, landlady moaned how much they cost).

BREAKFAST: In fairness average, until you ask for more! Felt like Oliver Twist. You do not serve breakfast wearing boots and shorts. The time slot is 8.30 - 9.00 AND THEY MEAN IT - 9.01 and it's off to McDonalds.

THE HOSTS: Unfriendly, grumpy, suspicious, scruffy, parsamonious. He must have been doing cartwheels when I missed breakfast one morning.

Must be on the next B&Bs From Hell - what charm school did they go to?

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Not if I still want to remain on their Christmas card list.

FINAL NOTE: It's a shame the Luftwaffe missed it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Good location near the seafront, cheap room rates. Thats the positives out of the way then!

Dated decor, very basic room although to be fair there are tea/coffee facilities and a TV. Shower smelt damp and the general standard of cleanliness was average at best. Old linen, thin towels and generally shabby.

Breakfast okay although the service is eccentric to say the least (more on this to follow)

The star of the show is the owner who appears to be trying to emulate Basil Fawlty, abrupt and scruffy, reluctant to allow extra keys for the rooms without a prolonged hand wringing and grumbling performance about how much keys are to cut etc, at breakfast goes through another bizarre ritual over who can sit where and when eventually all are seated to his satisfaction then grumbles when asked for additional milk/toast etc.

The man obviously thinks that all guests are going to try and make off without paying as on the day of departure he lingered in the corridors pestering me every time I showed my face about payment, even pursuing me as I moved bags to the car.

The man clearly cannot grasp that he is providing a service and seems to feel that he is doing you a huge favour by allowing you to stay in the hotel.

Don't be tempted, pay a bit more and go to another guest house.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Want a quiet place to stay near the beautiful west coast of England? I would like to suggest Sholton Guest House. Close to the beach and to the center of Exmouth, on a quiet street; it's perfect. The owners welcome you - yet leave you alone to enjoy your time. Great breakfast with a beautiful view of their private garden - which was stunning in July.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

My partner and I have been visiting this guest house, regularly for nearly 8 years. The staff are always extremely friendly and helpful, always recommending different places to visit. And the rooms are always spotless!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

I've been in the business of evaluating Hospitality Industry locations for over 20 years and this one rates a definite "F". Not much to say that can be positive. The previous review for this site (only one) hits the nail on the head. These folks claim to have been in the business (B&B) for better than 10 years. Apparently nothing rubbed off on them. Terrible excuse for room, and breakfast and a genuine failure to have made us feel welcomed. There are much better places in Exmouth...there has to be! Oh, yes, the parking is non-existent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sholton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sholton Guest House

Address: 29 Morton Rd, Exmouth EX8 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sholton Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sholton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.