We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Combe Martin Castaway Cafe - Closed Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Castaway Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Castaway Cafe
Borough Rd, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DQ, England
01271 882918
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Ice Cream, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Wayne and Cassie welcome you to there large family friendly cafe and takeaway and have just opened our ice cream servery with traditional West Country ice cream from Dunstable farm. We specialise in breakfast with our great value for money captains being probably the biggest in the village we also have many other options on our breakfast menu which is served all day. We also serve a varied menu and daily specials and all of which are homemade and catered to most needs. We also serve cream teas of which we are getting a great reputation for our large delicious homemade scones and various cakes. Large variety of speciality teas and of course delicious ground coffees. Takeaway food is available throughout the day and during the summer half term evenings as well serving pizzas,burgers,fish and chips and many more. Our new ice cream area not only serves ice cream but popcorn, candy floss and fresh hot doughnuts and selection of confectionary. We are dog friendly and have outdoor seating area. You are sure to get a warm welcome from all the staff and enjoy our friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Combe Martin Castaway Cafe - Closed Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Same old story, haven't managed to catch the Combe Martin Castaway Cafe open, yet, because it was closed at odd times over the May Bank Holiday, and closed in the afternoons this week, over the school holidays. Their signs say "open til 4PM".

Poor show and poor effort.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Table of 5 of us all in for breakfast, service was polite and friendly, reassuring to see it had been awarded 5/5 for hygiene. I had the Captains breakfast very nice and enjoyable. Would return. Pleasant surroudings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really Nice Family & Good Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited in May 2013 nearly every morning for our breakfast. Really good value for money & really good breakfast hence returning most days of our visit to Combe Martin. Wayne & Cassie were very welcoming & friendly. We were really surprised to be invited inside with our Rottie puppy but that's Devon for you, dog friendly definitely a motivation to return. Will definitely pop in for breakfast when down that way again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Castaway Cafe Combe Martin: Shut. Still.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Try the Wetherspoons when it comes, they'll be open, working, and bringing in business and tourism. Gotta agree with that last review, and Castaway cafe is still shut, lazy seaside traditions. If they get no business in winter perhaps it's because they offer nothing worthwhile or they love their long holidays every year, not much good to visitors and locals is it? Closed when others are open, though another Combe Martin cafe is also shut while another packs in cooking at three pm. Too many food outlets close early or shut up in September til Spring, the Fish n Chip shops and most cafes, except the Top Chippy, all shut.The Castaway has tried hard but yes - their signs and clutter are over the top and there's not a chef to cook the meals. We know for a fact they don't have a pro-Chef and the place is run by young people. On the strength of this lazy and unprofessional attitude perhaps I'll avoid using those shut places in summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A nice place but confusing with too many signs and stuff, a bit overwhelming but the couple running it seemed alright and have invested a damn sight more than others.We had a coffee there and they were okay but the place didn't wow us, the staff didn't seem too professional - all important in public catering. Sorry. I'll give you a good rating just for effort and well done for making a go. You will have come on by summer so see you then because we're back again.

Terry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castaway Cafe also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Castaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.