We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Beacon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great hotel .. serviced by local amenities that is fabulous beach walks and restaurants. Staff very friendly with a great view of the sea/ estuary. Parking was limited but we dumped the car first day and used our feet.. walking and cycling around the local area very beautiful to get out from the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear JOhnD75
Exmouth is a lovely town to enjoy a relaxing break. Thank you for taking the time to provide your pleasing review.
Our team pride themselves on their service standards and will be pleased to read a copy of your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Exmouth soon.

John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
78
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I have just spent a five day holiday at this hotel.We chose a sea facing room and this proved to be worth the extra expense.The hotel has much to commend it.The room we had was very good with plenty of space and very comfortable beds.the staff,with one exception,were friendly,cheerful and efficient.The main Dining Room was a rarity- one kept at a comfortable temperature..We thought thought that the food was of a high standard and every effort was made to accommodate my wife's dietary problem (coeliac).Beautifully situated overlooking the scenic Exe estuary,this is a very comfortable well run hotel which we would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Sea facing recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Mr Stoncek
It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback in this format, so many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
All the comments we receive are discussed at our team briefings to ensure we maintain our standards.
We are delighted you both enjoyed your break here and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely

John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Beacon for two nights, mid July '14 in a superior double, room 310.

Welcome at reception was good and staff were informative and very helpful. The room was right at the top of the building but there was a lift, albeit a very 'cosy' one.

The room was clean, and well appointed but due to the warm spell of weather it was a very warm room. The window is quite small and needed propping open to get as much air in as possible, but this wasn't the Hotels fault. Great view of the esplanade and bay and perfect for all amenities. It was only two or three minutes walk to and from the town centre although people with problems walking should check it out thoughorly 1st.. the approaches are quite steep.

We ate out so didn't sample the Italian (Donato's) in the Hotel basement, it looked a little pricey to be honest. The Hotel bar was well stocked and again the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was ok, Parts of the 'Full English' didn't seem freshly cooked but was tasty and there are good choices available. The initial supply of toast and tea wasn't huge but was replenished on request. I would question the value if having to pay £ 10.00 per head for this.(Quoted at time of booking). There was a reasonable array on the buffet of cereals/fruit etc.

All in all a nice play to stay.. would go back :)

Room Tip: Check out accessibility if you have problems walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Ian_Ludwig

Thank you for your informative feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are always delighted to read our guests comments and rest assured I have spoken with our breakfast team regarding your feedback.
Donato's has an attractive 2 for £10 dinner offer that is well worth a try, should you return to Exmouth. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed our well stocked bar too, hopefully you chose a pint of our extremely popular draught Bass.

Yours sincerely

John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Lovely hotel, with wonderful views over Exmouth and the sea. The room was spotless, the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was very enjoyable.
The on-site car parking was very limited, and the roads around seemed quite busy - get there early. Perfect location for a stroll along the sea front.
There is a lift up from the carpark, and also one up to the rooms, so perfect for people with limited mobility. (steep steps up to the front of the hotel,don't be put off by that)
Id love to stay there again, and would definately pay extra to get a room with a sea view.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view room, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Happy Traveller

Many thanks for providing your feedback from your recent stay here. The views from our sea facing rooms are wonderful, especially at this time of year and are always requested when guests are returning to our hotel.
I have passed a copy of your remarks to our team, who are always pleased to read what our guests provide in feedback.

Yours sincerely


John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our trip was booked as part of a large group booking for a long weekend. The hotel itself is a great base, its in a fantastic spot at the top of the hill with the beach a 5 minute walk away.
The room had a fabulous view and cleanliness wise was spotless, the beds were very comfy and i slept well each night. Overall each person within our party was happy. The only slight criticisms was that the decor could be undated in the bathrooms and the carpets could be renewed.
The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast lovely and food in the itlanian downstairs was great.
I would definitely return, we all had a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Hsearle

Thank you for taking time to provide the review of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed a copy of your remarks to the relevant members of our team.
We are able to provide great offers for groups visiting the area and as you state our hotel does have excellent sea views and a great location.

Yours sincerely

John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent 3 nights on a B and B basis at the Royal Beacon Hotel. Had a very large third floor room with a huge bed and the most superb views. Housekeeping to be commended, everywhere we went in the hotel was spotlessly clean, we were able to see the rooms of three relatives which were all of the same high standard. Very comfortable room the decor of which was a little tired and the extractor fan in the windowless bathroom didn't work, Good choice at breakfast, a mix of help yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts etc and waitress service for the cooked breakfast, which was served very efficiently on hot plates. Also ate in their Italian restaurant which was excellent and to be recommended. Hotel very well placed and plenty of free on street parking available if you can't get in the smallish hotel car park. We will definitely be visiting the Royal Beacon again!

Room Tip: Well worth asking for a room with a sea view which is quite superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Jymenise

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for providing us with the feedback outlined in your review.
Our breakfast team are proud of the service and style of food we provide to start the day. Our choice of two restaurants enhances dining for anyone who stays here for a few days.
I have passed a copy of your review to the relevant team members, who are always delighted to read such comments.

Yours sincerely


John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel was booked for us by a third party but I have to say that it was a really lovely place. We had a large room on the third floor with a fabulous view. It was spotlessly clean and had lots of bottles of shower gel etc. The shower was good with plenty of hot water although some of our friends in other rooms had rather ineffectual showers. Breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly. The only, very small downside detail was that the decor was rather dated and tired and the carpets could do with replacing. But overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear NorfolkBroad2
Many thanks for your report and we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay here. The sea views are tremendous from our hotel and are enjoyed by many of our guests.
We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service, I have therefore passed a copy of your remarks onto the hotel team.


John E. Pye
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.