We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rudeness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Castaway Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Castaway Cafe
Borough Rd, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DQ, England
01271 882918
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Ice Cream, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Wayne and Cassie welcome you to there large family friendly cafe and takeaway and have just opened our ice cream servery with traditional West Country ice cream from Dunstable farm. We specialise in breakfast with our great value for money captains being probably the biggest in the village we also have many other options on our breakfast menu which is served all day. We also serve a varied menu and daily specials and all of which are homemade and catered to most needs. We also serve cream teas of which we are getting a great reputation for our large delicious homemade scones and various cakes. Large variety of speciality teas and of course delicious ground coffees. Takeaway food is available throughout the day and during the summer half term evenings as well serving pizzas,burgers,fish and chips and many more. Our new ice cream area not only serves ice cream but popcorn, candy floss and fresh hot doughnuts and selection of confectionary. We are dog friendly and have outdoor seating area. You are sure to get a warm welcome from all the staff and enjoy our friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“rudeness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was also present at the place on this day as part of the party of 8 was terrible place on checking the date of the hygiene rating I saw it was last checked in 2010 maybe this should be done more often than 3 yearly not a place I would recommend to anyone butt he tea rooms directly across street most definitely are better , on going into another shop very close by to purchase some goods and talkignto the shopkeeper it seems he wasn't very surprised we went happy with the castaway his coment was " perhaps it would be better to be cast away " avoid at all costs

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Owner at The Castaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I'm sorry you felt you had to agree with your friend, your plates were cleared. I had my rating review 8months ago and got a full 5 star. I sell quality food not cheap and nasty and have always been fair and friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful. Avoid at all costs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A group of 8 people. We Asked for 2 bottles of J20 with glasses and ICE. The J20's arrived warm (Hadn't been in the fridge). When we asked for the glasses with Ice we were told they don't do Ice. When It was pointed out that we had asked for it and the waitress had said it wasn't a problem she accused us of lying and saying that I had only asked for glasses. Not exactly good customer service to accuse your customers of lying now is it. It wouldn't have been half as bad if they had simply offered another drink that was cold. Also we were told they don't do Ice as they have no freezers. So how do you serve ice cream then??
We walked out however the rest of the group stayed as their food had already arrived- They didn't enjoy their meals. They had asked for cod and chips however the fish wasn't cod- It was more like the cheap stuff you buy in cheap frozen food shops. Also the batter was chewy and the mushy peas tasted like the cheap tinned ones. My mother couldn't wait to get home to wash the taste away. Her comment was that it tasted like the oil in the fryer hadn't been changed in a long time
I would advise anyone considering eating here to stay away unless you want to be greeted by rude staff and awful food. The tearooms across the street were much nicer and the staff couldn't do enough to help you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Owner at The Castaway Cafe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
You were advised that we did not have ice and your party were asked if they still wanted there meals as they were not done yet. Extremely angry man having a bad day in honesty your party looked completely embarrased by you. The rest of the party cleared there plates and seemed pleased with there meals. I asked you to leave because you were rude and aggressive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent service, had breakfast here 5 days running and the quality was of a high consistant standard ever day ..... Very happy to recommend .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castaway Cafe also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Castaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.