We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have been to in Devon!! Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Moorings Guest House

New Moorings Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Moorings Guest House
Save
You added New Moorings Guest House to your Saves list
1 Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Exmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B we have been to in Devon!! Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My partner and I thought that staying in a B&B wouldn't be as nice as a hotel but with the price the New moorings offered we thought we would give it ago for a little weekend break to the coast.
From the moment we arrived Michelle and dave made us feel at home and the room was lovely. We enjoyed walks to the sea and the Kite festival was on which was a different but still lovely. We enjoyed a lovely Chinese at the bamboo which Michelle and dave suggested to us. They told us lots of different places for us to visit while we were on our mini break. Was a very romantic location with parks and the sea a stone throw away. There is also lots for children to do, every shop you could want from Tesco's to New look then lots of fish,mexican and Indian resturants. We throughly enjoyed our stay and have recommended it to all of our friends. I will definatly have to book in advance from now on as i can only imagine they will be fully booked. breakfast we had a huge choice and they were very willing to help with my fussy eating. My artner and i will definatly be back for weekends. Thanks you michelle and Dave for the lovely de-stress weekend.

Room Tip: second floor room was lovely ,Big bed.Bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
48
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Myself and other half stayed here for a weekend, we had the warmest welcome ever, what a fantastic, lovely couple! They have taken over 18months ago and i have NEVER STAYED IN SUCH A CLEAN, FRIENDLY guest house before. they made our stay so good we cant wait to go back! Food was excellent and the choice so varied. We could come and go as we liked and nothing was too much trouble.. Hospitality was five star hotel. ... If you are going to Exmouth dont miss the chance to stay here, you would be mad to look elsewhere.. I had to drag my other half away from the breakfast table as he could of stayed there all day! A big thankyou to Michelle and Dave and good luck for the future.... we will be back!

Room Tip: Just ask them they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Booked in with New Moorings on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews and was really glad we did so. Both Dave and Michelle are very friendly and personable without being intrusive. Our welcome (by Dave) was warm and inviting making us instantly feel at home. Likewise, when we met Michelle at breakfast the next morning. A lovely couple who clearly feel passionately about their business and offering all their guests as perfect a stay as is humanely possible.

The room was a good size, modern, fresh, clean, giving a feeling of more space than there actually was. Plenty of room and hangers to store all our clothes and bits and bobs. With a key to all the doors we could come and go as we pleased all day and night . The B&B it's self is attractively decorated, with tasteful local art work on the walls.

Breakfast was served between 8.15-9am though they will cook earlier with an advance request for those that need that option. It was one of the best breakfasts I've had in any B&B or hotel. On the help yourself buffet, there was a choice of 8 cereals, fresh milk, a beautifully prepared fresh fruit salad,grapefruit juice and orange juice. In addition items like prunes and porridge can be ordered in advance and there was as much tea, coffee and toast as you could hope for; butters (plus a low fat option); jams; marmalades and even marmite. Breakfast was cooked to order. Guest are invited to fill in a little order slip on the evening on which they can state exactly what they would like in their cooked breakfast. There are also lighter options available (kippers, beans or egg on toast etc)...and Michelle even offered to cook me bacon sandwich when I wasn't quite feeling up to eating my full cooked breakfast on account of over indulging in the local ciders the night before. The breakfast room is really cosy and bright. Can't remember the last breakfast was this relaxed enjoyable!

New Moorings is very close to all the local amenities; less than 5 minutes walk into the town centre; 5 minutes walk to the harbour and sea front and about 10 minutes walk to the swimming baths and leisure facilities. With plenty to do and see in and around Exmouth, New Moorings is the perfect base for any length of stay. We will definitely be back later in the year!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensarn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Arrived in exmouth with nowhere booked (for just one night), we were welcomed into this most pleasant B and B. The room was light and airy, with everything that you could need (if you should need an ironing board, just ask, nothing is any trouble). Breakfast was great, plenty of refills of the teapot. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again.
Thanks from Corinne and Roger

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford+
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Nice, friendly and helpful people. Cooked breakfast just right. Good value for money. Will return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I have recently visited my daughter at Exeter University and stayed at New Moorings. I chose this hotel from the internet because it looked friendly and cosy from the outside and it had great reviews. I was not disappointed my room was modern and cosy and the owners Dave and Michelle could not do enough to make my stay pleasurable - tea on arrival, a good choice at breakfast and plenty of local information in the room. The parking was a short walk away but this would be the same for all the hotels and guest houses in the area. I would certainly recommend New Moorings to both family and friends and would stay here again myself!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

excellent place to stay,dave and michelle very friendly;on arrival they took our suitcases up to our rooms,and then had a tray of coffee brought to our room,The room was very very clean,had everything you needed for your stay.the food was excellent you could choose from a menu the day before so you could have what you wanted each day,also help yourself to other things from the dresser for breakfast,plenty of good cooked food ,tea and coffee plentiful,dave and michelle are excellent hosts cant do enough for you,the beach and town centre is a stones throw away, just booked for next year,give it a try you wont be disapointed.thankyou dave and michelle.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Moorings Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Moorings Guest House

Address: 1 Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelle and Dave welcome you to New Moorings, a friendly guest house situated just a short and level walk to the beach, town centre and railway station. We offer clean and comfortable en-suite rooms and a quality breakfast of your choosing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Moorings Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Moorings Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.