We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hour stay at Exmoor Forest Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor Forest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Exmoor Forest Inn to your Saves list
Exmoor Forest Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Simonsbath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“24 hour stay at Exmoor Forest Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed off and on at The Exmoor Forest Inn over the last 25 years, so I have seen changes, but it remains on old favourite.

I had no hesitation in choosing the Inn for an overnight stay in September, as I knew I would be served an excellent dinner in the bar, be able to have a good night's sleep in a comfortable bedroom, and receive a reliable breakfast. The Inn did not disappoint me with these.

One word of warning though; some dinners are smaller than others, and my pigeon starter, sea trout main course and pudding of a chocolate mousse, while excellent could all have been more generous in size. I do not have a large appetite, but I reckon to be well filled after three courses.

The greatest shame about the Inn is that the residents' sitting room, which was so homely, warm and comfortable under former owners, these days is stark, coldly lit and not at all inviting. An inn in the middle of Exmoor, where one spends exhausting days in the open, really does need a cosseting sitting room where one can talk to other guests or just dose, To be in convivial surroundings I would rather not have to spend my evening on a hard bar chair or have to retire to my bedroom for comfort. Additionally, the dining room, where breakfast is served these days, used to be well furnished, cosy and a pleasure to go in, but it suffers in much the same way as the sitting room, alas. It is for these reasons that I have rated the Inn as average.

Service is friendly and efficient.

I'll stay again.

Tim Newman

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    49
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely room, décor was lovely and very, very clean. Nice touch with a bottle of water and toiletries in the room. The food was excellent and the breakfast was delicious. Certainly very good value for. A good base and would stay there again without hesitation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I spent just one night here, we wish we could have stayed longer. The staff, restaurant, room was excellent. Will be back one day, we can certainly recommend this Inn. We went for a lovely walk just down the road from the Inn. We walked to Cow castle and up through the woods until we reached Pick Stone farm, then back to the car. The scenery was stunning and our trip to Exmoor was complete when we spotted Deer in the Valley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was the second year that I have organised a weekend cycling in Exmoor for myself and 11 friends basing ourselves at the Exmoor Forest Inn. We had a great weekend again this year - beer great, food fantastic and staff friendly. Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped here for the last night of our walk on the Two Moors Way. The welcome was warm and the room clean and cozy. Rooms were spacious and there was plenty of hot water. Bath robes were a nice touch. The bar and dining area was informal and the food and service very good. Local real ale was on offer and perfectly conditioned! Our host was very accommodating, getting up early to serve us a breakfast and see us on our way. A great location and quite reasonably priced. Walkers genuinely welcome. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abercynon, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I took my dad off for a weekend to the Exmoor Forest Inn. It was set in a beautiful location and just what you expect from a country inn. We had a relaxing few days driving around, walking and visiting some of the local villages and towns. The highlight of the weekend was the enjoyable evenings spent in the bar and restaurant enjoying some drinks and the excellent food. It was friendly and laid back and the staff and their dogs made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Good central position in Exmoor, the staff were very friendly and helpful very enjoyable food. The room was large and clean and comfortable.

The only negative point was that although there is no mobile signal which is no fault of the hotel as they cannot control this. Wifi was available although in our room (room 8) the signal was very weak due to the distance our room was from the router.We would have liked to use our computer for researching the surrounding area
I would recommend a Wifi booster to be fitted on the top floor to overcome this

Room Tip: Room 8 on top floor large light and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exmoor Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Forest Inn

Address: Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Simonsbath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor Forest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Exmoor Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Forest Hotel Simonsbath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor Forest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.