We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Grand Hotel
Save
You added Bay Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
manhester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed at this hotel for 5 days dispite what you read on this site i found the food good and varied
and the staff were realy good. as was our coach driver Guy he was great and a credit to shearings
they should give him a bonus. remember you can please some people some off the time but not all of the people all of the time and then you get the professional moaners all ican say is give it a chance
and you will enjoy it

Room Tip: rooms close to lifts can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Its nice to to hear when the guests mention the excellant staff, we do have a fantastic team here at the Grand who do a wonderful job, i will pass your comments on to the team.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and took the time to write a very honest and positive review.
Kenny General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    101
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
25
170
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break with national holidays and alhto' the hotel is clean and commands a prime position on the sea front there is no atmosphere, everyone sits around in the bar reading newspapers provided by the hotel which was very kind of them but this seemed to cut off the art of conversation between guests, I had the distinct feeling of being in a library some of the time.
The dining room staff are hard working and pleasant with nice smiles, serving up decent portions of food, the bar staff however were very sullen and a smile would not have gone amiss here, altho' maybe that was down to the fact that everyone had their noses stuck in a newspaper.
Perhaps the hotel could create a reading room which would alter the atmosphere in the bar !!!!

We had a ground floor room no 4 which had a limited sea view as we looked straight into the car park the only privacy we had was to pull the net curtains across hence no view, bearing in mind I paid for a sea view, when I asked the assistant manager if we could have an upper floor seaview he said they had all gone despite the room above us being empty all weekend.
Our room was comfy enough apart from the noise from the lift and the extractor fan from downstairs, but we slept good when all these noises stopped. The bathroom was ok but the shower head needed descaling as it trickled out but the water was very hot, the bed was spotless and very comfy and the hospiality tray was replenished every day and the towels changed.
The entertainment reflected the price we paid but did the job and why everyone was crammed into such a small space when there is a fantastic ballroom unused is beyond belief.
This could be a great hotel with a few minor changes and some attention to the things that dont work, but worth all of the £99 we paid .

Exmouth is a nice resort with lovely views across the estuary and good flat walking , the town is within easy reach of the hotel as is the railway and bus station and the marina nestled between the luxury apartments is worth a look .

Room Tip: avoid no 4 on the ground floor, if you want a sea view go upstairs !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, i am pleased to hear that you found your break excellant value for money.
We are always striving to be better and improve up on the excellant service we offer, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the future.
Kenny
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just stayed 4 days at this hotel we had a great time, room was clean, food was very good with a varied menu, the staff in the restaraunt were quick and efficent. Our friend celebrated his 70th birthday and they did everything to make his birthday a good one. We never had to leave the hotel on an evening as the entertainment was really good, not forgetting to mention our coach driver Guy who was very good pointing out the lovely sights on our tours

Room Tip: ask for a room away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you had a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you here again,
We pride ourselves on our customer care and work very hard to ensure our guests are made to feel welcome and their needs are catered for.

Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Warm welcome from a very friendly staff at this hotel gets your holiday off to a good start,rooms very good,food excelent.Exmouth itself fine little place. visit Sidmouth just a little way along the coast or get the ferry andvisit Powderham castle.Wr recomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
The hotel is situated in a lovely location on the jurassic coast, with places such as Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton just a short distance away. We're glad that your holiday was enhanced by our terrific staff and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanet UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Hotel is situated on the sea front. The lounge and bar area were comfortable and pleasant. The staff were excellent and the food was good. Our bedroom was a bit worn but spotlessly clean.
I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for your comments, we take a lot of pride in the service we offer and it is very nice when it is mentioned in reviews.
We do have a refurbishment programme in place which includes the Bedrooms.
We look forward to seeing you again here at the Grand.

Kenny

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

bay grand what a great time we had paid extra for sea view what a great room read the reviews about this hotel and some were not good so when we arrived i thought we were in the wrong hotel staff were great we had a realy good time we we have no quarms about recormending this hotel at all well done to every one thank you to all the staff for making it such a great holiday thank you mr and mrs Tiller Banbury

Room Tip: sea view wondeful felt very restful as you looked out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Grand and did not let some of the negative comments put you off.
Thank you for your nice comments about the staff I will pass your message on, we hope to see you again soon.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

having looked at photos of the hotel and the excellent dance floor,we decided that this hotel was just the place. I phoned up and asked if their was ballroom dancing.I was told that if we wanted dancing then they would play the music. We were unpleasantly surprised to find when we arrived that the dance floor had been shut down. Apparently a decision taken by Shearings big wigs in London. We also noticed at the last minute that the photo of the dance floor had been removed from the web site.
The hotel is ok,rooms a bit pokey but useable. The staff are friendly and helpful, food is generally good but not special, you won't starve or grow fat! The location on the seafront is superb.The town is neat and only a short walk away.
If you want a quiet amiable break then do visit the Bay Grand.But if you want to dance properly, rather than just stand and wiggle, steer well clear as Shearings obviously don't understand what some customers needs are.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay, i am sorry the Ballroom was not available during your stay, the decision to stop using the Ballroom was not taken lightly, and after careful consideration a decision was made to fully refurbish the upstairs Drakes Bar, which is now complete with the new furniture arriving on Thursday 1st November. we do have a dancing area in the Drakes Suite which a lot of our guest are using.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.