We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service was Phenomenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie 16

Brasserie 16
Devoncourt Hotel, 16 Douglas Avenue, Exmouth, England
01395 270222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 111 Restaurants in Exmouth
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Brasserie16 is now a well established venue for Dining and Celebrating all Family Occasions. It is situated at The Devoncourt Hotel and overlooks beautiful gardens and the Devon Coastline to Berry Head. The Restaurant and Bar is run by the Townsend family who have a wealth of experience within the catering and hospitality industry. A Friendly Welcome, Good Food and Good Service are our Priority.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food and service was Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT
Me and my Fiance went on the 15th February for a Valentines 2 Course Meal (our first visit), We had a Carvery and Beef bourguignon, followed by strawberry Meringue......it was out of this world!!! We been to Carverys all over Devon this was certainly the best by far, very high standards with fantastic service from the very friendly and accommodating staff. We can't fault a thing
We was soo impressed by the food and service that we booked our wedding reception there!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    0
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous friendly restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stay annually at The Devoncourt hotel and the restaurant is situation within the hotel. It is top class, with great friendly and helpful service. The staff recognise us and will always do their best to get our preferred bookings in, sometimes with late notice, to ensure we get a good feed!
The food is great, its good quality and always well prepared. The puddings are wonderful too!
The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating to our 2 year old.
They do special offers and nights, such as Sunday carverys, steak nights and curry nights and these are always popular. They are open for breakfast if you are staying at the hotel and want a fry up!
We eat here at least twice a week when we stay at the hotel. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Carver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We liked the lovely food which was well cooked and presented . The staff were friendly and helpful .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Sorry but went here with friends on the strength of the reviews. This just goes to show how dangerous trip advisor is! We reduced the average age of 65+ by a long way! The food was ok but disappointed to see oven chips for the price paid! No atmosphere etc etc need I go on!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam T, Owner at Brasserie 16, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
We are very dissappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at brasserie 16 and that you felt our restaurant lacked atmosphere. I agree that Trip Advisor can be "very dangerous"! I personally would be much happier if customers who have a complaint would mention it at the time, rather than use this medium.

We happily cater for all age groups in our restaurant, and bearing in mind the demographics of the area, you should not be too surprised to see elderly customers in our establishment. With regard to your comments on our chips, I categorically deny that we serve oven chips with our meals.
Regards.
Kevin Townsend,
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant - great food, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have eaten in this restaurant many times when visiting Devon and it has never let me down. The food is excellent with a wide and varied choice and the staff cannot do enough to help you. I recently attended a Golden Wedding celebration and the attention to detail was exceptional. Breakfast was equally as good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 16 also viewed

 
Exmouth, Devon
Exmouth, Devon
 

Been to Brasserie 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.