We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like home,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Beacon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
DERBY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“just like home,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

my wife said she could live in this hotel,so professional,but such a personal service,special thanks to norma and anne in reception,indeed all the hotel workers made our stay so relaxing,john+lesley powell ,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
78
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

From start to finish very, very good indeed. Family run with pride and service excellent.Staff happy, friendly and wanting to please. Sea view room big and with stunning views. Room could do with a refurbish perhaps - loads of potential. Bathroom fine but sadly shower lacked power which, combined with limited parking stopped me from giving excellent over all. Breakfast very good indeed and again charming service. Italian restaurant we very much liked.Standard of hotel bar was very good and comfortable. Gardens an added bonus- a few more tables scattered around would be beneficial.
Spare weekend and we shall be back.
A real find . Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We booked via an agency and got a really good rate, when we arrived we were upgraded and got a room with fantastic views.

Would certainly stay here again if ever we're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We have just returned from a two night champagne break which was primarily to attend a Rugby match in Exeter. The staff were extremely professional and went out of their way to ensure that all our needs were catered for., even suggesting that we use the local train to Exeter for our match. - this would never have crossed our minds. They also printed off the British Rail timetable for us. We will indeed return at some stage as we cannot fault either the location, the hotel in general, or the staff. Both restaurants were excellant. Roll on the next "champagne break" - such good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

The location is brilliant with a fine view of the sea.
The sea facing room was very pleasant and comfortable, but the shower was little more than a dribble.
The cooked breakfast were good, but it would have been nice to have a selection of fruit or pastries.
The restaurants (Fennel, Donato) were reasonable value with varied menus and good food but disappointingly didn't offer decaffeinated coffee.
The on-site parking is very limited, but we had no problem finding parking in the vicinity - however this may be more difficult in season.
This was a 2-night deal with dinner, b&b, and complimentary champers and chox on arrival, which we considered to be reasonable value. The staff were very helpful and it was a pleasant stay, subject to these minor criticisms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

One night stopover and got the last room available.We were expecting a cupboard, but scored a huge room with amazing water views.The bathroom was well appointed with a large bath and nice thick towels.We had dinner downstairs in the restaurant which was delicious and efficient despite most of Exmouth having their Xmas parties there that night.Breakfast was OK with cereals toast and hot English breakfast if desired. Although the street is very slightly out of town it has the most amazing and elevated view,and down the road are the houses of famous historical figures (poor Mrs Byron and her daughter to name one). A good choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed for two nights for a wedding and the reception was also held there. I've never done that before & it does make for an easy trip to bed!
The hotel was built in 1820 & has been tastefully modernised. I'd describe it as quirky & characterful, with period furnishings & memorablilia. Our room was spotless with a brand new bathroom. The rooms vary - the nicest are to the front & side & have lovely views of the beach, which is an easy walk down the hill. I'd be less keen on the rear facing rooms. Access to these is a bit up & down & my elderly mother in law struggled a bit on the stairs.
The town centre is nearby as is the marina. There is a very small car park at the back which fills quickly. Otherwise you have to take pot luck in the surrounding streets.
There is a lift but its so small its strictly for immediate family only!
There is a restaurant on the ground floor, Fennels, that serves excellent food. There is also an Italian restaurant in the basement that is permanently full - booking is essential.
I couldn't fault the reception - held in a large function room to the rear - the food, wine, service & ambiance were all excellent. There is even a private lounge beneath if the post reception disco gets too much!
All in we loved it & are looking forward to a repeat visit. My only criticism is that the cooked breakfast isn't up to the same standard & could be improved. Don't let that put you off though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX82AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.