We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing and wonderful food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chronicle Restaurant

The Chronicle Restaurant
3 Chapel Hill, Exmouth EX8 1NY, England
01395 488015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So relaxing and wonderful food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had wanted to visit for ages but had been so busy. What a lovely surprise, the food was wonderful, fabulous wine, great atmosphere very relaxing as some restaurants feel cold but this was so warm the minute I walked in. I never usually have all three courses but had them all and they were delicious. I live in Bath and the food would give most of them a run for their money. Exmouth is lucky to have it. Our local paper is called The Chronicle so I think they should open one in Bath as well. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    36
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great meal here, and as this restautant is considered the more expensive kind here in town, it still is really cheap compared to london or anywhere else. Great service , friendly faces and great food! Will certainly be coming back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good News”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was an absolute pleasure.

From the home-baked bread through three-courses we couldn't fault the quality of The Chronicle.
The food was very tasty, well presented and imaginative. Service was a perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness.

The proprietors here know what they are doing. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Definitely one to try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Exmouth is fortunate to have The Chronicle and I really do hope local people give it the support it deserves. We have eaten there several times and the excellent standard is maintained consistently. The food is always beautifully cooked and the menu never ceases to be interesting and wonderfully tempting. The key factor, though, is the winning combination of great atmosphere and genuinely lovely people - Kathy and Ricardo - who greet everyone as friends. We'll be back again very soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Still Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Returned to this lovely little restaurant after a 3 month break - it doesn't do to have too much of a good thing- and had a fantastic evening.
Food was delicious with a good range of choices and an excellent Christmas menu on offer too.
Lovely and warm inside and a great welcome from the staff and owners. No problems about 2 of our party being 30 minutes late either. The genial, nothing is too much trouble atmosphere in this restaurant creates a lovely ambience in which to enjoy very good food. Hope not to leave it too long before returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chronicle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chronicle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chronicle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.