We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park
Save
You added Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park to your Saves list
Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went for a top of the range pitch to avoid pitch envy!! We weren't disappointed, it was huge, too big for us 3 plus our dog and a campervan...not that I'm complaining!
The shower blocks are really good with individual cubicles and always very clean with Auto air fresheners and well stocked soap etc - my one and only complaint is that the water pressure is low and the showers are not particularly hot so it probably took twice as long to wash my hair!!
Washing up facilities are clean too. The location is stunning, set in a valley as you would expect with the site developed in tiers so you didn't feel like you were on top of people.
A short walk down to Combe Martin with a lovely beach ( no dogs may to sept) and a fab fish n chip shop...it was worth joining that queue!! CM is a small village with really not much there other than a couple os typical seaside shops, cafes, bakers, pubs but that's nice. Beach is great for rick pooling with a lovely walk down the path when the tide is out. Newberry beach is just a 5 minute, if that, walk from the campsite which is shingle and is doggie friendly.
Out and about we spent a couple of days at Woolacombe beach which is lovely, especially if you walk about a mile along from the hub of it (where there are cages and shops) to open space and stunning back drops. Dogs can go on this beach, one end is lead free and the other on a lead.
Would love to say we would return as we loved every minute of it but there is so much to see in the world....hopefully my review will entice the rest of you here. The owners work hard to keep it like it is. Keep it up :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit apprehensive when we looked on here, after reading some of the bad reviews. But I can honestly say this place is gorgeous from the beautiful setting to the morning tractor rides for the kids. The washroom facilities are fantastic, spotlessly clean and all private individual shower rooms and even one with a bath in. The staff were extremely friendly, they always stopped for a chat as they drove past on their buggies. The wolf sanctuary is situated next door and hearing them howling is both kind of magical and spooky, especially in the middle of the night. I noticed that some one had moaned about there pitch being next to the road on site, well it's not exactly the m25. If I did have a thing to say about the place is that I wish we had booked a superior pitch, just for the simple reason there would be more room for the kids to play. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we have just returned from newberry valley and we can honestly say that its up there with the best maybe there is no clubhouse etc but if you want entertainment its just a short walk away in combe martin - as stated in previous reveiws it is avery well managed site and the facilities are plentiful and spotlessly clean - my grandchildren loved ted the tractor as well as the playground and we also thought that the site was very child friendly - and i think they show you where to pitch to rotate the grass pitches (although we were on a premier pitch with our caravan) and i dont think you will find frendlier and more helpful staff anywhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from a Weekend stay here with my parents who had already been there for a week and are still there! This is a well looked after site and would recommend and my parents love it this is a return trip. The facilities in the main toilet block are kept very clean and tidy but these are quite a hike if you are in the bottom field! this field does have a temporary toilet block but isn't that nice! I can see why other reviews have said the owners are very Military they do tell you where to park your car and on which side of your tent/ Caravan! and they did tell us on Saturday am they were full from now on! so we expected to return from our day out on Saturday to find a full site, Yes people did arrive but they were by no means full think it may be the 3 night or more rule! You can hear the Wolves but it is by no means noisy and they only howl for about 3 mins then it goes silent again and doesn't happen in the night! You are in a Valley so the views at the site aren't of the sea but is you walk out of the Gate and down to Coombe martin you can have as many views as you like.This is a very quiet site it doesn't have a Pool or Bar or any other amenities beside the shop but that's what makes it a nice change from other sites. Lots of places for the kids to explore and a lake to fish or feed the ducks or just walk around. Yes it is pricey but that didn't bother us and Parents have booked an extra night so must be alright.

Room Tip: I you want a site with lots of attractions on it there are plenty just a mile down the road! If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We are just packing away after a wonderful week at newberry, the site is spotless, as are the shower/washing facilities. Plenty of clean family shower/washrooms, there is even a bath!! Washing machines and tumbles dryers, hair dryers and an iron... Everything is spotless! The pitches are well maintained, our pitch was close to the facilities and also a short stroll from the fishing lake. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We are currently in our tent at newberry valley campsite (writing a review as unfortunately is pouring down)....

This is possibly the best campsite I have stayed at. It's a little pricey, but I'm so glad we paid the extra for a "premier" pitch as its fabulous. There are just 6 pitches in our little field all enclosed with trees. We are in the corner which is fantastic as our pitch is huge and there are trees on 2 sides. We have our own picnic bench as well as electric hook up and our own water supply.

It's a bit of a walk from our pitch to the facilities, but they are FABULOUS! Possibly cleaner than my own house!!! The toilets are all little individual rooms with a toilet, washbasin and hand dryer. Then there are individual shower rooms which are a wet room with shower, toilet and basin. All are perfectly clean. There is also a bathroom with a bath! (Small charge for the bath).

The washing up facilities are also lovely. Nice and clean.

Right by our pitch, there is a fishing pond which you can walk around and the ducks and ducklings often wander by. You can also frequently hear the wolves howling at the wolf sanctuary next door. There's also a woodland walk and a meadow to go walking in which the dog loves!

Only downside is that there is nowhere on site to let the dog off his lead, which is awkward for us as he won't do his "business" whilst on his lead.

The staff here are so friendly. The warden showed is right to our pitch, then stayed chatting for a while, letting us know all about the park and the local area.

I'm gutted that we aren't staying here longer, and will definitely come back here again.

5 stars all round!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just returned home from a wondeful relaxing week at newberry.We are so glad we ignored the negative feedback, The staff were really friendly and helpful, the facilities and site were excellent,theres even soap in the factilites block aswell.Like most campsites not all pitches are on the level, we had a cracking spot.The shop has only a few essentials, but with the town only a few minutes walk (not a problem).The only down side for me was the weed in the fishing lake, it needs managing if it,s been advertised as a fishing venue, they did knock the price down because of this, and i still caught some nice fish. Don,t let the sound of howling wolves put you off , for us it added an extra dimension to the whole experience. a Lovely Time Thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newberry Valley Park is a family run, dog-friendly Gold Award touring and camping park located only five minutes' walk from the beaches and village of Combe Martin. An AA 5 pennant site, you'll find a variety of pitch sizes to suit all budgets together with a woodland walk, fishing lake and luxurious under-floor heated facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park Combe Martin, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newberry Valley Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.