We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a fabulous setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor White Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Exmoor White Horse Inn to your Saves list
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful hotel in a fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at the White Horse Inn in Exford for central exploring of Exmoor. What a gem this is! The management and all the staff are friendly and attentive and are genuinely devoted to making your stay memorable. We both felt completely relaxed soon after arriving at the White Horse and sorry when the time came to leave. Lovely atmosphere, scrumptious food and plenty of it, comfortable well maintained room. To be honest can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    70
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
34
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is my first adverse hotel review and it is mainly because of the comparison between the impressive website and the actual experience we had.
Our room was ok although it was dominated by the huge four poster bed with dark drapes. The staff were very pleasant and helpful with one notable exception, our waitress for one evening.
The majority of the evening food we had was not of a good standard and not always well cooked. There were some poor meals, garlic mushrooms served in what can only be described in a sauce with the consistency of porridge. The same sauce - minus the garlic - then appeared with the chicken with apricot filling. The chicken was overcooked and the bottom burnt. A starter of trout fillet was cut into tiny thin pieces so the taste was non-existent, followed by chewy glastonbury lamb. Possibly the worst offence was a fan of melon which was not ripe. Perhaps the strangest decision on the menu was to serve monkfish in a heavy batter so the wonderful taste was smothered by the coating.
A lot of the diners had the nightly roast joint which always looked impressive so perhaps we just chose wrongly from the large menu.
The hotel is well positioned to explore the many delights of the area but unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I should have been suspicious when unable to book our usual excellent hotel on Exmoor (The Royal Oak at Winsford), we were lured in by the White Horse's impressive website and internet offer, when we phoned we were told that the offer rooms had been booked but they could provide an upgraded room - at a cost! More about the quality of this charming room later...

After a long and tiring drive, we arrived to discover that there was nowhere to park the car - the spaces all being taken by people drinking or eating in the bar. Management were really unhelpful, suggesting that we could "on this occasion" park where the bar staff dumped the bottles! Exford is a really tiny place and on road parking wasn't available.

Given that we couldn’t park properly, I asked for our deposit to be returned, but the manager refused - eventually they agreed that we could cancel the following night - and promptly put the charge up for the night we did stay!

So our one night B+B was now £107 pounds, for which we got a room with a 'four poster' and chipped paintwork, a TV with 3 working channels, torn duvet cover, cracked sink, torn lino and chipped toilet seat. To say it had seen better days would be generous. Now, I have stayed in enough country hotels to know that sleek is not what they are about - it's lived in charm that is the very thing that makes them so appealing - but someone should mention to the owners of the White Horse that this does not extend to severely cracked ceilings (as in the corridor outside our room) or green textured (artexed?) walls which extended throughout.

On the plus side breakfast was ok, and the staff serving were pleasant.

In short - not half as good as it thinks it is and I would recommend the Royal Oak at Winsford for an Exmoor break - about a thousand times better!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We had a most pleasant stay at the hotel.
The quality of the food was excellent and exceeded all our expectations.
We would like to compliment the hotel on the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed here for one night on the dinner bed and breakfst deal for £85 a head.

When we arrived Nicola at reception was very friendly and very helpful. We were personally shown to our room. It was great. Huge queen size bed in a huge room with a huge bathroom to match, with views over the green. We unpacked and chilled out until dinner. We went to the bar before dinner for a drink. 40p for a dash of soda water in my wine....out of a miser pump.. We took our drinks through to the dining room. The tables looked great. There were other couples in the dining room and unfortunatley a table of 3 and a table of 4 who were a little loud and we found ourselve having to use raised voices to hear each other as did t he other couples.

The waitress came and took our wine order, we ordered a bottle of white. She returned asking if we wanted ice as the wine was not ice cold....we later found out that the fridge containing the white wines was not working. She bought us a wine cooler filled with ice, with a dirty napkin to catch the water whilst serving.

We were just about to open it, the waitress did not open it it was just 'plonked' on the table' when a waiter appeared saying it was the wrong wine and took it away returning with the correct wine a few minutes later. No apology was given. The waitress returned for our food orders. Around 20 minutes later she returned with 2 starters mine was correct, my partners was not. She 'tutted' and walked away. She came back saying his started would be a few minutes. Again no apology.

My starter was still sat in front of me. When I asked for it to be taken away and a new one brought with my partners so we could eat together it was like I was asking for the world. Both starter turned up some 10 minutes later. My starter was the same one as the toast had gone cold.

My partner had the Creamy Garlic mushrooms. There were 4 mushrooms which were in a creamy sauce that resembled ready break. Both startes were very bland.

The main courses arrived and made up for the starters. Very tasty. I was having a rest from eating when the waitress came to the table asking if I had finished and went to take my plate. I shook my head as I was eating and she said 'Are you finsihed. YES or NO' charming customer service.

The time for desert came and we ordered. I ordered Banoffi ice cream. It arrived slopped in a small glass. It was banana flavoured ice cream. Def not Banoffi. No toffee and no biscuit. We didnt bother with coffee.

Breakfast was self service all under hot lamps and not hte best.

Perhaps the hotel should put its dining room staff on a customer service course.

Would recommend this hotel to friends for setting but not for service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

After reading all these amazing reviews we thought we'd picked a winner. Fooled by the glossy website (again), our room was clean but basic, the food plentiful but badly cooked and the service polite but insincere. The best thing about the place was the cosy bar. The restaurant was nothing special. The breakfast terrible. Bacon, sausages, scrambled egg, all left to go rubbery in bain maries. It was too busy for us and full of people who obviously loved it there for reasons best known to themselves. Just not intimate enough and the decor seemed a bit naff. Sorry - probably better for older couples...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Excellent, friendly service especially in the dining room. Spacious and comfortable room and well fitted bathroom. The food was of a very high standard, perfectly cooked and served and in VAST quantites. I have a good appetite but never finished 5 courses plus coffee!

If you want to bring your well behaved dogs, they are welcome.

The location is perfect for walking, riding and other outdoor sports. We just explored the beautiful scenery while visiting several friends in the area. We were sad to leave ..............

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Exmoor welcome awaits at our 16th Century coaching Inn, Situated in picturesque village of Exford, nestling beside River Exe, amidst high moorland in the very heart of Exmoor National Park.The ideal location for a relaxing break. 28 sumptuous en-suite rooms where modern day luxury combines with a special country charm.Log fires, character oak beamed bars be tempted by our extensive bar menu, using fresh regional produce.Let us show you life at a slower pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.