We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISSAPOINTING” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Swallows Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Swallows Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swallows Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Exmouth B&B and Inns
exmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DISSAPOINTING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I stayed at the swallows guest house and it was not very nice place to stay. I ordered a single room and i knew it was going to be small but not as small as a box. My bathroom was on the the first floor and i was on third floor. My wardrobe had the cleaners chemicals in and the owner says thats where they go and was not willing to move them at all when ask.. The small milks that you get for the tea and coffee were 7 days out of date when mentioned to owner he shrugged his shoulders and walked off. The breakfast was also dissapointing. Unfortuantly i already paid for room online please beware of here before you book.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwallowsExmouth, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Review made by a local person who lives not far from my guest house with the sole intend to damage my busyness. Reviewer became a Tripadviser member for a day and stayed in my guest house for one night to be alleged to write this outrages review . Not a real help for other travellers or for me to improve my service. Please compare ratings and reviews made by real travellers. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crudwell, Wiltshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

My husband and I have never used a Guest House before and were not sure what to expect. After staying at The Swallows, it made us feel that we would certainly use a guest house again. We had a delightfully large room with lovely touches like fresh flowers, mineral water and tea making facilities, which was replenished daily. Everything was clean and well presented 10 out of 10. To start the day there was a large range of items available which would suit all tastes, from cereals through to a hearty cooked breakfast, which tasted delicious. We do not normally take the time to rate our stays when we are on holiday, but we thought that this was certainly well worth the time to let anyone wishing to stay in the area of our findings. We would certainly have no hesitation in booking at the Swallows again. Sue and Alan Dolman

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We have just returned from our visit to Exmouth. Having stayed in Exmouth many times with family friends, this time we booked into the Swallows Guest house. As we were unfortunatly attending a funeral the same day as travelling, we asked fof an early check in and this was not a problem. Having looked at all the other sea front hotels, the pictures of this guest house didn't seem to boast the awful flock wall paper, carpeted bathrooms and extortionate prices...and the room was true to form. We booked a large twin room, and it was impeccably clean and comfortable. Complimentary bottles of water, tea and coffee AND biscuits! Location is excellent, you can see the sea from the front of the guest house...and now to the breakfast. Absolutley divine! Fresh produce and plenty of it. A lovely stay, I would recommend this to anyone visiting Exmouth.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

The Swallows Guest House, is the best guest house/hotel we have stayed in in Exmouth and we have been visiting the town for many years. Well appointed and maintained throughout, with tasteful furnishings and decor, fabulous breakfast with good quality ingredients and a very hospitable host, one would be hard pressed to get better value anywhere. Excellent!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

If you are looking for Guest House Accommodation in and around Exmouth Devon, try the Swallows, 4 very comfortable en suite rooms, wonderful breakfasts served in the sunny breakfast room, The proprietors Pamela and Phillipo will make you very welcome.

  • Liked — Very clean,comfortable and affordable Bed and Breakfast accommodation
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallows Guest House

Address: 11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallows Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a secluded part of Exmouth, Devon. Four minutes from a glorious sandy beach and great places to eat.Enjoy the summer sunshine on Exmouth beach, coastal walking, cycling, bird watching or see your son pass out and receive his Royal Marine green beret, you can be sure of a warm, friendly stay at The Swallows B&B. We also make an excellent base to explore Exeter, the Exe valley, coastal East Devon, Woodbury Common, National Trust properties and the many award winning Devon vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Swallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swallows Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swallows Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.