We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Save
You added Sandaway Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four who've just enjoyed a lovely weekend here as part of a newspaper break. Couldn't fault any aspect of our stay except the fact that we had to come home today instead of tomorrow due to our work commitments. Our children loved the private beach with all the rock pools and caves and although a small park, it has everything you need! The staff are very friendly and welcoming and there's a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We would love to return!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Becx

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the park manager so he can share this success with his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    77
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
127
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

WE have just stayed in a Richmond Caravan at this site....although they didn't say, I suspect we were upgraded for free which was a lovely surprise. Very modern and very clean caravan. The park itself was lovely and well kept and the cliff beach with all the coves is truly spectacular especially at dusk. The clubhouse was also very good and really couldn't fault the staff, all very attentive and the entertainers were just that. They all took time to chat to us and made it really personal. Also the dog loved it here.

Location wise the town is quiet but very nice, with Ilfracoombe and Willacombe just a short drive away I would say the location of this is spot on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Christina

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments about our park and our private beach.

We are happy that you thought the bar staff and the entertainers were helpful and we will pass your comments on to them.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

been to sandaway hoiliday park twice now if you like a small site this is right for you. we stayed in the caravans and in the apartments both very nice the view from this lovely site are fantastic. you also can take your dog on to this site as well which is great. the club house is very good as well not to small and not to large very friendly. we are going back again the year in june but staying at the sister site combe martin beach we have also been hear as well this site is just as nice with is old manor house which is the club house with lovely sea view from within the club house this site is closer to lovely village which has a small beach which is lite up with light along the harbour at night .the village has shops and places to eat and two or three pubs which are all nice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Malcolm

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Devon and we are delighted to hear that you have fallen in love with the village of Combe Martin.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you to our Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park in June.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Me and my girlfriend first stayed at Sandaway in June 2013 and have booked to come again in May 2014 as we have a perfect experience.
From the moment we arrived - not only was the park within the most beutiful well kept grounds but it was also very picture-esk. We stayed in one of the park's caravans that was in such a lovely condition and very clean. The staff were very polite and helpful and during our stay i had quite a bad dental emergency and i was delighted to find that one of the staff let me use his own personal mobile to ring around dentists in the area and he even offered us to come back and use his phone whenever we need to. We found this very helpful and appreciated it a lot. My whole experience within the park and everyone who works there was extremely positive and i can not wait for my May return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We are happy that you found the staff to be helpful and we will pass your comments on to them.

We do take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the whole park team.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed in Sandaway for a extended weekend half term break in June. We had a lovely time , the children loved the secluded beach and the evening entertainment. Gareth the evening entertainments manager was very welcoming and good fun , the children raced to the club house for the evening! The views were great from the caravan and the site was very clean. The only moan was the pool was very cold and shut early if you had been out for the day. Overall a excellent value for money holiday , well done John Fowler!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Yet another 5 star review for Sandaway, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We enjoyed another wonderfully relaxing week in caravan 58 from 11th to 18h October and have already booked for March and October next Year.

As accountants, my wife and I spend a significant amount of each working week either dealing with the Inland Revenue or waiting for them to answer the telephone and therefore need our two weeks at Sandaway each year to keep us reasonably sane.

The staff, as usual, were friendly and efficient and always either wave when they pass us or stop for a chat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
The fear now, of course, is that I am also at risk of repeating myself - but here goes! Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The night before we were due to go to Sandaway, I read a very scathing review, and as someone who has never done a caravan holiday, and who had also done the newspaper vouchers, I was really worried that it would be awful. Thankfully, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. We were in a poppy silver caravan. Yes, it was a little dated, and some of the lounge furniture had seen better days, but the important things were all fine. Kitchen was well equipped and spotless, we cooked all our meals for the 3 nights, and there was plenty of space too. Toilet and shower room were also clean, shower was brilliant, and water is really hot. Our beds were also really comfy. The single beds lift up and fix against the wall, which gave us plenty of room for our travel cot.
The weather turned cold, so we took lots of our own blankets and cosy things from home, which I would recommend if going during the colder months. There is a fire, but we only used it at night when our daughter was in bed, as there wasn't a fire guard. There may have been one available had I have asked.
Our 15 month old loved toddling about in there, and was very happy throughout our stay.
All staff we encountered were very polite and pleasant.
The park looked very nice, but we didn't really explore due to weather being bad.
Our TV and DVD player worked fine.
My parents joined us on our second day, they have stayed in lots of caravans recently, and they were impressed too, they thought it was very roomy.
All in all, a fun and comfortable weekend away, and it certainly hasn't put me off doing another caravan holiday, and I would stay there again if going back to that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

I'm not sure where you read a poor review about the caravans on Sandaway, I have had a look and can only find 3 poor reviews all year - one was about a chalet, one was about the catering and one from a customer who had not fully understood the booking procedure.

However, I am pleased to hear that because of your pre-conception, that it all came as a nice surprise when you arrived. We would like to think that you will come back to see us again in one of our caravans on one of our many caravan park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Address: Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe.Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.