We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Venue for a Wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Beacon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue for a Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July, as it was the venue for a friend's wedding. The hotel was lovely, I had two different rooms as was with the wedding party one night and with my partner the next, and both rooms were brilliant! The second room was small but it had a lovely en-suite wet room and all the facilities were great.

My friend's wedding day was a lovely day, all the staff were brilliant and the day went really well, with a lovely meal for the wedding and an excellent buffet in the evening.

All in all a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we had to offer.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
78
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We returned here to celebrate my 70th birthday with family,old & young.We had a wonderful welcome,almost as though we were old friends ourselves.
Our room was beautifully clean and warm, but the view over the bay was worth the extra it cost even my husband was dumbstruck. We celebrated at the in house restaurant , of which see separate entry.
After an excellent nights sleep in the largest bed it has ever been my pleasure to experience we had the most wonderful breakfast. The bacon was the best ever & the eggs were so fresh we couldn't believe the quality & service.
Overall the staff were friendly,efficient,smart & very helpful: Couldn't fault any of them.
Cannot wait until I can revisit

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview & take the time to enjoy it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Penelope,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special Birthday with us. I am so pleased to read that your family and yourself had an enjoyable time. I was delighted to read your comments about the service we provided as that is something which we pride ourselves on.

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

stayed with friends for new year food was of a very high standard as was the restaurant manager enjoyed are stay in the court yard rooms as my wife is disabled , bit of fun going from one lift to another we will go back again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent New Year here with friends. Had a fabulous time. The food is amazing and exceptional value- restaurant staff are lovely.
Our only issue was that our room was not serviced on the 2nd day ... A little disappointing but we can cope - everyone makes mistakes.
The view from our room was superb ... Even in the rain !
Fabulous way to spend New Year - Exmouth is terrific - fireworks on the beach- lovely !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConvivialManagement, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time time to review our hotel, the feedback we receive from all our guests is very important to us.

I'd also like to thank you for choosing to see in the New Year with us, we hope you had a wonderful time.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the housekeeping. I can assure you this is an isolated incident and has been taken up with the department to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

just got back from a 3 day break over the new year with friends, had a really good time, the hotel had good sized room & bathroom comfortable bed & the full english breakfast was fabulous lots to choose from on breakfast menu.
Had a 5 coarse dinner new years eve really good did't have dinner in the restaurant but i would presume it would on par with our new years food.
Can recommend this hotel good bar service etc.

Room Tip: choose a sea view above 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Upon arriving, I was very surprised by the Hotel itself. A well laid out hotel reception to include its own car park, Warm friendly staff. Even an Italian restaurant within the hotel. The room was warm and cosy, everything you could ask for. The bar near reception was well laid out and inviting. The barman friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We Fancied a night away by the Sea within easy walking to pubs/clubs/shops, but far enough so as to get away and recover in peace. This Hotel has it all.Excellent comfy easy going Bar and good Breakfast to Help one recover and start the day off well..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.