We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ploughmans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Deli

Harbour Deli
3 Borough Road, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AN, England
01271883688
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Lynton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best ploughmans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

best ploughman's we have had delicious home cooked ham + tasty cheese with salad + pickles and crusty French stick very good value the coffee is good and the cakes are yummy decent food at a very reasonable price all freshly made to order,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Take Away Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We bought quiche salads to take away and what great value they were. The portions of quiche, which were warmed up for us, were very generous and there was a variety of tasty salads too. The staff were extremely friendly and although they were busy, gave each customer their full attention. Serviettes and cutlery were also provided. We've had baguettes and cakes from the deli before and have never been disappointed and have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly cafe with great coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just paying a flying visit to see friends and decided to have lunch at the deli.
counter service by friendly girls, Huge selection of homemade cakes with one of the best coffees I have had in a long time.Girlfriend had a breakfast and Fabulous hot chocolate,great value i had the daily special.Excellent Homemade dinner, followed by a delicious cake, girlfriend had a knickerbocker glory haven.t seen one of those for years all this for less than 20 pounds how do they do it.Very busy unpretentious cafe used by many locals and visitors alike.We adored the hustle and bustle of this ambient little Cafe Will definitely revisit when next in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Harbour Deli Combe Martin "Not Bad"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Christmas break and time to write those reviews we didn't have time for when too busy working. We were at Harbour Deli once in August 2013, the wife and I enjoyed it without the kids for once and chose this one as the less garish out of two cafes there. Food, great lovely breakfast nosh with a tea for about six quid each. Good service and Daddy's sauce which they kept pinching off us. The Deli was clean and modern and their nosh was the best in Combe Martin IMHO. Even had papers to read.Bit noisy as someone else said on here but that's their chairs on their flooring. Noisy customers and all the banging behind the counter making coffees probably. They were fairly friendlyish and very busy IIRC. What do I think well I think the food is good and not too steep for some things, perhaps pricey otherwise. I think it's a nice Deli and I also just felt they think they're not like us, just that feeling they were a bit offish with some but chatty with their local gentry types. That's the gist of this - uncomfortable with staff but the place is great. On average though I think they are very good and the grub is good, maybe expensive for some of their menu and one of them perhaps needs to come down a bit. Yes I am a sales manager and I know we need to be on everyone's level. No offence. Thanks v.much for our lovely breakfasts and see you next summer we love Coombe Martin.

Terry. Lincoln.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Life saver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Popped in at the weekend needing food as we'd missed breakfast and had a lovelly bacon and brie pannini and a really good coffee. The breakfasts that came out whilst we were there looked really good. They had a good selection of cakes available on the counter.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Deli also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Harbour Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.