We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor White Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Exmoor White Horse Inn to your Saves list
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was the first time that we have spent Christmas in a hotel, we went on the recommendation of friends who have been before and were also staying. We had a fantastic time the room was spacious and comfortable, there were chocolates, wine and a calendar in the room as a welcome pack. We gathered outside on Christmas Eve for Carol Singing with Mulled Wine and mince pies. The food was excellent and plentiful, Father Christmas joined us at breakfast on Christmas Day and we were all given a quality Christmas present. Our friends have a dog so we were able to take advantage of the many walks and enjoy the countryside. The staff were friendly, cheerful and looked after us very well. Thank you !!!

We enjoyed our time so much that we and our friends have booked for 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that The Exmoor White Horse Inn festive celebrations lived up to expectations and we are thrilled that you will be returning this year as well! We are already nearly 3/4 full for Christmas 2014 and that really makes us feel that all the hard work that goes into Christmas and New Year celebrations is truly worthwhile. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    70
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
34
184
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, Wiltshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband myself and my elderly Uncle have spent the most wonderful Christmas at the Exford White Horse. All the staff are very attentive but special thanks to the lovely Vincent and Mark who are always so cheerful and helpful. Peter and Linda made the whole Christmas so special with lovely touches like sweets and wine in the bedroom and a beautiful Christmas present from Santa!
We enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners were great. We have been before and never had a bad stay and have booked for next Christmas!
We stayed this time in the Lodge and we were very happy with our rooms.
Well done everybody!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Lodge have better Wi-Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you. Another fantastic Christmas this year here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn where we had the pleasure of welcoming guests new and old, made extra special by those returning guests who make the whole thing feel like a real family occasion. The number of people already booked to return next year has made it even more special. A huge thank to you to all, we wish you all a Happy, healthy and prosperous 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for one night one new year's eve at a cost of £300 in a standard double room in the lodge. The room was adequate if rather dated and would have benefitted from a refresh. For example, the toilet seat was stained yellow which wasn't very appealing and there was mould in the corners of the bath. The carpet leading up the stairs to the bedroom was very dirty and needed a very good clean. I liked the view from the window overlooking the river and the bed was comfy although the bed itself was stained. The hosts and the reception staff were extremely attentive and should be commended on their hospitality. Whilst the food at the "gala dinner" was nice enough (not what you would call a gastronomic delight but decent enough home cooking) what we hadn't realised it that many of the other guests were annual repeat visitors with one of the "highlights" during dinner a balloon fight between tables and between the two adjoining rooms. The hosts had given us a box of goodies such as party poppers and one of those long balloons that squeals and goes twirling around when you release it. Some had brought reinforcements as they knew the drill. Now one or two each would have been fine but when you have middle aged folk running around the rooms and searching under tables to retrieve missiles during the entire dinner it can get very tiresome. I ended up with one in my soup and as this had been goodness knows where beforehand meant I couldn't finish it. Conversation was all about "tactics" and there was loud damn buster singing on and off. It was much more like a kids party or pantomime than a chilled out new year's dinner. I guess some must enjoy that sort of thing - indeed I was told of the imending fight with much glee over pre-dinner punch but it's not for us. I noticed some of the other newcomers also made a swift exit at the end of the meal. I used the toilet in the bar and that was very dirty and if it hadn't of been pouring with rain I would have gone back to the room rather than use it. Breakfast was very nice - I enjoyed my haddock and poached egg. Would I go back - OH NO I WOULDN'T!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
After reading and responding to the previous reviews, to say we were dismayed and upset to read yours would be an understatement and if we didn't know better we would have questioned whether you were even staying at this hotel! The room you stayed in is definitely more than “adequate” and the whole hotel is on a continuous updating programme so things could never be described as “dated”, possibly just not to your taste. The room itself has a stunning view of the river and whilst the carpet outside might have needed another hovering (it is done every morning), at New Year many people are coming and going all day, but it is definitely not “dirty” in the context you used.

We are sorry if you did not want to celebrate New Year as that is what our customers, both new and old, generally come to do. As you stated, many were regular returning guests who enjoy our traditional celebration of New Year. We do not go for full on entertainment, the whole celebration centers around the Restaurant and Bar where customers mingle, make new friends, renew old acquaintances and enjoy some traditional hospitality and make their own entertainment, be it the Quiz or the balloon fight” which obviously upset you. We were praised for this year being one of the best New Years ever, with many of our guests booking on departure to ensure availability for next New Year. Whilst we appreciate that everyone's taste is different, and whilst we also appreciate that you won’t be returning, you can’t criticise others for celebrating in ways that maybe you wouldn't, New Year is simply about that one word – Celebrate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidcup
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night for New Year.
As we arrived we were struck by the picturesque building next to a river in such a pretty village. The surrounding area is beautiful.
Check in was smooth, polite and the lady carried our bags to our room. Our room was small-a basic double but the furniture was lovely and little touches like some exmore ale, sweets and a new year cards were special. The bathroom was big and clean. We were very happy.
We went to the bar and had sandwiches and wine which was very good, a nice cosy bar with log burner and walkers with their dogs all made it homely.
Breakfast was good, plenty of hot choice and friendly attentive service made for a great morning.
I'd definitely go back again. We had a lovely time

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back! Every day is special here on Exmoor but Christmas and New Year this year were even more special when we were fortunate to be surrounded by some lovely people who made all the hard work involved in celebrating the festive season well worth it. Thank you to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Once again we spent our Christmas at The White Horse, the meals were superb. Father Christmas visited and gave everyone a lovely present. The atmosphere is always so relaxed and enjoyable,..Thank you Linda, Peter and Staff for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank You.

It is guests such as yourselves that make Christmas such a special time here at The Exmoor White Horse. We wish you a Happy and Healthy 2014 and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Mu husband and I stayed for one night last week. Everything was perfect from the moment we stepped through the doors. Supper in the bar with the fire roaring was just what was needed after a long drive down. Lovely to watch the horses going out on exercise whilst we were having breakfast. We will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, at the front, not noisy and large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you and what you say underlines the fact that Exmoor is perfect at anytime of the year! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

we have just returned home from white horse , once again a fab break .
we have been going for 13 years between oct & dec and never been disappointed , always warm welcome from peter & the staff , dinner & breakfast always fantastic a lovely comfortable atmosphere , excellent 5 star in our opinion didn't wont to leave.
see you all next year

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and apologise for the delay in responding to it. We place great value on all our returning guests and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Exmoor welcome awaits at our 16th Century coaching Inn, Situated in picturesque village of Exford, nestling beside River Exe, amidst high moorland in the very heart of Exmoor National Park.The ideal location for a relaxing break. 28 sumptuous en-suite rooms where modern day luxury combines with a special country charm.Log fires, character oak beamed bars be tempted by our extensive bar menu, using fresh regional produce.Let us show you life at a slower pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.