We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd to your Saves list
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd
Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Dolphin last weekend as a group of four and from the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and happy to help. The rooms were absolutely spotless with plenty of space and everything you'd expect to find. The full English breakfasts (inclusive) were cooked to perfection and you were also offered fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts etc! There were no stunning sea views but only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and town centre. We were really impressed and will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    44
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
52
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I together with my son, daughter-in-law, daughter and granddaughter spent last weekend at the Dolphin. We were delighted by the friendliness and helpfulness of Jade when we checked in. We had booked 3 parking spaces and these were coned off waiting for us when we arrived. It's position was perfect for a bracing walk, in the glorious sunshine, to the sea front and also to the town center.The breakfast was very generous and the staff very accommodating. We will certainly look to stay here next year for the annual family visit to see our relations in Exmouth.
Well done and thanks for making it so enjoyable. (thanks to Alisha for putting the 2nd half of the rugby international on the TV in the bar for us).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was, for us, a stop over choice for a wedding we were attending. Great location 5 mins walk from the surprisingly attractive sea front. The ensuite room (10) was basic, but a better size than we had imagined, with complimentary tea and coffee. Breakfast was included and was of the generous English variety with toast and cereal. Overall, this place is more like a glorified B&B than a hotel, but it's good value and overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Tha Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a great place to stay with a lovely warm atmosphere, clean rooms and great staff. If only every hotel I stayed in was as good I would be a happy man.
Well done to all involved
Paul

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We only stayed one night, staff were friendly and helpful, room was warm clean and comfortable. Location was great, 2mins walk to seafront and 5mins to shops. Good price too! Cant comment on breakfast as didnt have it as we wanted a lie in instead!

Room Tip: room 20 has a massive bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is situated quite close to local amenities. The beach front is less than 500 yards away. I stayed in a twin room as was working away. The room was clean and comfortable with adequate facilities (kette, desk and tv) the en suite was very small but usable for one or two nights. Even though I have been very generous in this review so far this hotel isn't without its down sides. The biggest for me was no parking at the hotel what so ever. There is a choice between a local car park about quarter of a mile away or on Street parking. The breakfast could use more choice (no mushrooms, black pudding) but is cooked to a high standard. All in all a very comfortable and pleasant stay of which I would recommend to colleagues in the future.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best about the hotel is its location, only being about 5 mins walk to the beach front. The hotel is on a very quiet street with other B&Bs and the staff were friendly and very welcoming to our party. Parking has to be reserved and they did this for us when we confirmed. Laterooms don't tell you that you pay the first night on booking then the rest when you get there but that's what happens.

The hotel itself was ok, just rather tired and dated. Rooms were of an adequate size - we had a family room which consisted of one double bed and two singles, a couple of chest of drawers and a wardrobe. The ensuite bathroom really let the room down in our opinion, the shower didn't work properly and the hot water was scalding hot. Mid shower, the water temperature would switch from icy cold to piping hot and no amount of adjustment would fix it! The bathroom itself was clean and towels changed daily but the bathroom was very dated and had a slightly stale urine smell about it. Beds were fairly comfortable but all if us itched like mad every morning so not sure what was going on there!

The breakfast was good, with a good selection of cooked and continental items. We had the full English which was done to our satisfaction, just could have been a little more generous with portion size maybe. All in all a good enough base to rest our heads but have definitely stayed in better places!

Room Tip: We had a family room over looking the main road. It was rather noisy so best avoided if you're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd

Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.