We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - the other reviews are true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgcott House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Edgcott House to your Saves list
Edgcott House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Edgcott Road | Nr Minehead, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QG , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent - the other reviews are true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a very good B&B. We have just spent one night there. The welcome was very friendly. The rooms are very spacious, immaculately clean and well-equipped. The breakfast is very good - both for a traditional English or if you want something a but more unusual. All made using local ingredients. A nice home-cooked brownie and cup of tea on arrival.

The whole place is tastefully decorated. It is more like staying in a nice country house than a B&B, and is as far removed from the normal, stereotypical British B&B as it is possible to get. It is very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
crozon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

In every respect an ultra high standard b&b. Breakfast amazing, same goes for service. Good
location near the national park. Though Exford is a really small village there is a choice between several good restaurants, pubs and more casual eating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just spent the May bank holiday weekend at Edgcott House and couldn't recommend it more highly! Simon and Penny were wonderful hosts, Room 5 had an amazing comfy bed, wonderful bathroom and great afternoon tea cakes left for us each afternoon! Penny's breakfast selection was incredible and Simon helped us plan our walks/bike rides. There's a decent pub within 5 minutes walk too - what more could you ask for??

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are walkers and enjoy North Somerset. We have stayed here several times over the past 12 months and it is simply the best b&b we have ever stayed in.
The attention to details is great and there are a number of personal touches that we have not experienced before.
The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms are really good.
The hosts are lovely and the breakfast is absolutely wonderful. I am a vegan and they catered for me and then some.

I would challenge anyone to find somewhere that could beat this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in Edgcott House over 3 nights during Easter 2013. Apart from the initial problems of finding it, everything else was just perfect. Penny greeted me even before I reached the front door and I found my room cosy and welcoming, and the ensuite very well proportioned with all the amenities I could want.

The "sitting room" was truly a wonderful place to relax, sit by the log fire and read a book from their vast selection, ranging from gardening, cooking, cars, lifestyle, and fiction.

The Breakfast. Oh my. What can I say? Penny's cooking is better than going out to a restaurant or cafe for breakfast. It's a full menu of choices, and every item sounds delicious. I wish I had the capacity to try everything!

Simon is a wealth of local knowledge and also acts as a tour advisor in case you are at a loss of what to do or where to go. Extra marks for Jovi the gorgeous cat who came to say hello after breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is simply the best B&B style property we have stayed in. All the plaudits on TripAdvisor are more than justified. The bedrooms are well appointed with most comfortable mattresses; the main room downstairs where you have breakfast and can sit by the log stove is a wonderful room - it is worth seeing in its own right and I do not recall it featuring on their website.

The hosts have it just right in terms of their welcome and the way they are there to help. But as others have written this house must offer "the best breakfast in Britain". It is simply wonderful. Everything is fresh and the range of tastes catered for immense.

I could write a lot more in equally glowing terms, but all I can do is urge you to stay here in the heart of Exmoor and to enjoy a fabulous property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

B & B does not do Edgcott House justice. This is top quality hotel standard accommodation and breakfast. In fact, I've never had such a quality breakfast. The presentation, taste, choice and service are all top notch and I am truly jealous that I cannot produce this at home! My waistline would probably be thankful that I cannot! We were offered the choice of a larger room upon arrival and accepted this kind offer and continued to be pleasantly surprised by the extra touches. The flapjack and quality teas in the room, the organic toiletries topped up daily, the beautifully comfortable room, personal controls on the heating, the abundant bookcase, the beautiful surroundings, and... a true highlight for us.. use of the lovely heated bootroom to store our wet hiking gear and the dog towels we had been offered. WORDS ARE NOT ENOUGH TO DESCRIBE ALL THE TOUCHES THAT MADE THIS AN AMAZING STAY. TOP MARKS.

Room Tip: The Owner is so approachable, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcott House

Address: Edgcott Road | Nr Minehead, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QG , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcott House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in peacefully surroundings a short walk from the centre of Exford. Edgcott House offers a luxurious and comfortable place to stay. Its rooms are plush and well appointed with 300 thread count bed linen that makes your time in bed a delight. Every room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary wifi and spacious en-suite facilities with a range of products with which to pamper yourself with. Downstairs the entrance hall offers a library of books to enjoy in front of its wood burning stove. The 50ft Long Room, with its Trompe l’oeil decoration, wood burners and sumptuous leather sofas and chairs offers the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Edgcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgcott House Exford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgcott House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.