We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Exmoor White Horse Inn to your Saves list
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Expectations were high after visiting web site. Room good but shower did not work properly. Restaurant poor. Both meals were over cooked - noisy party in restuatrant which did not help as they were never checked for using bad language.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Firstly may we offer our utmost sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations. We appreciate all the comments that you have made as we treat all customer feedback very seriously.

The comments you made have been noted and passed on to the relevant departments and member of staff concerned. The member of staff that checked you in on arrival remembers you commenting on what a lovely room you had, and we have received no other complaints with regard to the shower, so can only apologise for the problem you experienced. It has since been checked and found to be working correctly.

In reply to your comments on the meal the waiter that served you remembers checking with you to make sure that your meal was OK and he said you seemed very happy. If you had complained at the time we would have done our utmost to put any problems right, but it is impossible for us to do that if we are not made aware at the time. With regard to the noisy party in the restaurant they were guests who have been staying with us for the last 6 years or more. If bad language was used, once more we can only apologise, but our staff were unaware of it, if this too had been brought to their attention it would have been discretely dealt with.

We do try our utmost to please the majority of our guests and we pride ourselves on making our guests as welcome and comfortable as possible and a large percentage of our trade is repeat business, as well as recommendations from previous guests. We have been here for over 20 years and we place great importance on welcoming back our previous guests, so we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    71
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
188
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have had another great visit to the Exmoor White Horse Inn. Peter and Linda (owners) were very welcoming as normal and its a great testament to them that there are staff members there that have been with them for many years. All the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Hotel is warm and welcoming with burning fires in the lounge and bar areas. Food excellent with 5 course meals of venison, pheasant and salmon on the lists. Buffet breakfast enough to keep you going for the long walks on Exmoor. Our dog was in heaven with the "scraps" from the carvery! If you like your malt whisky you will be spoilt for choice. So extensive that it has its own menu!
Highly recommended and don't forget to take your binoculars to catch a sight of the stags/hinds on the moor above the village.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We took a 3 night short break at the Exmore White Horse Inn, Exford and were welcomed with a complimentary cream tea voucher to be used at any time during our break. The allocated room was spotlessly clean albeit small, but the highlight of the stay was the brilliant menu and the most wonderfully prepared and presented dishes. In addition to the regular menu, specials were available daily and the buffet breakfast menu was plentiful and very fresh., it was also supplemented by other choices such as kippers, poached eggs etc. All in all a most satisfying and relaxing break with ever smiling and polite staff.

Room Tip: Request a larger room when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Have stayed here many times and it never fails to impress. Very friendly and efficient staff, and the owners are very "hands on" giving the place a real family vibe. The food was excellent as always and service was great. The hotel is a very old and appealing building and rooms are individual - ours was a bit on the small side this time, but clean and perfectly fine. If you want something bigger, make sure you ask when booking as all types are available. Ideally set in the centre of Exmoor and perfect for exploring the surrounding area.
Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I booked this hotel on the basis of the all the very positive reviews below - and they were accurate. The standard of the accommodation is very high - our rooms looked as if they had been recently refurbished and were very tastefully decorated, each with a luxurious bathroom. We did have one issue with one of the rooms being cold on the first night - it was an unusually cold night for August and this was problem was promptly rectified with additional heating the following morning. The breakfasts were to die for (freshly prepared mushrooms that tasted like mushrooms) , the service superb. We were also pleased with many of the meals either in the restaurant or in the well-stocked bar.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - and the area is stunning!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here with one child. Room was lovely and large (no 12) and would have comfortably slept four. Massive bathroom and all mod cons. Loads of tea, cofee etc. Staff were lovely and helpful. Food was good. Happy to let children in the bar / wander around. Local village has all you need.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Everything was wonderful, from the for breakfast. An ideal base for long walks on foot direct from the hotel for exploring Exmoor and only a short drive to the North Somerset and North Devon Coasts. We loved the four poster bed in our room. We struggled as to which of the delicious sounding items to pick from the tempting locally sourced dinner menu and thoroughly enjoyed those we had chosen. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Exmoor welcome awaits at our 16th Century coaching Inn, Situated in picturesque village of Exford, nestling beside River Exe, amidst high moorland in the very heart of Exmoor National Park.The ideal location for a relaxing break. 28 sumptuous en-suite rooms where modern day luxury combines with a special country charm.Log fires, character oak beamed bars be tempted by our extensive bar menu, using fresh regional produce.Let us show you life at a slower pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.