We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth to your Saves list
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is just excellent. My stay was just for 1 night, travelling solo. Five minutes walk from the train station, and all was ready for me when I arrived at 1.30pm. The double room - and the ensuite - would have been a touch small for a couple, but great for me. I thought the price was fantastically good - £32 for B&B for one. Very friendly people, very adequate breakfast, and all in all an enexpected pleasure

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    51
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
56
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here beginning of December as part of a wedding party.. The owner and staff of the hotel were really friendly.. Nothing was too much trouble for them.. They made us all feel very welcome.. Rooms were really tidy and clean.. Basic but as a bed and breakfast it was ideal.. And the breakfast in the morning was delicious, there was a varied choice to choose from.. Really was value for money and would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a business appointment in Exmouth on the 30th Nov 2012. As we lived in Peacehaven and my partner finished work at 8pm, I contacted the hotel to make sure they could open for us at midnight. They did this and also reserved parking for us also. I feel they went out of their way for us for our one night stay.

The room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised with the dining room, it had a very fresh looking decor and we enjoyed our breakfast. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well done to all the team at The Dolphin Hotel, Exmouth for another great stay. Dec2/3 2012.
We really cant find fault with this Family run Hotel and would not consider staying anywhere else when we go to Exmouth.
Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great hotel that allows dogs a must for us good breakfast, friendly staff and very clean have already booked in for next year another short stay which we are looking forward to............ A great location not far from the beach and town

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked this hotel following good reviews on Trip Advisor and I’m glad I did. Excellent location, close to the beach and the town centre with a 24hr car park nearby (parking is a nightmare). Room was ‘cosy’ but no real problem, everything was spotlessly clean, lots of choice at breakfast and a reasonably priced bar that was open until 23:30. Very warm welcome from you young lady with the big smile at check in on the 8/11/2012 got our stay off to a good start. Certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where in the world...?!
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for one night in a double room and it was really pleasant. The staff were very friendly and made us feel instantly at home, and the hotel interior and reception/bar areas were really smartly decorated but warm and cosy looking.
We had requested a top/high floor room and were given one on the top floor. It was very spacious, airy and light and had a flat screen TV, bed with lots of pillows, and tea and coffee making facilities, plus a good sized ensuite.
The following morning we went down to breakfast to the dining room which had pretty much anything you could want to eat to be honest - a table with cereals, fruit, yoghurts, sauces, spreads, and a menu on the table with warm food to order. We both had the full English which was great. The only one tiny thing i could fault was the fact myself and my boyfriend ordered together but his food came a full 5-10 mins before mine, but it really wasnt a huge problem!

Location-wise it couldn't have been better - the beach was about a 2-3 min walk to the right and the town about a 4-5min walk in the other direction.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're going to be staying in Exmouth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.