We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Grand Hotel
Save
You added Bay Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
wigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Excellent hotel. Reception staff, bar staff and housekeepers were excellent. Our driver, Cliff, was excellent and the Entertainment was first class.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    100
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
25
169
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greater manchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

went to the grand hotel exmouth food was okand plenty of it.. the bedroom was a decent size with a bathroom with a bath. short walk into exmouth town centre. the only thing wrong with the grand is all inclusive bar is on the lower ground which is the entainment room if you wanted a quiet drink i had to used the lift to take the drink to the ground floor were their was 3 tables.other shearings hotels i have stay at the quiet area is on the same floor as the bar with some having a quiet room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We were due to go to Whitby,but because of the bad weather conditions we changed to a much warmer coast, so we went to the Grand Exmouth, and that was one of the best ideas we have ever had, we had a fantastic time, we arrived to a very warm welcome, our rooms and other parts of the hotel had been smartened up since we last went, so on that part of the hotel we have no complaints at all, the food was excellant, wonderful variety,presentation was again excellant, it was always hot, the waitress service you could not beat anywere. If you did have a problem at all, it was sorted straight awaye.g. our room was not very warm when we arrived, but within 5 minuits we had a beautiful heater installed in our room, which once the room had got warm, we no longer needed, but were told to keep it.We shall certainly be going back. THANK YOU ALL MANAGEMENT,HOUSEKEEPERS, CHIEF,, WAITRESSES. and anyone one else involved in the running of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We went with Shearings and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, Our driver Kevin lives in Exmouth and gave us interesting information on all our trips. The excursions were brilliant, Tuesday to Tavistock then Princetown then the interesting house of marbles. Wednesday was an optional to Teignmouth via Powderham Castle and beautiful scenery. Thursday was a half day to Exeter. To complete our holiday Kevin dropped us off at a garden centre on the way home. All in all a great holiday. I am vegetarian and I was never hungry as there was always a veggie option. If i was nit picking I would say that it was cold and the bathroom was tiny,although it was obviously new. We were in room 88 it was clean and had tea making facilities and a T.V. We took advantage of being fully inclusive and had a drink in the ballroom and hubby was surprised as they stocked John Smiths. The entertainment was bingo, quiz's and a very good singer/entertainer Mike Samsons. The guests were mostly elderly, guests and staff were very friendly and when I read these reviews I often wonder what people expect for the money. Our bed was comfy the room was clean and I don't really care if I dont like the decor of the lounge that I was too busy to go in. On a last note we went to the Pavilion and saw the brilliant 'Jesus Christ Superstar'. It was announced that the company was in danger of folding and would recommend guests to call in to see what is on it is just to the left of the hotel. Kevin told us that next year they will take guests on different excursions so will definetely go in 2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

My wife and me had always wanted to visit Exmouth, so we took advantage of the 'First Noel', break offered by Shearings. Waiting until the last minute to book, we took advantage of the price reduction and received a very favourable result.
The coach party, fifteen of us in total,arrived at the hotel at a sensible time and were warmly greeted by Maria, the receptionist or under manager at that time.
The room we were given number 78,was on the first floor and was served by a lift. One is always reticent as to what will behold them upon turning the key and opening the door, but on this occasion we were pleasantly surprised. There was plenty of cupboard space as well as drawers, and the whole look of the room I would describe as bijou.
Before dinner we always like to have a drink not purely as an aperitif, but to communicate with other guests, to find out about their room, trip down and general chit chat.
There are three good sized lounges at this hotel and you never feel crowded in. The same cannot be said for the entertainments room which is in the basement and can get quite busy especially if there is a good act in session.
The dining room adjoins the entertainment room in the basement and the stairs you have to decend to get to it are quite steep,although there is a lift. The bar in the entertainment room was the only one open after dinner which meant you had to keep going down stairs to get a drink.
The meals on offer were very good indeed as is nearly always the case at Shearings hotels.On this particular break we were treated to a Christmas dinner as well as an afternoon tea and cake event.
This hotel is ideally situated for the resorts amenities,and is only a ten minute walk to the town centre. This walk I must add however is all uphill and those not so good on their feet please take note. We went in search of the local Weatherspoons pub, The Powdermonkey, but personally, I wouldn't reccommend it, but please find out for yourselves, all part of the holiday fun.
On the whole, we found the hotel very clean, comfortable and friendly and will definately return, especially if the price is right

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Just returned from a 5 days all inclusive, we were a party of 4 adults, my partner and I had room 48, The room was in a very poor state, desperately in need of decorating , there was a stain in the ceiling where there has been a leak, the carpet in the room was very dirty , the net curtains needed a wash they were tatty and dirty, as for the bathroom , there was no shower and it was hard to get in and out of the bath as we were both over 66yrs old, we had a faulty toilet that would not flush unless you had to keep flushing a number of times, and we were concerned if it would disturb the people in the next room by flushing it so many times during the middle of the night., as for the window frame in the bathroom it was covered in black mould and the net curtains were too short and to be honest they were in a terrible state , and the corridors stairs and some parts of the lounge areas were in need of fresh paint of there were stains were they had been leaks in the past and left. in fact the table were we were sitting in the dinning room we could see the wall paper was falling off and flapping with the draught when anyone walked through the door. the meals were lovely, good choices and the service from our waitress Mischa was excellent.The staff all around were a credit to the establishment, they were very friendly and pleasant, and the entertainment was very enjoyable It is such a shame that they let this lovely hotel go in such a state, as it is in a very pleasant location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Just got back from the Grand at Exmouth and like the title says its not so Grand. We have been to the Grand twice before when it was owned By Wallace Arnold so was looking forward to having a pleasant time. Well we did but and its a big but please, please, please Bay hotel owners get this place redecorated immediately. Not just the rooms but the corridors , staircases and some of the lounge areas as i as a decorator have never seen as many ceilings that were stained and walls with paper hanging [ yes hanging ] from the walls. Our room and bathroom looks like it as`nt been decorated in 20 years. The bathroom needed urgent attention as the toilet had to be flushed at least 3 times before it would work . This was brought to the managers attention who politely told us he was aware of it and had been for 4 weeks.
Other than the redecorations the food was very good the waitressing staff and bar staff was also very good.
As for the entertainment some off the best weve come accross on this type of vacation.
Hope this will help others to book or not book at this hotel
From Tonster of Chester

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.