We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Rectory Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Rectory Hotel
Berry Ground Lane, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
West Yorkshire
1 review
“A real hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

At the Old Rectory Huw & Sam have created a real gem, set in tranquil surroundings with elegant comfortable interiors and emphasis on personal service. Lovely meals using quality local ingredients, now including some home grown produce and an interesting choice of wines (thanks for the recommendations Sam). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, have no hesitation in recommending and look forward to a return visit. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
492
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

From the moment we arrived we knew we'd love this place - a glorious spot near the spectacular North Devon coast, a beautiful room overlooking the 3 acre garden, delicious food using local ingredients & cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

The welcome is warm and the attention to detail is faultless. You don't feel fussed over, just well looked after. We were assigned a beautiful room with great views, a huge comfortable bed, a few key antique pieces of furniture, modern bathroom, sparklingly clean everywhere.
We stayed for 3 days, were lucky to have great weather, so spent some time sitting out in the gardens which have been carefully and very well planned out: extensive lawns, interesting wildflower borders, mature trees and shrubs, decking and seating carefully placed to create private spaces. Complete peace - no passing traffic just a few birds and the noise of bees in the flower beds.
The public areas are comfortable and well-furnished. There's a conservatory/enclosed veranda roofed in living vines - very summery and relaxing.
The dining experience is well-choreographed with no rushing, no delays, just careful and well-timed service. The food is excellent. Great quality ingredients (sourced locally, some herbs and vegetables from the owners' garden), well-cooked with a special flair for appetisers, sauces, and soups. Every dinner and breakfast was superb.
We were given good advice on possible walks, things to see and do. Otherwise we were left in peace, but with the understanding that someone was always on hand if needed.
The area is gorgeous, the hotel is in Exmoor National Park quite remote from any town facilities. The sea is 800 feet below once you've walked down the leafy lane to the public footpaths. The coves are picturesque (watch out for the incoming tide!) and you need good footwear as the paths and roads are steep. But the views are fantastic, and there is a huge variety of things to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We desperately needed a break from a hard two months at work and boy did we get it!
Huw and Sam manage to blend genuine warmth and friendliness with efficiency in their small personal hotel. The hotel nestles behind the stunning North Devon Coast and is unpretencious, stylish and welcoming. Huw feeds you like Royalty and Sam is the wonderful Maitre De. We felt instantly relaxed on arriving at the Old Rectory and thoroughly recharged when we left. The Hotel is excellent value for money and we would reccommend it for a romantic break or a special day. We are going back as soon as we can. Best holiday in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Having searched all over North Devon for a hotel to take my mother away for a week, I found The Old Rectory Hotel on TripAdvisor and having read all the glowing reviews, decided then and there that this was the place for us. And I wasn't to be disappointed ..... what a hidden gem !!! The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully furnished and we spent many a happy hour in the sunny conservatory. And Huw's cooking is out of this world .... absolutely delicious and as we stayed for a week on half-board, we were well and truly spoilt. I still reckon you ought to package up your home-made soups and sell them to residents to take home with them !!! Huw and Sam are brilliant hosts and really made us feel very welcome .... almost like we were guests in their own home. Very much hope to visit again in the not too distant future. Many thanks to you both for a lovely holiday.
Rosalind Coldrey-Mobbs, Sheffield

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Huw and Sam provide such a friendly welcome at this luxury boutique hotel tucked away in the country-side near the Devon coast. The food is definitely the high point - Huw's cooking is absolutely delicious - haven't tasted such a wonderful bread and butter pudding for a very long time! The rooms are smartly decorated and very comfortable although I could have done with more of a power shower.

The only other comment is that as the hotel is small the dining room is quite quiet so we felt a bit self-conscious during dinner - not the place for a private conversation! However, that is only a minor point in an otherwise fantastic visit. We were made to feel really at home and will definitely be returning again. A good reason to visit this beautiful part of the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

You would be correct!
This was our second visit since Huw and Sam have been in charge and they maintain and improve on their standards year on year.
We spent four nights in the 'Paddock' suite in early June - plenty of space, tastefully furnished and with a large bathroom. That suite overlooks their delightful neatly trimmed garden and the Rhododendron bushes were spectacular this year.

As expected, the food was excellent and locally sourced - do ask Huw to prepare his famous stuffed mushrooms - and Sam's choice of wines very much appreciated.

Once again the service was laid-back but superb, the ambience relaxing and restful and the varied clientèle always interesting and excellent company .

This small but charming hotel deserves its fast growing reputation - Huw and Sam have hit on the the perfect combination in a beautiful setting..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Berry Ground Lane, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.