We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful, relaxing location with very friendly and helpful hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton House

Barton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barton House
Save
You added Barton House to your Saves list
St John's Road, Exmouth EX8 5EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“A peaceful, relaxing location with very friendly and helpful hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our room was very comfortable and clean. The hosts, Wendy and Howard, were always extremely accommodating and willing to tailor the delicious breakfasts to our individual appetites. The location is superb for all local places of interest e.g. coastal walks, Budleigh Salterton, Exmouth, Sidmouth etc. as well as being close to a supermarket even though it has a rural setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would fully recommend Barton House after our week long stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at Barton House while visiting family nearby. The room was spotless and and extremely well appointed. Feather duvet and pillows added to a very comfortable bed made for a perfect night's sleep. Quiet road too. Breakfast was perfect. Lovely hosts. Purchased some beautiful beaded jewellery made by the hostess. We thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Barton House was very good value for money, very clean and had a wonderfully comfortable good sized, double bed. Our room was quite attractive and had a full range of faciliities within it, making our preperation for the next morning easy. The bathroom was spotless and had a excellent shower. The breakfast was good and well prepared and the proprietors were friendly and accommodating an example being the cooking of our full english breakfast an hour earlier than was normal in order to meet our schedule. The location was quiet but with good amenities within a 10 min drive.
The one difficulty was actually finding the property as it is situated down a small lane and driving thruough Woodbury common can be disorientating for those unfamilliar with the area. Maybe therefore, some small, intermittant signposting reassuring travellers are on the right path would be a boon. All in all, a very pleasant stay and would quite happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

A Warm welcome from the patrons on arrival, made to feel at home, good knowledge given of the local area, ideal semi rural location situated for the Exeter / Exmouth area, comfortable rooms. This quiet location ideal for a good night's sleep, in the morning what better than a good! quality English breakfast, a good way to start the day & not to forget a reasonable price for the rooms, I would certainly use Barton House again if I am to return to the same location.

Mr & Mrs Pottage-Smith.

Room Tip: A quiet night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roamin'
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I needed a bed and breakfast for one night in Exmouth as I had to work down there. I'm used to working away as I visit clients all over the country. After much searching on the net I decided to book Barton House because of their location to Exmouth and I'm glad I did. Room was smashing, much better than what I expected for the price. Sumptuous bedding and spotlessly clean - including the en-suite bathroom - made this an excellent stay. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was exactly what I expected from a good B & B, a first class English Breakfast. In my opinion, exactly what a bed and breakfast should be. Clean, comfortable, friendly and a cracking breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton House

Address: St John's Road, Exmouth EX8 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet semi rural location on the edge of Exmouth and Woodbury Common, Barton House is a Grade II listed property offering comfortable high quality accommodation.The beaches and other numerous coastal attractions, of both Exmouth and the nearby town of Budleigh Salterton are within easy reach, as are Woodbury Park Golf & Leisure Club, Budleigh Riding School and Squabmoor Course Fishery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barton House Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.