We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day shearings holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Grand Hotel
Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“5 day shearings holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The main rooms in the hotel were very nice i.e. the bar dining room and reception area but our bedroom ( I don't know about others) was in desperate need of decoration. It was clean, didn't smell of damp etc. but there were patches on the ceiling, mould around the glass in the window and a hole near a pipe in the bathroom blocked up with toilet paper! How much does filler cost? The meals were good and the waitresses were very effecient. We wern't waiting long at all for our meals.The entertainment was o.k. if you like bingo and quizzes and I wish the singers would get together sometimes because they sung the same songs alot of the time even though there are thousands to choose from! The holiday was good value for money especially if you waited until the last minute and got it for £119!

Room Tip: Ask for a shower if you prefer it to a bath because thats what we got I thought everywhere had showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and also for your positive comments regarding service cleanliness and value for money. I am sorry you were not happy with your room however we do have an ongoing refurbishment programme in place and at this present time 12 rooms are undergoing a complete refurbish. Perhaps we will be able to welcome you back to one of these in the future.

Thankyou again,
Kenny (General manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    119
    74
    25
    12
See reviews for
26
195
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel itself is nicly located and has some nice sea-view rooms, however my issue is with Shearings who took my telephone booking for this hotel.
When booking I was not advised that the hotel would be charging £5 per day to park at the hotel, and that the car parking spaces could be reserved. Had I been informed, I could have presumably reserved a space at the time of booking (although I think that charging to park is a charge too far!). The concequence was that when I turned up I was told that there were no available spaces at the hotel (all had been pre-reserved) but for the same price (£5 per day) I could reserve a space in a near-by hotel, which, of course I had no option but to accept. This meant walking 100s of yards in the bitter cold (and rain on departure). Although I disagree wth charging for parking anyway, I don't understand why this distant car park could not have been at a cheaper rate to account for the lack of convenience. Come on Sheerings - a nice stay spoilt as a consequence of not being up-front at the booking stage, nor in the price quoted for the "package". I haven't seen this parking charge advertised - have you?

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the fantastic sea view, but don't bother with the cooked English breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the parking charges, this is something we have introduced to give our guests the peace of mind of knowing they have a parking space on arrival. It was pleasing to see you enjoyed your stay.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid glamorgan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

my wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel despite the cold weather.The room was nice clean and comfortable.The food was extremely good with a good choice of menu,the service was excellent from our waiter zoltan and we enjoyed all our meals esp the lamb rogout on the thu evening.The entertainment was really good as were the bingo and quizes ,all the staff were very pleasant and there was nothing I could fault I think bay hotels are really good value for money and we certainl enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear you had a great stay here at the Grand, and found it excellant value for money, we look forward to seeing you returning to the Grand in the not so distant future.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here on a five day break, in a premier sea view room which was large with a bathroom with bath and separate shower. Just one problem, the radiators and water were cold. We told the duty manager who said it was probably because a lot of people had checked in at the same time and used all the hot water, and to give it a while to warm up. It warmed up to tepid, nowhere near hot enough for a shower, so we just had a wash before dinner, not very happy.

On Tuesday the situation was the same and we were told that the plumber had been called in to sort out a problem. On Tuesday evening we showered in lukewarm water.

On Wednesday - no change. So I went to reception again to report it and the manager sent someone to our room to check it out. It was still the same, tepid. The manager was very helpful and offered to either refund our premier room rate and move us to another room or he would give us the keys to a room just to use the shower. As we didn't want to move all our things we decided to use the shower in the other room. We were also given two portable heaters for our room.

On Thursday the plumber was called again and the problem was fixed; nice warm room and lovely hot water. Shame we were going home on Friday.

The food in the restaurant was good, hot, good choice and good service.

As the entertainment area was full by the time we went into the bar, we sat in the adjoining room, so we couldn't see the entertainers but could hear OK and they seemed very good on the whole.

All in all we enjoyed the stay and would stay there again. Liked Exmouth very much too.

Room Tip: Can't beat a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Sorry to hear you had a problem with the heating and hot water, i am pleased i was able to offer you some alternatives and you appreciated the offer of the use of the other Bathroom.
Exmouth is a very nice area of Devon and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorches
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked using laterooms, and having thought that we booked a double, it turned out to be a twin. There were no doubles available so we accepted. When we went up to the room (32) it was fine apart from that the windows were frosted and didn't open more than a few cms. It was very claustrophobic. There was a friendly lady at reception who offered to change us to (57). It was a better room, with a view over the back street, but it smelt really strongly of smoke. We ask for a refund and were given it. The receptionist was really understanding and helpful.
We were very disappointed as I had heard very good reports about the hotel.

Room Tip: Not 32 - it was dark, and the windows weren't exactly a selling point!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It was unfortunate we did not have another Double room, because you booked a twin thats all we had to give you, when you book via Laterooms the offer is very good value for money, but like you kindly state Casey dealt with it very well and gave you a full refund.
Kenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel in March and found the Staff so obliging and helpful. Food very very good and the waitress was so quick and we never had to wait for service. Lounge areas very comfortable and spacious. Rooms a little tired but clean and comfortable. Ideal location right opposite the beach so good views.

Room Tip: Ring and speak to receptionist if you have any special requests, before booking at main office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you had a great stay here at the Grand and found the staff very friendly.
We do offer very good value for money W-ends. We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Did I expect too much? Freezing cold room. Freezing tiny shower area. Allegedly 27 people had sickness and diarrhoea. My husband and myself included ."Was it in house?"
my husband asked at reception. "Not our food" they said. "You get it on cruise ships, and
Exeter Hospital have it"- they implied. Well, what do you know. So does the Grand at Exmouth.
Should you venture to this Hotel - Take a hot water bottle. A heater incase they have none.
Take care with food. Be prepared to run on the spot while you wash. To keep warm.
Brenda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and felt let down by the lack of heating, we did have a problem with the boilers which we got repaired the next day.
We did have the Norovirus bug during your stay The Norovirus bug is all over the country and is passed on very easily from person to person and is not related to the food in any way.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.